Video of the week: The Domino’s Pizza delivery robot

The pizza delivery moped they have disappeared from city streets in a few years? Anyway Domino’s pizza is working on an alternative: the robot. A first video was published by the British subsidiary of the famous brand in 2015. It was on April 1, 2015, which left little doubt about the seriousness of the project. Yet the idea was taken seriously this time by the Australian subsidiary to which posted on Youtube the first images of a robot that could wander our streets in a few years.

A delivery robot built on a military robotic platform

It is in 2015 that the DRU project is launched by Domino’s Pizza. DRU for Domino’s Robotic Unit, the delivery robot concept designed pizzas for Domino’s Pizza Australia. This robot is designed on the same concept as the delivery robot Starship Technologies, a robot with 4 wheels capable of moving on the sidewalk at low speed (20 km / h max) to GPS position where the client will take possession its pizza by unlocking the safe with a code sent on his smartphone. For his part, the manager of the pizzeria has a digital tablet application to program the robot according to the received command.

Domino DRU robot the DRU was designed based on an existing robot, designed by the Australian Marathon targets … this robot was initially a moving target on which Australian soldiers could practice shooting. According to the promotional video, the first DRU was delivered to Domino’s Pizza to test the 88 March 2016. At first they were held in New Zealand, a country that seems willing to host such a pizza delivery new type. The robot was then officially presented to the press March 17, 2016 in Brisbane. For now no deployment date has been in other countries.

Translator : Google Translate

Sources :

“New Zealand could become first country to use Domino’s pizza delivery robot”, Stuff NZ, march 18, 2016

“World’s First Autonomous Pizza Delivery”, Marathon Targets release, March 18, 2016

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Vidéo de la semaine : Le robot livreur de Domino’s Pizza

Les livreurs de pizza à mobylette auront-ils disparus des rues de nos villes dans quelques années ? En tout cas Domino’s pizza travaille à une alternative : le robot. Une première vidéo avait été publiée par la filiale britannique de la célèbre enseigne en 2015. C’était le 1er avril 2015, ce qui ne laissait guère de doutes sur le sérieux du projet. Et pourtant, l’idée a été reprise très sérieusement cette fois par la filiale australienne qui à publié sur Youtube les premières images d’un robot qui pourrait bien arpenter nos rues dans quelques années.

Un robot de livraison construit sur une plateforme robotique militaire

C’est en 2015 que le projet DRU est lancé par Domino’s Pizza. DRU pour Domino’s Robotic Unit, c’est le concept robot livreur de pizzas conçu pour Domino’s Pizza Australie. Ce robot est conçu sur le même concept que le robot de livraison Starship Technologies, un robot à 4 roues capable de se déplacer sur les trottoir à petite vitesse (20 km/h max) jusqu’à une position GPS où le client va prendre possession de sa pizza en déverrouillant le coffre avec un code envoyé sur son smartphone. De son côté, le gérant de la pizzeria dispose d’une application sur tablette numérique pour programmer le robot en fonction de la commande reçue.

Domino DRU robotLe DRU a été conçu sur une base robotique existante, celle conçue par l’australien Marathon Targets… ce robot était initialement une cible mobile sur laquelle les soldats australien pouvaient s’exercer au tir.  D’après la vidéo promotionnelle, le premier DRU a été livré à Domino’s Pizza pour tests le 88 mars 2016. A priori ceux-ci ont lieu en Nouvelle-Zélande, un pays qui semble tout disposé à accueillir ces livreurs de pizza d’un nouveau type. Le robot a ensuite été officiellement présenté à la presse le 17 mars 2016 à Brisbane. Pour l’heure aucune date de déploiement n’a été avancée dans d’autres pays.

Sources :

« New Zealand could become first country to use Domino’s pizza delivery robot », Stuff, 18 mars 2016

« World’s First Autonomous Pizza Delivery », Marathon Targets, 18 mars 2016

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.