The crazy Natilus Giant Drone to replace Boeing 747 ?

Can an aircraft rival cargo to transport containers? It is the bet of a California startup who imagines flying wings capable of carrying goods around the world. Aleksey Matyushev’s ambition is to halve the cost of air freight transport compared to the second-hand Boeing 747s currently used by carriers. If this drone is ever mass-produced, it could well meet the world domination ambitions of Alibaba or Amazon to send their products around the world.

A drone the size of the Airbus A380

The single-engine version of the Natilus drone will carry 2 tons of cargo over 1,800 km.

Can a startup really carry out a giant cargo plane project that is also a drone? It is Aleksey Matyushev’s bet that leads the Natilus project as a digital startup project: crowdfunding campaign on Kickstarter then a first round of financing during which Natilus raised only $750,000, the startup has just completed a second round with 5 investors for an undisclosed amount. The budget is therefore tight as the startup works on a first prototype of reduced size (9 meters only). If this drone flies correctly, the next version, a 6-ton single-engine, will have to carry 2 tons of cargo over a distance of 1,800 km, a version that could be marketed by 2020. This will probably be the largest drone ever built, but the final version of the Natilus air cargo ship is even more ambitious. The final drone will have to carry 120 tons of containers in order to do twice as much better than a Boeing 747 on a trans-Pacific flight. This aircraft could be equipped with 4 engines and weigh 430 tons, the equivalent of an Airbus A380.
For the time being, the Natilus team is working on the assembly of its first prototype, but various versions of the plane have already filtered out the startup in search of financing. Drone or piloted version, propulsion by engines or turboprop, even the aerodynamic configuration of the aircraft varies from one image to another. While Airbus has finally abandoned the idea of a cargo version of its A380, will Natilus succeed in convincing DHL, FedEx, or Atlas Air to rely on its drone?

Translation : Deepl

Sources:

“Natilus looks to halve air freight expenses through drone technology”, Freightwaves, 1 December 2017

“Natilus raises new funds to launch pilotless freight aircraft”, Robotics and Automation News, 23 November 2017

“As Autonomous Technology Transforms the Global Freight Sector, Natilus Attracts More Seed Investment from Starburst Ventures, Seraph Group, Gelt VC, Outpost Capital and Draper Associates”, Press Release, 13 November 2017

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Le projet fou de drone géant de Natilus qui veut remplacer les 747 cargo

Un avion peut-il rivaliser avec le cargo pour transporter des containers ? C’est le pari d’une startup californienne qui imagine des ailes volantes capables de porter des marchandises autour du monde. L’ambition de Aleksey Matyushev, porteur du projet est de diviser par deux le coût du transport aérien de fret comparé aux Boeing 747 de seconde main actuellement utilisés par les transporteurs. Si ce drone est un jour fabriqué en série, il pourrait bien répondre aux ambitions de domination du monde d’Alibaba ou d’Amazon pour envoyer leurs produits à travers le monde.

Objectif : Faire voler un drone de la taille d’un Airbus A380

La version monomoteur du drone Natilus devra transporter 2 tonnes de marchandises sur 1.800 km.

Une startup peut-elle vraiment mener à bien un projet d’avion cargo géant qui plus est un drone ? C’est le pari d’Aleksey Matyushev qui mène le projet Natilus comme un projet de startup du numérique : campagne de crowdfunding sur Kickstarter puis un premier tour de financement lors duquel Natilus n’a levé que 750.000 $, la startup vient de boucler un deuxième tour auprès de 5 investisseurs pour un montant non divulgué. Le budget est donc serré alors que la startup travaille sur un premier prototype de taille réduite (9 mètres d’envergure seulement). Si ce drone vole correctement, la version suivante, un monomoteur d’un poids de 6 tonnes, devra porter 2 tonnes de marchandises sur une distance de 1.800 km, une version qui pourrait être commercialisée à l’horizon 2020. Il s’agira sans doute du plus gros drone jamais conçu, mais la version finale du cargo aérien Natilus est encore plus ambitieuse. Le drone final devra porter 120 tonnes de containers afin de faire 2 fois mieux qu’un Boeing 747 sur un vol trans-pacifique. Cet appareil pourrait être doté de 4 moteurs et peser 430 tonnes, soit l’équivalent d’un Airbus A380.
Pour l’heure, l’équipe de Natilus travaille sur le montage de son premier prototype, mais diverses versions de l’avion ont déjà filtré de la startup en quête de financement. Version drone ou pilotées, propulsion par réacteurs ou turbopropulseurs, même la configuration aérodynamique de l’appareil varie d’une image à l’autre. Alors qu’Airbus a finalement abandonné l’idée d’une version cargo de son A380, Natilus parviendra-t-elle à convaincre DHL, FedEx, ou Atlas Air de miser sur son drone ?

Sources :

« Natilus looks to halve air freight expenses through drone technology », Freightwaves, 1 décembre 2017

« Natilus raises new funds to launch pilotless freight aircraft », Robotics and Automation News, 23 novembre 2017

« As Autonomous Technology Transforms the Global Freight Sector, Natilus Attracts More Seed Investment from Starburst Ventures, Seraph Group, Gelt VC, Outpost Capital and Draper Associates », Communiqué de presse, 13 novembre 2017

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.