A drone companion project wins the Toyota Hackathon

Toyota-onramp-2014Renault designers had imagined for his Qwid a year ago, the makers have made it to Toyota. This is the project “Eye in the Sky” which won the grand prize of the Hackathon that Toyota has just held in Silicon Valley. The PreNav startup team suggested Toyota an application that pilot a drone over the car and transmits it a video stream. If, at the end of 24 hours of the event, the application was not yet at the point, “Eye in the Sky” won the $10 000 price.

A hackathon to enhance data from vehicle sensors

The “Onramp” hackathon organized by Toyota 6 and December 7, 2014 in San Mateo was designed to reward the best mobile applications using the data available on the bus of a car. Toyota has chosen competitors to challenge 6 Scion FR-S (a car better known internationally like the Toyota GT86). The application was fairela better use of data extracted from the CAN bus, including the information generated by the vehicle sensors. A key, $10,000 for the winning teams. Some twenty teams competed at the 24 hours of programming dedicated to the automobile marathon.
toyota-app-eye-in-the-skyAt this games, this is the app “Eye in the Sky” which won the votes of the jury. The pilot a drone that filmed continuously the vehicle under the desired angle and retransmits the video stream to the shelf. It thus shows an external view of the vehicle as well as all these parameters of conduct, how ‘Gran Turismo’.
If “Eye in the Sky” typed in the eye of the jury, members of the team (all from the startup PreNav, specialized in software for UAV flight) were unable to deliver on time a functional application. They took the decision of the jury thanks to the simulation that they were able to present.
Other winners of the challenge Onramp, the AWARE team won the safety award, with an application that uses the camera to measure Visual attention of the driver by reading the emotions on the face of the driver. By correlating this information with the performance of the vehicle, the software calculates a score of security which could interest the insurer to modulate its rates.

20 teams participate in the Hackathon Toyota Onramp which is held in San Mateo in December.

20 teams participate in the Hackathon Toyota Onramp which is held in San Mateo in December.

RACEme team won the price of efficiency. According to the GPS position of the vehicle, their application calculates the ideal path, point rope, optimum acceleration to get the best time on a circuit or, in a more politically correct manner, optimize it consumption on a course.
Finally, the price of the application the most fun went to Interactive 86 who created an application that broadcasts a sound function of the driver’s behaviour. Squeal of tire cornering, siren of police in case of excessive speed, etc.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Toyota Announces Winners of Silicon Valley App Design Competition”, Communiqué de presse Toyota, December 9, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Un projet de drone compagnon remporte le Hackathon Toyota

Toyota-onramp-2014Les designers de Renault l’avait imaginé pour son Qwid il y a un an, les makers l’ont réalisé pour Toyota. C’est le projet « Eye in the Sky » qui a remporté le grand prix du Hackathon que Toyota vient d’organiser dans la Silicon Valley. L’équipe de la startup PreNav a proposé à Toyota une application qui pilote un drone au dessus de la voiture et lui retransmet un flux vidéo. Si, au bout des 24 heures de l’épreuve, l’application n’était pas encore au point, « Eye in the Sky » a remporté les 10.000 $ du prix.

Un hackathon pour valoriser les données issues des capteurs du véhicule

Le hackathon « Onramp » organisé par Toyota les 6 et 7 décembre 2014 à San Mateo avait pour objectif de récompenser les meilleures applications mobiles exploitant les informations à disposition sur le bus de données d’une voiture. Toyota a choisi de confier aux concurrents du challenge 6 Scion FR-S (une voiture mieux connue à l’international comme la Toyota GT86). L’application devait fairela meilleure utilisation des données extraites du bus CAN, notamment les informations générées par les capteurs du véhicule. A la clef, 10.000 $ pour l’équipes gagnante. Une vingtaine d’équipes se sont affrontées lors des 24 heures de ce marathon de la programmation dédiée à l’automobile.
toyota-app-eye-in-the-skyA ce jeu, c’est l’application « Eye in the Sky » qui a remporté les suffrages du jury. Celle-ci pilote un drone qui filme en permanence le véhicule sous l’angle voulu et retransmet le flux vidéo à la tablette. Celle-ci affiche ainsi une vue extérieure du véhicule ainsi que tous ces paramètres de conduite, à la façon « Gran Turismo ».

Si « Eye in the Sky » a tapé dans l’œil du jury, les  membres de l’équipe (tous issus de la startup PreNav, spécialisée en logiciels de vol pour drones) n’ont pu livrer dans les temps une application fonctionnelle. Ils ont emporté la décision du jury grâce à à la simulation qu’ils ont pu présenter.

Parmi les autres gagnants du challenge Onramp, l’équipe AWARE a remporté le prix de la sécurité, avec une application qui utilise la caméra embarqué pour mesurer l’attention visuelle du conducteur en lisant les émotions sur le visage du conducteur. En corrélant cette information avec les performances du véhicule, le logiciel calcule un score de sécurité qui pourrait intéresser l’assureur pour moduler ses tarifs.

20 équipes ont participée au Hackathon Toyota Onramp qui s'est tenu à San Mateo au mois de décembre.

20 équipes ont participée au Hackathon Toyota Onramp qui s’est tenu à San Mateo au mois de décembre.

L’équipe RACEme a décroché le prix le prix de l’efficacité. En fonction de la position GPS du véhicule, leur application calcule la trajectoire idéale, le point de corde, l’accélération optimale pour obtenir le meilleur temps sur un circuit ou, de manière plus politiquement correcte, optimiser la consommation sur un parcours.

Enfin, le prix de l’application la plus fun est allé à Interactive 86 qui a créé une application qui diffuse un bruitage fonction du comportement du conducteur. Crissement de pneus dans les virages, sirène de police en cas de vitesse excessive, etc.

Source : « Toyota Announces Winners of Silicon Valley App Design Competition », Communiqué de presse Toyota, 9 décembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.