Mission accomplished for the K-MAX robot helicopter

KMAX_UnmannedThey were to remain in Afghanistan for six weeks assessment, K-MAX helicopters robotic there were virtually three years. Designed to transport goods to the Allied bases to replace convoys victims buried explosives gear, the two drones sent into a war zone have demonstrated their effectiveness in delivering more than 2 million tonnes of cargo. At the end of the deployment, a K-MAX can carry more than 13 tonnes in 6 mission that day. The robot was convincing and as part of this research program AACUS, the American military is already thinking about the next generation of helicopter transport robot.

A program launched emergency for the Marines in Afghanistan

The K-MAX drone mothership of the Marine Corps with his steer kit.

The K-MAX drone mothership of the Marine Corps with his steer kit.

Developed by Lockheed Martin based on the flying Kaman K-1200 K-MAX crane, the proposed drone transport dates back to 2010 when the Navy was seeking a solution to supply the Marines based in Afghanistan without risking the life of a soldier in truck convoys or helicopters piloted. On one side Oshkosh Corporation then develops an autonomous truck, Terramax and Lockheed Martin K-MAX helicopter this. It is the latter who will know the first battlefields of Afghanistan as it will be nearly 3 years that it makes logistical rotations on behalf of the Allies. The two machines have thus produced 1950 outputs, delivered 2,000,000 tons of goods. One has been damaged during a hard landing but the second showed an availability rate was around 94%. Nevertheless, the Wired article points out that one hour still requires 1.4 hours of maintenance.
The experiment is successful for the K-MAX, but the Autonomous Utility System (AACUS) program Aerial Cargo / from the Navy and he is the offspring is far from complete.

The AACUS research program continues

As the video search service of the Navy points out, the technology developed can be installed on several types of existing helicopters (including the smaller Boeing H-6U Little Bird).
Furthermore, it is relatively simple to operate. The soldier simply means the landing area on the map displayed by his tablet computer. The helicopter is equipped with a LIDAR allowing it, once arrived at the designated area to pick himself more precisely where it will land.
If K6MAX returned home, the AACUS program continues. A UH-60A Blackhawk will be equipped to turn because right now the K-MAX and its little brother the Little Bird still require an operator to control their flight distance. The next phases of the program should see BATTERIES algorithms flights are much more developed to allow the drone to fly in the mountains independently. The first tests were conducted with a Blackhawk. The research program will continue until 2017 we will see which of the Navy or Amazon will be the first to have a fully autonomous helicopter drone operating system. For now, the military has taken the lead.

Translation : Google Translate
Sources :
“Military Ponders Future of Robotic Cargo Movers”, NationalDefense, August 2014
“Robocopters Haul Tons of Stuff in Afghanistan, Return Home Victorious”, IEEESpectrum, July 31, 2014
“The Marines’ Self-Flying Chopper Survives a Three-Year Tour”, Wired, July 30, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique, Robotique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Mission accomplie pour l’hélicoptère robot K-MAX

KMAX_UnmannedIls devaient rester 6 semaines en Afghanistan pour évaluation, les hélicoptères robotisés K-MAX y sont restés pratiquement 3 ans. Conçus pour transporter des marchandises aux bases alliées afin de remplacer les convois victimes d’engin explosifs enterrés, les deux drones envoyés en zone de guerre ont démontré leur efficacité en transportant plus de 2 millions de tonnes de marchandises. En fin de déploiement, un K-MAX pouvait transporter plus de 13 tonnes en 6 missions la même journée. Le robot a été convainquant et dans le cadre de ce programme de recherche AACUS, l’armée américaine pense déjà à la prochaine génération d’hélicoptère robot de transport.

Un programme lancé d’urgence pour les Marines en Afghanistan

Le K-MAX, drone ravitailleur de l'U.S. Marine Corps.

Le K-MAX, drone ravitailleur de l’U.S. Marine Corps avec son kit de pilotage.

Développé par Lockheed Martin sur la base de la grue volante Kaman K-1200 K-MAX, ce projet de drone de transport remonte à 2010, lorsque la Navy cherchait une solution pour ravitailler les Marines basés en Afghanistan sans risquer la vie de soldat dans des convois de camions ou des hélicoptères pilotés. D’un côté Oshkosh Corporation développe alors un camion autonome, le Terramax, et Lockheed Martin cet hélicoptère K-MAX. C’est ce dernier qui va connaître le premier les champs de bataille afghan puisque cela va faire près de 3 ans que celui-ci réalise des rotations logistiques pour le compte des alliés. Les 2 machines ont ainsi réalisé 1 950 sorties, livré 2 millions de tonnes de marchandises. L’un à été endommagé lors d’un atterrissage brutal mais le second a affiché un taux de disponibilité était de l’ordre de 94%. Néanmoins, l’article de Wired souligne qu’une heure de vol nécessite tout de même 1,4 heure de maintenance.
L’expérience est concluante pour le K-MAX, mais le programme Autonomous Aerial Cargo/Utility System (AACUS) de l’US Navy et dont il est le rejeton est loin d’être achevé.

Le programme de recherche AACUS se poursuit

Comme le souligne la vidéo du service de recherche de l’US Navy, la technologie développée peut être installé sur plusieurs type d’hélicoptères existants, (dont le plus petit Boeing H-6U Little Bird).
En outre, il est relativement simple à opérer. Le soldat désigne simplement l’aire d’atterrissage sur la carte affichée par sa tablette numérique. L’hélicoptère est équipé d’un LIDAR qui lui permet, une fois arrivé sur la zone désignée, de choisir lui-même plus précisément l’endroit où il va se poser.
Si les K6MAX sont rentrés au pays, le programme AACUS se poursuit. Un UH-60A Blackhawk va être équipé à son tour car pour l’instant le K-MAX et son petit frère le Little Bird ont encore besoin d’un opérateur pour contrôler leur vol à distance. Les prochaines phases du programme ACCUS devrait voir les algorithmes de vol être bien plus développés pour permettre au drone de voler au milieu des montagnes de manière autonome. Les premiers essais ont eu lieu avec un Blackhawk. Le programme de recherche doit se poursuivre jusqu’en 2017. On verra qui, de la Navy ou d’Amazon sera le premier à disposer d’un système d’hélicoptères drones totalement autonomes opérationnels. Pour l’instant, les militaires ont pris l’avantage.

Sources :
« Military Ponders Future of Robotic Cargo Movers », NationalDefense, Août 2014
« Robocopters Haul Tons of Stuff in Afghanistan, Return Home Victorious », IEEESpectrum, 31 juillet 2014
« The Marines’ Self-Flying Chopper Survives a Three-Year Tour », Wired, 30 juillet 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.