Can Lily, Antoine Balaresque’s drone, reach the success of GoPro?

LilyWith its small laughing blue eyes, he has a very nice bouille that Lily! This small drone is designed to follow and shoot you in your sporting exploits with external views continuously. The perfect complement to the GoPro camera mounted on the helmet. Nice but also easy to used, it is not necessary to be an expert of the drone for is in service. A simple concept that has attracted investors and today clients: the startup that has created Lily would have already reaped presales $ 34 million!

A 100% automatic drone, designed for sportsmen

It is the great American newspaper USA Today that comes to reveal. The Lily Antoine Balaresque and Henry Bradlow flying camera project would have a well-filled order book. Décollage-drone-LilyChock full even if we consider that they already have $ 34 million of orders to honor (from 100,000 to $200,000 expected at the launch of the project). A considerable success for a small drone which the sole purpose is to shoot the owner for his sports activities. Offered at $799, this represents 60,000 customers wishing to offer this drone or rather this flying as camera prefer to call it Antoine Balaresque. Evidence that it is well more owners of GoPro referred that the drones fans who compare their propellers on Sunday at the bottom of the wood.

With Lily, no flight, no remote programming. We must wear on the wrist a locator, launch into the air (or water) the drone which automatically peels and wisely follows his master 20 minutes maximum. The drone, which weighs 1.3 kg, flies up to 40 km/h between 1.75 m to 15 m above the subject. The Lily is able to follow but also precede or fly alongside its owner. The camera filmed in high-definition 1080 p at 60 fps or at 120 fps in 720 p, for lovers of replays.

Lily raised $ 16 million and already has 60,000 customers

Antoine Balaresque présente son drone Lily et son localisateur en main.

Antoine Balaresque present its Lily UAV and its locator in hand.

How not to think about the bankruptcy of Zano drone. Its creators had raised $ 3.6 million on KickStarter and, having delivered 600 of the 15,363 micro-drones sold, the company was put into liquidation. Spent a project losses and profits for more than 14,000 buyers. With Lily, things seem more serious. First, the startup, which was born in the basement of the University of Berkeley, not a shooting star of crowdfunding . The startup has already raised $ 16 million from Spark Capital, the Stanford StartX background, the Winkelvoss brothers or former American football star Joe Montana. Finally, Lily has just landed a trophy innocation at CES 2016. Rather reassuring.

The first prototypes were conscripted in 2013, we learn in the article by USA Today, 500 units have already been built and are being tested. Lily drones will be assembled in China and announced the commercial launch in summer 2016.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “‘Flying camera’ touts $34 million in pre sales”, USA Today, January 8, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Le drone Lily d’Antoine Balaresque peut-il égaler le succès de GoPro ?

LilyAvec ses petits yeux bleus rieurs, il a une bouille bien sympathique ce Lily ! Ce petit drone est conçu pour vous suivre et vous filmer dans vos exploits sportifs offrant une vue externe en continu. Le parfait complément de la caméra GoPro fixée sur le casque.  Sympa mais aussi facile à utilisé, il est nullement nécessaire d’être un expert du drone pour s’en service. Un concept simple qui a séduit les investisseurs et aujourd’hui les clients : La startup qui a créé Lily aurait déjà engrangé 34 millions de dollars de préventes !

Un drone 100% automatique, conçu pour les sportifs

C’est le grand quotidien américain USA Today qui vient de le révéler. Le projet de caméra volante Lily d’Antoine Balaresque et d’Henry Bradlow disposerait d’un carnet de commande bien rempli. Décollage-drone-LilyPlein à craquer même si on considère qu’ils auraient déjà 34 millions de dollars de commandes à honorer (contre 100.000 $ à 200.000$ attendus au lancement du projet). Un succès considérable pour un petit drone dont l’unique vocation est de filmer son propriétaire pendant ses activités sportives. Proposé à 799 $, cela représente 60.000 clients qui souhaitent s’offrir ce drone ou plutôt cette caméra volante comme préfère l’appeler Antoine Balaresque. Preuve que ce sont bien plus les possesseurs de GoPro qui est visé que celui des passionnés de drones qui comparent leurs hélices le dimanche au fond des bois.

Avec Lily, pas de programmation de plan de vol, pas de télécommande. Il faut porter au poignet un localisateur, lancer en l’air (ou dans l’eau) le drone qui se décolle automatiquement et suit sagement son maître pendant 20 minutes maximum. Le drone, qui pèse 1,3 kg, vole jusqu’à 40 km/h entre 1,75 m à 15 m au-dessus du sujet. Le Lily est capable de suivre mais aussi précéder ou voler aux côtés de son propriétaire. La caméra filme en haute-définition 1080p à 60 fps ou bien à 120 fps en 720p, pour les amateurs de ralentis.

Lily a levé 16 millions de dollars et compterait déjà 60.000 clients

Antoine Balaresque présente son drone Lily et son localisateur en main.

Antoine Balaresque présente son drone Lily et son localisateur en main.

Comment ne pas penser à la banqueroute du Zano drone. Ses créateurs avaient levé 3,6 millions de dollars sur KickStarter et, après avoir livré 600 des 15.363 micro-drones vendus, la société était mise en liquidation. Un projet passé en pertes et profits pour plus de 14.000 acheteurs. Avec Lily, les choses sembles plus sérieuses. D’une part, la startup, qui est né dans les caves de l’Université de Berkeley, n’est pas une étoile filante du crowdfunding. La startup a déjà levé 16 millions de dollars auprès de Spark Capital, le fond StartX de Stanford, les frères Winkelvoss ou encore l’ancienne star du football américain Joe Montana. Enfin, le Lily vient de décrocher un trophée de l’innocation lors du CES 2016. Plutôt rassurant.

Les premiers prototypes ont été conscrits en 2013 et, on l’apprend dans l’article d’USA Today, 500 exemplaires auraient déjà été construits et sont en cours de test. Les drones Lily seront assemblés en Chine et le lancement commercial annoncé pour l’été 2016.

Source : « ‘Flying camera’ touts $34 million in pre sales », USA Today, 8 janvier 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.