Can a drone truly represent a threat to an airliner?

Crash-simulationIt is the haunt of the authority. What will happen if a drone strike an airliner during takeoff. Airliners are designed to withstand various impacts. The chicken gun is an example of test to ensure that the windshield of an aircraft can withstand an impact. However for now, while repeatedly drones have been reported near planes on approach or takeoff, no impact has had been regrettable until today. The University Virginia Tech researchers simulated the impact of a 4 kg on a turbojet quadcopter. The result is devastating.

Plane vs Drone : 1 – 0

F-16 polonais

A F-16 Polish such as that which struck a drone September 15, 2015 (Photo: Siły Powietrzne)

On September 15, a Polish F-16 start a drone in the Poznan region. The combat aircraft is pulled out with nothing more than a hitch of paint on the fuselage and a backpack.

If the engine has brilliantly won his duel with a drone, is a jumbo has really something to worry about a small drone? To assess the consequences of such a meeting, researchers from the CRASH Lab (Crashworthiness for Aerospace Structures and Hybrids) the Virginia Tech University engaged in a computer simulation. It was projecting a quadcopter of 4 kg in a turbojet of 2.7 m in diameter, a long-haul motor. The result of this simulation is very clear: in 1/200th of a second, the blades of the engine fan cowls have blown apart with debris thrown at 1,150 km/h.

Crash-simulation-2

The simulation conducted by researchers at Virginia Tech Watch editor blades fall apart to the impact of the drone. (Photo: Virginia Tech)

Such an impact, the reactor immediately lost all its power and the pilot must stop him more quickly to prevent the fire. Is (virtually) demonstrated that a light drone is therefore able to reduce to silence a turbojet of good size.

Fortunately, even in such cases, current safety standards would save the aircraft, a twin-engine aircraft with sufficient power available to be able to continue his take-off with only one engine valid. Nevertheless the simulation showed that the danger is real and the Polish F-16 pilot was lucky to see the drone bounce on the cabin of the aircraft and not be swallowed by its reactor…

 

Translation : Bing Translator
Sources :

“Simulation shows effects of drone hitting an airliner engine”, UASMagazine, November 5, 2015

“Virginia Tech Researchers Seek Remedies for Threat Posed by Drones to Commercial Airliners”, Communiqué Virginia Tech, October 7, 2015

“Polish Air Force F-16 jet collided with drone”, The Aviationist, October 7, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in 3D, Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Un drone peut-il véritablement représenter une menace pour un avion de ligne ?

Crash-simulationC’est la hantise des autorité. Que se passerait-il si un drone venait à percuter un avion de ligne lors de son décollage. Les avions de ligne sont conçus pour résister à divers impacts. Le canon à poulet est un exemple de test réalisé pour s’assurer que le pare-brise d’un avion peut résister à un impact. Néanmoins pour l’instant, si à plusieurs reprises des drones ont été signalés à proximité d’avions en approche ou au décollage, aucun impact n’a eut été à déplorer jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Les chercheurs de l’université Virginia Tech ont simulé l’impact d’un quadcopter de 4 kg sur un turboréacteur. Le résultat est ravageur.

Avion vs Drone : 1 – 0

F-16 polonais

Un F-16 polonais tel que celui qui a heurté un drone le 15 septembre 2015 (Photo: Siły Powietrzne)

Le 15 septembre dernier, un F-16 polonais percutait un drone dans la région de Poznan. L’avion de combat s’en tira avec rien de plus qu’un accroc de peinture sur le fuselage et sur un réservoir dorsal.

Si le monomoteur a brillamment remporté son duel avec un drone, est-ce qu’un gros porteur a véritablement quelque chose à craindre d’un petit drone ? Pour évaluer les conséquences d’une telle rencontre, les chercheurs du labo CRASH (Crashworthiness for Aerospace Structures and Hybrids) de l’université Virginia Tech se sont livrés à une simulation informatique. Celle-ci a consisté à projeter un quadcopter de 4 kg dans un turboréacteur de 2,7m de diamètre, un moteur de long courrier. Le résultat de cette simulation est très claire : en 1/200e de seconde, les pales de la soufflante du réacteur ont volé en éclats avec des débris projetés à 1.150 km/h.

Crash-simulation-2

La simulation menée par les chercheurs de Virginia Tech montre les pales du rédacteur voler en éclats à l’impact du drone. (Photo: Virginia Tech)

Suite à un tel impact, le réacteur perd immédiatement toute sa puissance et le pilote doit l’arrêter au plus vite pour éviter l’incendie. La démonstration est (virtuellement) faite qu’un drone léger est donc capable de réduire au silence un turboréacteur de bonne taille.

Heureusement, même dans un tel cas de figure, les normes de sécurité actuelles sauveraient l’appareil, un bimoteur ayant suffisamment de puissance disponible pour pouvoir poursuivre son décollage avec un seul moteur valide. Néanmoins la simulation a démontré que le danger est bien réel et le pilote du F-16 polonais a été chanceux de voir le drone rebondir sur la carlingue de son appareil et ne pas être avalé par son réacteur…

 

 

Sources :

« Simulation shows effects of drone hitting an airliner engine », UASMagazine, 5 novembre 2015

« Virginia Tech Researchers Seek Remedies for Threat Posed by Drones to Commercial Airliners », Communiqué Virginia Tech, 7 octobre 2015

« Polish Air Force F-16 jet collided with drone », The Aviationist, 7 octobre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans 3D, Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.