Korean researchers want to shoot down drones sonic attack

Drone fallingThere are some days, Boeing shot down a drone with a 2KW laser mounted on a truck. A technique that the Americans are trying to develop for several years now and which is to protect their warships and other military bases.

Researchers from KAIST, one of the largest Korean universities, seem to have found a much more subtle way to rid the skies of these noisy mosquitoes. These come to unveil the results of their research at the USENIX conference held in Washington. To achieve their ends, they devised a technique rather unusual.

Finding a sound that disorients gyroscopes drone

The researchers started from a simple observation: in order to steal all the drones need gyroscopes. It is thanks to them that they can stabilize their position. The principle is as old as time, or almost: a mass in a rotating frame allowing the drone to know the vertical and thus to remain flat on the ground. The drones Embedded MEMS components that play this role or Yongdae Kim, a professor in electrical engineering department of KAIST, has been able to demonstrate that we can greatly disturb these gyroscopes by sending a specific sound frequency. The gyroscope can then resonate and will send data to the erratic flight computer. You can imagine the result, it can be brutal.

The operation of a MEMS 3-axis gyroscope.

The operation of a MEMS 3-axis gyroscope.

The researcher tested his approach on 15 models produced by MEMS gyroscopes 4 component suppliers, mainly components produced by STMicroelectronics and InvenSense. Components that are commonly found in drones. He was able to establish the resonant frequency of 7 of the 15 tested gyroscopes, inaudible frequencies but not for these miniature gyroscopes. The researcher does not address the effect of his technique on laser gyroscopes or even whether it can be protected with adequate shielding precious gyroscope and put it to the shelter of these sonic drone attacks. Maybe eventually it was the US are right, it will draw laser cannon to get rid of these unwanted drones.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“Rocking Drones with Intentional Sound Noise on Gyroscopic Sensors”, USENIX Conference, July 23, 2015

“Boeing shoots down UAV with 2 kW laser”, IHS Jane’s 360, August 11, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Les chercheurs coréens veulent abattre les drones par attaque sonique

Drone fallingIl y a quelques jours, Boeing abattait un drone avec un laser 2KW monté sur un camion. Une technique que les américains sont en train de mettre au point depuis plusieurs années maintenant et qui vise à protéger leurs navires de guerre et autres bases militaires.

Les chercheurs du KAIST, l’une des plus grandes universités coréennes, semblent avoir trouvé un moyen bien plus subtil de débarrasser le ciel de ces bruyants moustiques. Ceux-ci viennent de dévoiler les résultats de leur recherche lors de la conférence USENIX qui se tient à Washington. Pour parvenir à leurs fins, ils ont imaginé une technique plutôt hors du commun.

Trouver un son qui désoriente les gyroscopes du drone

Les chercheurs sont parti d’un constat simple : pour pouvoir voler tous les drones ont besoin de gyroscopes. C’est grâce à eux qu’ils peuvent stabiliser leur position. Le principe est vieux comme le monde ou presque : une masse dans un cadre en rotation qui permet au drone de connaitre la verticale et donc pouvoir rester à plat par rapport au sol. Les drones embarques des composants MEMS qui jouent ce rôle or Yongdae Kim, professeur au département d’ingénierie électrique du KAIST, a pu mettre en évidence que l’on peut fortement perturber ces gyroscopes en leur envoyant une fréquence sonore précise. Le gyroscope peut alors entrer en résonance et va envoyer des données erratiques au calculateur de vol. Vous imaginez la suite, elle peut être brutale.

Le fonctionnement d'un MEMS gyroscope 3 axes.

Le fonctionnement d’un MEMS gyroscope 3 axes.

Le chercheur a testé son approche sur 15 modèles de MEMS gyroscopes produit par 4 fournisseurs de composants, pour l’essentiel des composants produits par  STMicroelectronics et InvenSense. Des composants que l’on retrouve fréquemment dans les drones. Il a pu établir la fréquence de résonance de 7 des 15 gyroscopes testés, des fréquences inaudibles mais pas pour ces gyroscopes miniatures. Le chercheur n’évoque pas l’effet de sa technique sur les gyroscopes laser ni même s’il est possible de protéger avec un blindage adéquat le précieux gyroscope et le mettre à l’abris le drone de ces attaques soniques. Peut-être que finalement ce sont les américains ont raison, il faudra tirer au canon laser pour se débarrasser de ces drones intempestifs.

Sources :

« Rocking Drones with Intentional Sound Noise on Gyroscopic Sensors », USENIX Conference, 23 juillet 2015

« Boeing shoots down UAV with 2 kW laser », IHS Jane’s 360, 11 aout 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.