Drones dangerous for airliners? The simulation gives its response

While reports of drones near airports are increasing in the United States and Europe, for the moment every drone impact on an airliner has resulted in a little crumpled sheet metal. Airliners have been designed to withstand bird strikes much more frequently than pseudo-contacts with UAVs, but will they be able to withstand collisions with UAVs that will inevitably occur in the future? A scientific study commissioned by the FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) and the Alliance for System Safety of UAS through Research Excellence (ASSURE) has accurately assessed the damage of a drone on an airliner. Initial results could lead to tighter aviation regulations.

DJI Phantom 2 vs. Boeing 737: what damage?

Everyone is familiar with the famous chicken barrel test, where a dead chicken body is pulled from the windshield of an airplane to make sure it is resistant. Such tests do not yet exist with drones, but this may well be necessary in the near future.

Simulation of the impact of a quadcopter on the wing of a Boeing 737 airliner (PRNewsfoto/ASSURE)

The work of the ASSURE research team began in 2016, with researchers and resources from the universities of Mississippi, Montana, Ohio and Wichita. The study is particularly extensive and complete because it combines laboratory tests and computer simulations. The researchers wanted to verify the damage caused by the impact of a Phantom 2 DJI quadcopter and a PrecisionHawk fixed-wing drone on multiple parts of a Boeing 737, as well as a Learjet 31 business jet.

Researchers have accurately modelled UAVs and their various components, including engines and batteries, the most dangerous parts of a drone and projected them virtually dozens of times on 3D models faithfully reproducing the coating of the airliner and business aircraft, as well as their internal structure and engines.

Over 180 drone impact on airliners simulated

Like the impact of a bird, a drone can destroy the engine of an airliner.

The 180 virtual crashes carried out in twenty months have made it possible to establish that the impact of a drone has a higher overall energy than that of a bird but that this energy varies according to the dynamics of this collision, i. e. the angle and speed at which it hits the plane, but also the design of the drone itself. Simulations have shown that collisions with drones inflict more damage than collisions with birds. While current aircraft are designed to withstand the impact of a 4 kg bird on the empennages and 2 kg on the windshield, these tests could lead to an upward revision of these requirements. As for the drone batteries, suspected of potentially triggering a fire in the event of a drone impact, researchers have shown that if the impact occurred at high speed, there was no risk of fire, however, if the impact occurred at low speed, i. e. at the time of take-off or landing, the battery could actually remain blocked in the airframe and, as a result, the battery could become blocked in the airframe.

The work of the ASSURE research group is continuing, with tests to be carried out on modern aeroclub aircraft, helicopters and turbojet engines. Initial findings could provide the FAA with arguments to strengthen the UAV regulations and perhaps also reinforce the design constraints for airliners.

Sources:

“FAA and ASSURE Announce Announcements Results of Air-To-Air Collision Study”, Press Release, November 28,2017

“ASSURE UAS Airborne Collision Severity Evaluation Final Report”

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Les drones dangereux pour les avions de ligne ? La simulation donne sa réponse

Alors que les signalements de drones aux abords des aéroports se multiplient aux Etats-Unis et en Europe, pour l’instant chaque impact de drone sur un avions de ligne s’est soldée par un peu de tôle froissée. Les avions de ligne ont été conçus pour résister aux impacts d’oiseau bien plus fréquents que les pseudo-contacts avec des drones, mais pourront-ils résister aux collisions avec les drones qui ne manqueront pas de se produire à l’avenir ? Une étude scientifique missionnée par la FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) et l’Alliance for System Safety of UAS through Research Excellence (ASSURE) a évalué avec précision les dégâts d’un drone sur un avion de ligne. Les premiers résultats pourraient mener à un durcissement de la réglementation aérienne.

DJI Phantom 2 vs Boeing 737 : quels dégâts ?

Tout le monde connaît le célèbre test du canon à poulet lors duquel on tire un cadavre de poulet sur le pare-brise d’un avion pour s’assurer de sa résistance. De tels tests n’existent pas encore avec des drones, mais cela pourrait bien être rapidement nécessaire.

Simulation de l’impact d’un quadcopter sur l’aile d’un avion de ligne type Boeing 737 (PRNewsfoto/ASSURE)

Les travaux de l’équipe de recherche ASSURE ont débuté dès 2016, avec des chercheurs et des ressources issues des universités du Mississippi, du Montana, de l’Ohio et de Wichita. L’étude est particulièrement étoffée et complète car elle marie des essais en laboratoire et des simulations informatiques. Les chercheurs ont ainsi voulu vérifier les dégâts de l’impact un quadcopter de type DJI Phantom 2 ainsi qu’un drone à aile fixe PrecisionHawk sur de multiples parties d’un Boeing 737, ainsi qu’un avion d’affaire Learjet 31.

Les chercheurs ont modélisé avec précision les drones et leurs différents composants, notamment les moteurs et la batteries, les parties les plus dangereuses d’un drone et les ont projeté virtuellement des dizaines de fois sur des modèles 3D reproduisant fidèlement le revêtement de l’avion de ligne et l’avion d’affaire, mais aussi leur structure interne et leurs moteurs.

Plus de 180 simulations d’impact de drone sur des avions de ligne

Tout comme l’impact d’un oiseau, un drone peut détruire le moteur d’un avion de ligne.

Les 180 crashs virtuels réalisés en vingt mois ont permis d’établir que l’impact d’un drone présente globalement une énergie plus élevée que celle avec un oiseau mais que cette énergie varie en fonction de la dynamique de cette collision, c’est-à-dire l’angle et la vitesse à laquelle il heurte l’avion, mais aussi le design du drone lui-même. Les simulations ont montré que les collisions avec les drones infligent des dommages plus importants qu’avec des oiseaux. Alors que les avions actuels sont conçus pour résister à un impact d’un oiseau de 4 kg sur les empennages et de 2 kg sur le pare-brise, ces tests pourraient conduire à revoir à la hausse ces exigences. Quant aux batteries du drone, suspectées de potentiellement pouvoir déclencher un incendie en cas d’impact du drone, les chercheurs ont démontré que si l’impact avait lieu à haute vitesse, il n’y avait pas de risque d’incendie, par contre, si l’impact a lieu à basse vitesse, c’est à dire au moment du décollage ou de l’atterrissage, la batterie pourrait effectivement rester bloquée dans la cellule de l’avion et, éventuellement prendre feu.

Les travaux du groupe de recherche ASSURE se poursuivent, avec des tests qui vont être réalisés sur des avions aéro-club, hélicoptères et turboréacteurs modernes. Les premières conclusions pourraient donner les arguments à la FAA afin de muscler la réglementation sur les drones et peut-être aussi renforcer les contraintes de conception des avions de ligne.

Sources :

« FAA and ASSURE Announce Results of Air-To-Air Collision Study », Communiqué de presse, 28 novembre 2017

« ASSURE UAS Airborne Collision Severity Evaluation Final Report »

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.