Military drones: China pushes its pawns

Wing-Loong-PterodactylInformation from the fall of a drone in northeastern Nigeria was relayed by some sites a few weeks ago. This drone, Chinese manufacturing, was probably used in the fight against the insurgency raging in the region. The drone in question, a CH-3, was still equipped with 2 2 type AR-1 air-to-ground missiles, a copy Chinese American Hellfire. Nigeria, but also Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, and perhaps soon the Algeria, the list of countries buying Chinese drones elongates to the point of alerting Washington. Obama has announced the easing of sales of drones Americans abroad to America’s allies.

The global market for military drones to reach $5.6 billion in 2022

IDEX 2015, large military lounge which has just concluded in Abu Dhabi was a new opportunity for manufacturers of drones to present their latest models. Once more, Chinese builders were present in the hall reserved for vehicles without drivers. Facing the United States are reluctant to deliver drones armed to third parties, in Europe including the industry remains handicapped by the delay by their armies and finally Israel, China mark the points on the international market.

CH - 4, Chinese rival of the MQ-1 Predator.

CH – 4, Chinese rival of the MQ-1 Predator.

The number of military drones designed by Chinese industrialists is itself staggering. Wikipedia has counted well over 230 developers and manufacturers of drones in China. Two thirds are private companies, but found all major offices and Chinese aircraft manufacturers, especially in the segment of MALE drones (medium altitude long endurance), the category of the Predator which many countries would like to have. The China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation (CASC) offers its CH-4 market, China Aviation Industry Corp. (AVIC) for its part offers the Wing Loong (Pterodactyl) I. Countries such as Pakistan, which was was already equipped with the smaller CH – 4 are now interested in these Chinese MALE. Countries that could not get U.S. Predator, like the Algeria and the Jordan might turn to China to meet the needs of their armies fighting against insurgents.

Lighter

Lighter than the CH-4, CH-3 ucav can fly at 220 km/h for a dozen hours.

Of multiple applications for export of General Atomics, the designer of Reaper and Predator, have been retoqués by Washington. Only the United Kingdom, the France and the Italy got a few copies of the American drone and only the United Kingdom, allied most faithful is, was able to obtain the “privilege” of Uncle Sam to arm its drones. A serious loss of profits for the American arms industry, but also a sacred hand to China from a geopolitical point of view. The United States applied to its sales of drones the Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR), deals with non-proliferation missiles that can carry 500 kg military payload to more than 300 km. A limit which flanged U.S. exports of drones to 144 million over the period 20015-2010. It is little while this market should reach $ 5.26 billion by 2022, according to Frost & Sullivan. Too little for president Obama who would strengthen the capacity of its allies in the fight against the Islamists by facilitating the export of drones ‘Made in USA’, and incidentally to filling the coffers of its arms industry.
 
Translation : Bing Translator
 

Sources :
“Obama administration to allow sales of armed drones to allies”, The Washington Post, February 17, 2015

“Obama To Sell Armed Drones To More Countries”, Defense One, February 17, 2015

“U.S. Firm Denied Request to Market Drones to Jordan”, Foreign Policy, February 5, 2015

“Chinese UAV Crashes in Nigeria”, UAS Vision, February 2, 2015

“Global military UAV market will shrink then grow to $5.26 billion by 2022 – report”, DefenseWeb, February 8, 2014

“Why Is the U.S. So Stingy With Its Drones? It’s Costing Us.”, NewRepublic, July 2, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Drones militaires : La Chine pousse ses pions

Wing-Loong-PterodactylL’information de la chute d’un drone dans le nord-est du Nigeria a été relayée par quelques sites voici quelques semaines. Ce drone, de fabrication chinoise, était probablement utilisé dans la lutte contre l’insurrection qui sévit dans la région. Le drone en question, un CH-3, était encore équipé de 2 2 missiles air-sol de type AR-1, une copie chinoise du Hellfire américain. Nigeria, mais aussi Arabie Saoudite, Emirats Arabes Unis, Ouzbekistan, et peut-être prochainement l’Algérie, la liste des pays qui achète des drones chinois s’allonge au point d’alerter Washington. Obama vient d’annoncer l’assouplissement des ventes de drones américains à l’étranger aux alliés de l’Amérique.

Le marché mondial des drones militaires doit atteindre 5,6 milliards de dollars en 2022

L’IDEX 2015, grand salon militaire qui vient de se conclure à Abu Dhabi a été une nouvelle occasion pour les constructeurs de drones de présenter leurs derniers modèles. Une fois de plus, les constructeurs chinois était présents dans le hall réservés aux engins sans pilotes. Face aux Etats-Unis qui rechignent à livrer des drones armés à des tiers, à l’Europe dont l’industrie reste handicapée par le retard pris par leurs armées et enfin Israël, la Chine marque des points sur le marché international.

Le CH-4, rival chinois du MQ-1 Predator.

Le CH-4, rival chinois du MQ-1 Predator américain.

Le nombre de drones militaires conçus par les industriels chinois est proprement stupéfiant. Wikipedia a décompté ainsi plus de 230 développeurs et constructeurs de drones en Chine. Les deux tiers sont des entreprises privées, mais on retrouve tous les grands bureaux d’études et constructeurs aéronautiques chinois, notamment sur le segment des drones MALE (Moyenne altitude longue endurance), la catégorie des Predator dont beaucoup de pays aimerait disposer. Le China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation (CASC) propose ainsi son CH-4 sur le marché, China Aviation Industry Corp. (AVIC) propose pour sa part le Wing Loong (Pterodactyl) I. Les pays comme le Pakistan qui s’était déjà équipé du plus petit CH-4 s’intéressent désormais à ces MALE chinois. Des pays qui n’ont pu obtenir des Predator des Etats-Unis, comme l’Algérie et la Jordanie pourraient bien se tourner vers la Chine pour répondre aux besoins de leurs armées en lutte face à des insurgés.

Plus léger que le CH-4, le drone CH-3 peut voler à 220 km/h pendant une douzaine d'heures.

Plus léger que le CH-4, le drone CH-3 peut voler à 220 km/h pendant une douzaine d’heures.

De multiples demandes d’exportation de General Atomics, le concepteur des Reaper et Predator, ont été retoqués par Washington. Seuls le Royaume-Uni, la France et l’Italie ont obtenu quelques exemplaires du drone américain et seul le Royaume-Uni, allié le plus fidèle s’il en est, a pu obtenir le « privilège » d’oncle Sam d’armer ses drones. Un sérieux manque à gagner pour l’industrie d’armement américain, mais aussi un sacré coup de main à la Chine d’un point de vue géopolitique. Les Etats-Unis appliquaient à ses ventes de drones le Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR), traité de non prolifération des missiles pouvant emporter 500 kg de charge militaire à plus de 300 km. Une limite qui a bridé les exportations américaines de drones à 144 millions de dollars sur la période 20015-2010. C’est bien peu alors que ce marché doit atteindre 5,26 milliards de dollars à l’horizon 2022, selon Frost&Sullivan. Trop peu pour le président Obama qui voudrait renforcer les capacités de ses alliés dans la lutte contre les islamistes en facilitant l’exportation de drones « Made in USA », et accessoirement remplir les caisses de son industrie d’armement.

 

Sources :
« Obama administration to allow sales of armed drones to allies », The Washington Post, 17 février 2015

« Obama To Sell Armed Drones To More Countries », Defense One, 17 février 2015

« U.S. Firm Denied Request to Market Drones to Jordan », Foreign Policy, 5 février 2015

« Chinese UAV Crashes in Nigeria », UAS Vision, 2 février 2015

« Global military UAV market will shrink then grow to $5.26 billion by 2022 – report », DefenseWeb, 8 octobre 2014

« Why Is the U.S. So Stingy With Its Drones? It’s Costing Us. », NewRepublic, 2 juillet 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.