Drones: a paper airplane landed its FAA certification

PowerUp-3It sounds like a joke, and yet it is (almost) not. The authority that governs air traffic in the United States is providing a “333 exemption” in PowerUp, a permit to fly a drone rather unique since it is a plane paper by Remote smartphone.
This is obviously not a certification such as the Boeing 777 and Airbus A380 had to win for the right to fly in the American skies, for cons, the FAA did recognize that the PowerUp 3.0 … is a real plane. Surprising for a toy sold less than 50 euros!

Pilot Licence required for operation “commercial” in this paper airplane

With its range of around 55 meters and autonomy of a maximum ten minutes the PowerUP 3.0 developed by Tailor Toys has the right to be used in the United States. PowerUp 3.0A paper plane that acquires the title of “aircraft” is one of paradox legislation evolving to integrate drones. Tailor Toys sent the FAA for an exemption in due form and received. Theoretically, this toy has acquired the right to the aerial photo and video shoots, what this paper airplane is incapable of doing. Peter Sachs who claimed this exemption for the PowerUp will have to revalidate his helicopter pilot license if he wants to engage in any commercial use of sound paper drone.

Translation : Google Translate

Source : “FAA Approves Commercial Use Of Drone Paper Airplane. Yes. Really.”, Forbes, August 27, 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Drones : un avion en papier décroche sa certification FAA

PowerUp-3Cela ressemble à une blague, et pourtant ce n’est (presque) pas le cas. L’autorité qui régit le trafic aérien aux Etats-Unis vient d’accorder une « exemption 333 » au PowerUp, une autorisation de vol à un drone plutôt unique puisque c’est un avion en papier télécommandé par smartphone.
Il ne s’agit bien évidemment pas d’une certification telle que celles que les Boeing 777 et Airbus A380 ont du décrocher pour avoir le droit de voler dans le ciel américain, par contre, la FAA a bel et bien reconnu que le PowerUp 3.0 est… un vrai avion. Etonnant pour un jouet vendu moins de 50 euros !

Licence de pilote requise pour une exploitation « commerciale » de cet avion en papier

Avec son rayon d’action de l’ordre de 55 mètres et son autonomie d’une dizaine de minutes maximum le PowerUP 3.0 mis au point par Tailor Toys a donc le droit d’être utilisé aux Etats-Unis. PowerUp 3.0Un avion en papier qui acquiert le titre d’ « aircraft », c’est l’un des paradoxe d’une législation en train d’évoluer pour intégrer les drones. Tailor Toys a adressé à la FAA une demande d’exemption en bonne et due forme et l’a obtenu. Théoriquement, ce jouet a acquis le droit de faire de la photo aérienne et des tournages vidéo, ce que cet avion en papier est bien incapable de faire. Peter Sachs qui a réclamé cette exemption pour le PowerUp va devoir revalider sa licence de pilote de pilote d’hélicoptère s’il veut se livrer à une exploitation commerciale de son drone en papier.

Source : « FAA Approves Commercial Use Of Drone Paper Airplane. Yes. Really. », Forbes, 27 août 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.