First successful transmission for EDRS, the European space network

EDRSSatellites that communicate with each other using laser beams, it is the lens to project EDRS (European Data Relay System). It just passed a milestone with first transmission between the Earth observation satellite Sentinel – 1A communication Alphasat satellite belonging to Inmarsat 36,000 km away. Transmission lasercom, carried out at a rate of 1.8 Gbit/s, may be increased to 7.2 GB/s later. Two satellites will be launched by Esa to create a network space laser able to absorb 6 terabytes of data that the great Copernicus of the Esa programme observation satellites will generate every day.

A laser network to no longer depend on the ground stations

The problem of a satellite observation of the Earth such as the Sentinel – 1a is simple. In orbit 700 km from the Earth, the satellite can transmit its radar images of the Earth’s surface when it passes within the range of a ground station. So multiply the stations to minimize the areas where the satellite can no longer communicate.

The satellite Eutelsat - 9B with its EDRS transmitter - has during its tests in the Airbus Defence and Space anechoic chamber in Toulouse.

The satellite Eutelsat – 9B with its EDRS transmitter – has during its tests in the Airbus Defence and Space anechoic chamber in Toulouse.

By putting in place a space laser network, the Sentinel satellites can continuously transmit their images by pulling laser on 2 geostationary satellites 36,000 km from Earth which then transmit them to the ground. With a budget of EUR 450 million, the project will build on 2 relays which first will be placed on Eutelsat switch, satellite communication that which is to be launched in 2015, a second a year later.
Nasa is also working on an equivalent project, the SCaN for Space Communications and
Navigation. It is with the first elements of this networked laser that Nasa has managed to establish a laser link to 80 Mbit/s with the LADEE mission in orbit around the moon.
In addition to the satellite resources optimization, these laser networks are strategic for the Nasa and Esa. They will help to free itself from stations on the ground in foreign countries. It will also be able to be operated by drones, as already shown in the illustration provided by ESA on the occasion of the announcement of EDRS.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Europe’s space-based, laser-powered data highway passes early test”, Reuters, November 28, 2014

“Successful Demonstration of Alphasat-Sentinel-1A Laser Link”, ESA press release, November 28, 2014

“Laser Link Offers High-Speed Delivery”, ESA press release, November 28, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Première transmission réussie pour le réseau spatial européen EDRS

EDRSDes satellites qui communiquent les uns avec les autres au moyen de faisceaux laser, c’est l’objectif sur projet EDRS (European Data Relay System). Celui-ci vient de passer une étape clé avec une première transmission réussie entre le satellite d’observation de la terre Sentinel-1a et le satellite de communication Alphasat appartenant à Inmarsat à 36.000 km de là. La transmission lasercom, réalisée à un débit de 1,8 Gbit/s, pourra être portée à 7,2 Gbit/s par la suite. Deux satellites de communication vont être équipés par l’Esa pour créer un réseau spatial laser apte à absorber les 6 teraoctets de données que les satellites d’observation du grand programme Copernicus vont générer chaque jour.

Un réseau spatial pour ne plus dépendre des stations au sol

Le problème d’un satellite d’observation de la terre tel que le Sentinel-1a est simple. En orbite à 700 km de la terre, ce satellite ne peut transmettre ses images radar de la surface de la terre que lorsqu’il passe à la portée d’une station au sol. Il faut donc multiplier les stations pour minimiser les zones où le satellite ne peut plus communiquer.

Le satellite Eutelsat-9B avec son transmetteur EDRS-A lors de ses tests dans la chambre anéchoïque d'Airbus Defence and Space à Toulouse.

Le satellite Eutelsat-9B avec son transmetteur EDRS-A lors de ses tests dans la chambre anéchoïque d’Airbus Defence and Space à Toulouse.

En mettant en place un réseau laser spatial, les satellites Sentinel pourront transmettre en permanence leurs images en tirant au laser sur 2 satellites géostationnaires placés à 36.000 km de la terre qui les transmettront ensuite au sol. Bénéficiant d’un budget de 450 millions d’euros, le projet s’appuiera sur 2 relais dont le premier sera placé sur Eutelsat EB9B, satellite de communication qui qui doit être lancé en 2015, un second un an plus tard.
La Nasa travaille aussi sur un projet équivalent, le SCaN pour Space Communications and
Navigation. C’est avec les premiers éléments de ce réseau laser que la Nasa est parvenue à établir une liaison laser à 80 Mbit/s avec la mission LADEE , en orbite autour de la lune.
Outre une optimisation des ressources satellitaires, ces réseaux laser sont stratégiques pour la Nasa comme pour l’Esa. Ils vont permettre de s’affranchir de stations au sol en pays étranger. Il vont aussi pouvoir être exploité par des drones, comme le montre déjà l’illustration fournie par l’ESA à l’occasion de l’annonce d’EDRS.

Sources :

« Europe’s space-based, laser-powered data highway passes early test », Reuters, 28 novembre 2014

« Successful Demonstration of Alphasat-Sentinel-1A Laser Link », Communiqué ESA, 28 novembre 2014

« Laser Link Offers High-Speed Delivery », Communiqué ESA, 28 novembre 2014

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.