Roland Berger Survey 2016: Can Digital save the French industry?

AlstomTitled “French Plants going Digital”, the 4th edition of the study Roland Berger on the competitiveness of French industry suggests a rather bleak future.

While the American industry has recreated 855,000 new jobs in 5 years, the France continues to see its industrial jobs disappear. The balance will be negative by 50,000 positions over the period 2013-2023. If only 46% of factory directors interviewed hope to improve their competitiveness in 2016, they have realised the importance of digital.

Worried french factories principals before the acceleration of Supply Chain

Critial-criteria

The most critical points in the competitiveness of a production site (Source : Roland Berger / Manufacturing Competitiveness Radar 2015 Survey)

Nearly 200 factories are closed each year, it is the figure that reveals Georges de Thieulloy, partner at Roland Berger, author of the study “ French Manufacturing Competitiveness Radar 2015/2016“. 20% of industrial sites are considered as distressed by their management and this wave of closures will not be compensated by the creation of new sites. 177,000 jobs will be destroyed in the industrial sectors over the period 2013/2023 against only 128,000 created. By comparison, the services sector should create 837.000 net jobs.

The first reason given by the interviewed directions is obviously the cost of labor. However they are increasingly concerned about a new element: the acceleration of supply chains. Finally when asked in detail, we see that the theme of operational efficiency, supply chain, process and purchase of first way widely take precedence over the cost of the work or the qualification of the staff.

Companies more and more connected and that must react in real time to the vagaries of the market, it is a concept that has emerged for several years in the automotive sector. It will become mainstream in many others and the Germany already preparing in its large processing industry 4.0 program.

Cybersécurité, RFID et robotique, les 3 domaines où le numérique va avoir le plus fort impact sur l’industrie

Digital-Plant-key-concepts---understanding-and-impact

Understanding and impact of the concepts of the digital factory according to the french factory directors in 2015 (Source : Roland Berger / Manufacturing Competitiveness Radar 2015 Survey)

French industrialists are facing real difficulties, but they are well aware of the areas key to the digital plant of the future. Cyber Security, RFID, and Robotics are areas that should have the greatest impact on their business. 3D printing is relatively well known to our factory (at 65%) principals however only 24% believes it will have a strong impact on their activity. The figures are pretty – much the same for rapid prototyping. The need to robotize in order of production processes is now acquired. 89% have understood the importance of Robotics in the competitiveness race and 73% believe that it will have a strong impact on their activity. It is the highest figure achieved in this survey.

Other figures are more alarming. 41% only know Big Data and 32% think that it will have an impact at home. The concept of factory connected is trolling: 32% know the concept but only 24% believes that this will have an impact. On augmented reality, one remains in science fiction. 16% know what it is, and only 14% believe that this will have a significant impact.

Source : “French Manufacturing Competitiveness Radar 2015/2016“, Roland Berger release, December 21, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Non classé and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Enquête Roland Berger 2016 : Le Digital pourra-t-il sauver l’industrie française ?

AlstomTitrée « French Plants going Digital », la 4ième édition de l’étude Roland Berger sur la compétitivité de l’industrie française laisse entrevoir un avenir plutôt sombre.

Alors que l’industrie américaine a recréé 855.000 nouveaux emplois en 5 ans, la France continue de voir ses emplois industriels disparaître. Le solde sera négatif de 50.000 postes sur la période 2013-2023. Si seulement 46% des directeurs d’usine interrogés espèrent améliorer leur compétitivité en 2016, ceux-ci ont bien pris conscience de l’importance du numérique.

Les directeurs d’usines français inquiets devant l’accélération de la Supply Chain

Critial-criteria

Les points les plus critiques dans la compétitivité d’un site de production (Source : Roland Berger / Manufacturing Competitiveness Radar 2015 Survey)

Près de 200 usines sont fermés chaque année, c’est le chiffre que révèle Georges de Thieulloy, Associé chez Roland Berger, auteur de l’étude « French Manufacturing Competitiveness Radar 2015/2016 « . 20% des sites industriels sont considérés comme en difficulté par leur direction et cette vague de fermetures ne sera pas compensée par la création de nouveaux sites. 177.000 emplois seront détruits dans le secteurs industriel sur la période 2013/2023 contre seulement 128.000 créés. A titre de comparaison, le secteur des services devrait créer 837.000 emplois net.

La première raison invoquée par les directions interrogées est bien évidement le coût de la main d’œuvre. Cependant ceux-ci sont de plus en plus préoccupés par un nouvel élément : l’accélération des chaînes d’approvisionnement. Finalement lorsqu’on les interroge dans le détail, on voit que les thématique d’efficacité opérationnelles, de supply chain, de processus et d’achat de manière premières prennent largement le pas sur le coût du travail ou la qualification du personnel.

Des entreprises de plus en plus connectées entre elles et qui doivent réagir en temps réel aux aléas du marché, c’est un concept qui s’est imposé depuis plusieurs années dans le secteur automobile. Il va se généraliser dans bien d’autres et l’Allemagne s’y prépare déjà dans son grand programme de transformation  Industrie 4.0.

Cybersécurité, RFID et robotique, les 3 domaines où le numérique va avoir le plus fort impact sur l’industrie

Digital-Plant-key-concepts---understanding-and-impact

La compréhension et l’impact des concepts de l’usine numérique selon les directeurs d’usine français en 2015 (Source : Roland Berger / Manufacturing Competitiveness Radar 2015 Survey)

Les industriels français font face à de vraies difficultés, mais ils sont bien conscient des domaines clé de l’usine numérique de demain. La cybersécurité, le RFID et la robotique sont les domaines qui devraient avoir le plus gros impact sur leur activité. L’impression 3D est relativement bien connue de nos directeurs d’usine (à 65%) par contre seulement 24% estime qu’elle va avoir un impact fort sur leur activité. Les chiffres sont à peu-près les mêmes pour le prototypage rapide. La nécessité de robotiser les processus de production est désormais acquise. 89% ont compris l’importance de la robotique dans la course à la compétitivité et 73% estiment que cela va avoir un fort impact sur leur activité. C’est le chiffre le plus haut atteint dans cette enquête.

D’autres chiffres sont plus alarmants. 41% seulement connaissent le Big Data et 32% pensent qu’il aura un impact chez eux. Le concept d’usine connecté est à la traîne : 32% connaissent le concept mais seulement 24% estime que cela va avoir un impact. Quant à la réalité augmentée, on reste dans la science fiction. 16% savent de quoi il s’agit et seulement 14% pensent que cela aura un impact important.

Source : « French Manufacturing Competitiveness Radar 2015/2016« , Communiqué Roland Berger, 21 décembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Non classé, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.