First successful flight for the ESA IXV demonstrator. And now?

IXV24 years after the first flight of the shuttle American space, Europe has launched into space its first demonstrator of shuttle, the IXV. A flight of 100 minutes but which marks the European space history of a white stone. Europe has proved that it control the cockpit of a spacecraft in its re-entry into the atmosphere. An important step, no doubt, but while the Chinese develop a rocket to send men to the Moon, or that Elon Musk seeks further still, Europeans will be able one day to launch a real space shuttle?

Mission accomplished for the little IXV

The IXV awaits his rescuers in the Pacific after its historic flight of February 11, 2015.

The IXV awaits his “Rescuers” in the Pacific after its historic flight of February 11, 2015.

The first flight of the IXV (Intermediate eXperimental Vehicle) has therefore completed as planned by ditching in the Pacific ocean, 100 minutes after that a Vega rocket launched it from the Kourou base, 1 h 40 earlier. Officially, the flight parameters were nominal, demonstrating the ability to control the vehicle during atmospheric reentry and the qualities of the materials of the thermal shield of the demonstrator. The first flight to the Italian as accent the Vega Launcher is under Italian management, while the IXV was developed by Thales Alenia Space.
This unquestionable success comes 24 years after the first flight of the space shuttle and 30 years after the France proposed Europe to develop the Hermes project so that Europe can compete with the United States. Paradoxically, while the shuttles do flaps, Europe progresses that slowly and the IXV is finally less ambitious than the XB – 47 (b) of the U.S. air force or its ancestor Hermes.

The PRIDE program must provide a successor to the IXV

While the European economy is the step and the Germans seem reluctant to finance this conquest of space, this first flight of the IXV be a blow of the sword in the water? Simon Péter, Chairman and CEO of Thales Alenia Space is optimistic in its official release: “” this program PRIDE (Program for Reusable In – orbit Demonstrator in Europe) should give birth to a very close space drone of the current XB – 47B, it means a space drone able to deploy sensors, possibly intervene on a satellite in orbit and land on a traditional runway to be reused.

The principle of the design of PRIDE, the successor of IXV endorsed in December 2014.

The principle of the design of PRIDE, the successor of IXV endorsed in December 2014.

While the European economy is the step and the Germans seem reluctant to finance this conquest of space, this first flight of the IXV will be left a sword blow in water? In its official statement, Simon Péter, Chairman and CEO of Thales Alenia Space wants to be optimistic: ” thanks to data collected during the flight, we open the way to the development of new generation in Europe atmospheric reentry vehicles, and our company, which designed and built the IXV is today the European reference in this sector. ” Thales Alenia Space will offer again its expertise within the forthcoming European programme PRIDE, approved at the Ministerial Conference in December 2014, marking a significant step in the understanding of the technologies validated for atmospheric reentry systems. »
This program PRIDE (Program for Reusable In – orbit Demonstrator in Europe) should give birth to a successor to the IXV, a very close space drone of the current XB – 47B, it means a space drone able to deploy sensors, possibly intervene on a satellite in orbit and land on a traditional runway to be reused.
The last ministerial conference of ESA European space which had officially launched the programme Ariane 6 had seen France, Great Britain, the Sweden and the Spain support the building of the successor of IXV and endorse the programme PRIDE. Europe, at a time of budget cuts, will manage to complete these two projects to front?

Sources :

“ESA experimental spaceplane completes research flight”, ESA release

“IXV mission timeline”, ESA release

“L’Europa dice sì al lanciatore Ariane 6 e guarda a Marte”, Repubblica, Decembre 2, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Premier vol réussi pour le démonstrateur IXV de l’ESA. Et maintenant ?

IXV24 ans après le premier vol de la navette spatiale américaine, l’Europe a lancé dans l’espace son premier démonstrateur de navette, le IXV. Un vol de 100 minutes seulement mais qui marque l’histoire spatiale européenne d’une pierre blanche. L’Europe a prouvé qu’elle maîtrise le pilotage d’un véhicule spatial dans sa rentrée dans l’atmosphère. Une étape importante, sans doute, mais alors que les chinois développent une fusée pour envoyer des hommes sur la lune ou qu’Elon Musk vise plus loin encore, les européens seront-ils capable un jour de lancer une vraie navette spatiale ?

Mission accomplie pour le petit IXV

Le IXV attend ses "sauveteurs" dans le Pacifique après son vol historique du 11 février 2015.

Le IXV attend ses « sauveteurs » dans le Pacifique après son vol historique du 11 février 2015.

Le premier vol de l’IXV (Intermediate eXperimental Vehicle) s’est donc achevé comme prévu par un amerrissage dans l’océan pacifique, 100 minutes après qu’une fusée Vega l’ai lancé depuis la base de Kourou, 1h40 plus tôt. Officiellement, les paramètres de vol ont été nominaux, démontrant les capacité de contrôle du véhicule lors de la rentrée atmosphérique et les qualités des matériaux du bouclier thermique du démonstrateur. Un premier vol au fort accent italien puisque le lanceur Vega est sous maîtrise d’oeuvre italienne, tandis que l’IXV a été développé par Thales Alenia Space.

Ce succès incontestable intervient 24 ans après le premier vol de la navette spatiale et 30 ans après que la France ait proposé à l’Europe de développer le projet Hermes pour que l’Europe puisse rivaliser avec les Etats-Unis. Paradoxalement, alors que les navettes ne volets plus, l’Europe ne progresse que lentement et son IXV est finalement moins ambitieux que le XB-47b de l’armée de l’air américaine ou que son ancêtre Hermes.

Le programme PRIDE doit donner un successeur au IXV

Alors que l’économie européenne marque le pas et que les allemands semblent peu disposés à financer cette conquête de l’espace, ce premier vol du IXV sera-t-il un coup d’épée dans l’eau ? Elisio Prette, Président Directeur Général de Thales Alenia Space se veut optimiste dans son communiqué officiel : « » Ce programme PRIDE (Program for Reusable In-orbit Demonstrator in Europe) devrait donner naissance à un drone spatial très proche de l’actuel XB-47B américain, c’est à dire un drone spatial capable de déployer de capteurs, éventuellement intervenir sur un satellite en orbite et de se poser sur une piste traditionnelle pour être réutilisée.

Le principe de la conception de PRIDE, le successeur de IXV a été entériné en décembre 2014.

Le principe de la conception de PRIDE, le successeur de IXV a été entériné en décembre 2014.

Alors que l’économie européenne marque le pas et que les allemands semblent peu disposés à financer cette conquête de l’espace, ce premier vol du IXV restera-t-il un coup d’épée dans l’eau ? Dans son communiqué officiel, Elisio Prette, Président Directeur Général de Thales Alenia Space se veut optimiste : « Grâce aux données collectées durant le vol, nous ouvrons la voie au développement de véhicules de rentrée atmosphérique de nouvelle génération en Europe, et notre société, qui a conçu et construit l’IXV, est aujourd’hui la référence européenne dans ce secteur. Thales Alenia Space proposera de nouveau son expertise au sein du prochain programme européen PRIDE, approuvé lors de la Conférence Ministérielle en décembre 2014, marquant ainsi une étape significative dans la compréhension des technologies validées pour les systèmes de réentrée atmosphérique. »

Ce programme PRIDE (Program for Reusable In-orbit Demonstrator in Europe) devrait donner naissance à un successeur au IXV, un drone spatial très proche de l’actuel XB-47B américain, c’est à dire un drone spatial capable de déployer de capteurs, éventuellement intervenir sur un satellite en orbite et de se poser sur une piste traditionnelle pour être réutilisée.

La dernière conférence ministérielle de l’agence spatiale européenne qui avait officiellement lancé le programme Ariane 6 avait vu la France, la Grande-Bretagne, la Suède et l’Espagne soutenir la construction du successeur d’IXV et entériner le programme PRIDE. L’Europe, à l’heure des coupes budgétaires, parviendra-t-elle à mener ces deux projets de front ?

Sources :

« ESA experimental spaceplane completes research flight », Communiqué ESA

« IXV mission timeline », Communiqué ESA

« L’Europa dice sì al lanciatore Ariane 6 e guarda a Marte », Repubblica, 2 décembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.