eSafe: when a robot takes the place of the pilot

the small twin-engine comes off of a small Austrian airport when suddenly the driver fainted. He let go of the handle, the airplane starts to switch on the wing. More doubt is possible, the plane is crashing. Suddenly, the handle comes alive, the wings return to the horizontal, a screen comes alive. A new flight plan is trying to emerge from the nearest airport. After a few minutes of fully autonomous flight, the landing gear and flaps are lowered, the aircraft is aligned in the axis of the track and arises by itself, without any external intervention. This flight is real: it took place on August 26, 2015.

an emergency system without human intervention

This device called eSafe could well equip one day all aircraft certified by EASA (European certification body) in class C23, i.e. single-engine aircraft, the twin-engine as Diamond D42 as at 26 August test.
7 automatic landings were made during the 3 days of testing. This system uses control type “Fly-by-Wire” systems used in modern devices. eSafe already controlled calculators, these devices will be able to benefit from this steering robotic emergency. The current system is activated in support of the emergency button, but one can imagine that it is coupled to a system of detection of vigilance cameras someday. The cost of the device will be about $ 80,000 to $ 100,000 for an aircraft such as the Diamond D42. For the moment, it is not envisaged to install such equipment on airliners.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources:

“This Plane Flies Itself to an Airport and Lands in an Emergency”, Wired, February 10, 2016

‘ Fly – by – Wire EASA CS23 – Major Step Accomplished / AutoLand Diamond DA42 successful! “, press release Aviotech, September 23, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique. Bookmark the permalink.

eSafe: quand un robot prend la place du pilote

Le petit bimoteur vient de décoller d’un petit aéroport autrichien quand soudain le pilote s’évanouit. Il lâche le manche, l’avion commence à basculer sur l’aile. Aucun doute n’est possible, l’avion va se crasher. Tout à coup, le manche s’anime, les ailes reviennent à l’horizontale, un écran s’anime. Un nouveau plan de vol est en train de se dessiner vers l’aéroport le plus proche. Après quelques minutes de vol totalement autonome, le train d’atterrissage et les volets s’abaissent, l’avion s’aligne dans l’axe de la piste et se pose de lui-même, sans aucune intervention extérieure. Ce vol est bien réel : il a eu lieu le 26 août 2015.

Un système de pilotage de secours sans intervention humaine

Ce dispositif baptisé eSafe pourrait bien équiper un jour tous les avions certifiée par l’EASA (organisme européen de certification)  dans la classe C23, c’est à dire les avions monomoteur, les bimoteurs comme le Diamond D42 comme lors du test du 26 août.
7 atterrissages automatiques ont été réalisés lors des 3 jours de test. Ce système exploite les systèmes de contrôle type « Fly-by-Wire » qui équipent les appareils moderne. Déjà pilotés via des calculateurs, ces appareils vont pouvoir bénéficier de ce pilotage robotisé en cas d’urgence. eSafeLe système actuel se déclenche à l’appui d’un bouton d’urgence, mais on peut imaginer qu’il soit un jour couplé à un système de détection de vigilance par caméras. Le coût du dispositif sera de l’ordre de 80.000 $ à 100.000 $ pour un avion comme le Diamond D42. Pour l’instant, il n’est pas envisagé d’installer un tel équipement sur les avions de ligne.

Sources :

« This Plane Flies Itself to an Airport and Lands in an Emergency », Wired, 10 février 2016

« Fly-by-Wire EASA CS23 – Major Step Accomplished / AutoLand Diamond DA42 successful!« , communiqué de presse Aviotech, 23 septembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique. Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.