Europe bet on cobotics for its aeronautical industry

ValeriAviation is a far less robotic than the automotive sector. The large size equipment, and the limited series produced in limited the impact of Robotics in a few specific tasks. Nevertheless, in its trade with the Americans, Europe and any struggle particularly Airbus should increase further production to not leave filer commands at rival Boeing. Robotics or more precisely cobotique, these robots to work with humans, is one of the studied solutions. VALERI research project is designed to validate the concept in the workshops of Airbus and its subcontractors. The cobots should invade the workshops in October 2015.

A research project conducted by the Germany

The omniRob, the updated cobot developed the project of VALERI. It has 12 degrees of freedom synchronized.

The omniRob, the updated cobot developed the project of VALERI. It has 12 degrees of freedom synchronized.

Named VALERI for Validation of Advanced, Collaborative Robotics for Industrial Applications, research on the cobots in aeronautics program is led by the Fraunhofer Institute. Funded to the tune of 3.6 million euros by the European Union involves two manufacturers Airbus DS and its supplier ranking 1 FACC AG, as well as IDPSA, Prodintec Robotics experts, Profactor GmbH as well as the manufacturer of KUKA robots. The latter have developed omniRob, a mobile robot on 12 axes. A robotic arm capable of moving in the Assembly workshop of a plane and able to stand high to intervene on the massive fuselage of an A380, for example.

One problem: the coexistence of the robots with workers

The first application in the workshops of Airbus studied in this project will be the installation of coating on the joints. The robot must be able to move only in the Assembly hall to accomplish its task. It must therefore detect humans and react accordingly in order not to hurt. It must therefore begin to implement the first law of Asimov, it means do not injure a human being. The omniRob is therefore equipped with detectors to locate humans around him, but also a ‘skin’ artificial. This is what enables the robot to detect contact and stop if it comes to reach an operator.

The publication of the results of this experiment are expected by June 2015.

Sources :
“Robots lending a helping hand to build Airbus planes”, EU press release, August 20, 2014
“Mobile Robots Support Airplane Manufacturers”, Fraunhofer press release, April 1st, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique, Robotique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’Europe mise sur la cobotique pour son aéronautique

ValeriL’aéronautique est un secteur bien moins robotisé que le secteur automobile. La grande taille des appareils et le nombre limité des séries produites à limité l’impact de la robotique à quelques tâches précise. Néanmoins, dans sa lutte commerciale avec les américains, l’Europe et tout particulièrement Airbus doit accroître ses cadences de production pour ne pas laisser filer des commandes chez son rival Boeing. La robotique ou plus précisément la cobotique, ces robots capables de travailler avec les humains, est l’une des solutions étudiées. Le projet de recherche VALERI a pour but de valider le concept dans les ateliers d’Airbus et de ses sous-traitants. Les cobots devraient envahir les ateliers en octobre 2015.

Un projet de recherche mené par l’Allemagne

Mobile robots support airplane manufacturers

L’omniRob, le cobot mis au point dans le cadre du projet VALERI. Il dispose de 12 degrés de liberté synchronisé.

Baptisé VALERI pour Validation of Advanced, Collaborative Robotics for Industrial Applications, le programme de recherche sur les cobots dans l’aéronautique est mené par le Fraunhofer Institute. Financé à hauteur de 3,6 millions d’euros par l’Union Européenne elle implique deux industriels Airbus DS et son fournisseur de rang 1 FACC AG, ainsi que des experts de la robotique IDPSA, Prodintec, Profactor GmbH ainsi que le constructeur de robots KUKA. Ces derniers ont mis au point omniRob, un robot mobile sur 12 axes. Un bras robot capable de se déplacer dans l’atelier de montage d’un avion et capable de se placer en hauteur pour intervenir sur l’imposant fuselage d’un A380, par exemple.

Un problème à régler : la cohabitation du robots avec les ouvriers

La première application dans les ateliers d’Airbus étudié dans ce projet sera la pose d’enduit sur les joints. Le robot devra être capable de se déplacer seul dans le hall de montage pour aller accomplir sa tâche. Il devra donc détecter les humains et réagir en conséquence afin de ne pas les blesser. Il faut donc commencer à implémenter la première loi d’Asimov, c’est à dire ne pas blesser un être humain. L’omniRob est donc doté de détecteurs pour repérer les humains autour de lui, mais aussi d’une « peau » artificielle. C’est elle qui permet au robot de détecter tout contact et de s’immobiliser s’il vient à toucher un opérateur.

La publication des résultats de cette expérimentation sont attendus pour juin 2015.

Sources :
« Robots lending a helping hand to build Airbus planes », Communiqué Union Européenne, 20 août 2014
« Mobile Robots Support Airplane Manufacturers », Communiqué Fraunhofer, 1er avril 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.