Europe delays its eCall emergency call button to 2018

Bouton Appel SOS PeugeotThe red button of eCall emergency call will eventually not be mandatory on any vehicle marketed on European territory, as it was originally planned in the calendar of the commission.
This “SOS” button that is coupled with a system that automatically contacts emergency accident will be ultimately required from me April 2018. A new report that the technology is developed for several years.

Europe hardly impose has its automakers call for emergency call button. However, this coupled with a SIM card that is embedded in the vehicle, allows to trigger the call for a relief driver centre or automatically to the triggering of the airbag for example. With GPS coordinates of the vehicle, relief can then be dispatched more quickly than it is the case currently. The technology is there and the OnStar American, created by General Motors, EDS and Hughes in 1995 offers a service of this type since 1996. In 2010, the American already had 5 million subscribers. In France, PSA would have crossed the bar of a million systems sold for several years under the name Touch Citroën and Connect SOS at Peugeot. The European commission studies estimate that 2,500 lives that could be saved in Europe by this type of system each year. The 3 years of additional period granted to manufacturers will be a heavy price to pay on the roads of the continent.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“eCall in all new cars from April 2018”, European Commission press release, April 28, 2015

“European Parliament delays eCall…again”, Automotive World, September 8, 2014

“Position Paper: eCall”, ETSC, September 30, 2013

“The Rise of OnStar : Some 7.9 million subscribers will be using the service by 2017”, IHS Study, March 7, 2011

“European eCall Trial”, NXP Release, January 26, 2010

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, M2M and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’Europe repousse le bouton d’appel d’urgence eCall à 2018

Bouton Appel SOS PeugeotLe bouton rouge d’appel d’urgence eCall ne sera finalement pas obligatoire sur tout véhicule commercialisé sur le territoire européen, comme il était initialement prévu dans le calendrier de la commission.

Ce bouton « SOS » couplé à un système qui contacte automatiquement les secours en cas d’accident ne sera finalement obligatoire qu’à partir du moi d’avril 2018. Un nouveau report alors que la technologie est au point depuis plusieurs années.

L’Europe peine a imposer a ses constructeurs automobiles le bouton d’appel d’appel d’urgence. Pourtant, celui-ci, couplé à une carte SIM embarquée dans le véhicule, permet de déclencher l’appel à un centre de secours par le conducteur ou automatiquement, au déclenchement de l’airbag par exemple. Avec les coordonnées GPS du véhicule, les secours peuvent alors être dépêchés sur place bien plus rapidement que c’est le cas actuellement.  La technologie est là et l’américain OnStar, créé par General Motors, EDS et Hughes en 1995 offre un service de ce type depuis 1996. En 2010, l’américain comptait déjà 5 millions d’abonnés. En France, PSA aurait franchit la barre du million de systèmes vendus depuis plusieurs années sous le nom de Touch chez Citroën et de Connect SOS chez Peugeot. Les études de la commission européenne estiment à 2.500 vies qui pourraient être sauvées en Europe par ce type de système chaque année. Les 3 années de délai supplémentaire accordés aux constructeurs auront un lourd prix à payer sur les routes du continent.
Sources :

« eCall in all new cars from April 2018 », Communiqué de la Commission Européenne, 28 avril 2015

« European Parliament delays eCall…again », Automotive World, 8 septembre 2014

« Position Paper: eCall », ETSC, 30 septembre 2013

« The Rise of OnStar : Some 7.9 million subscribers will be using the service by 2017 », Etude IHS, 7 mars 2011

« European eCall Trial », Communiqué NXP, 26 janvier 2010

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, M2M, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.