F-35 fighter flown by thought, real information or… brainwashing?

F35-simulatorAll aviation fans know “Firefox, the ultimate weapon”, this film of the 1980s where Clint Eastwood fled Soviet at the controls of the Firefox. This Hunter Soviet trendy, yet unmatched performance today inter alia… thought-controlled weapons system that we know think Russian. Pure fiction produced in cold war, but the neural interface of fictional Mig – 31 could well be a reality someday. Jan Scheuermann, a quadriplegic equipped with neural implant, recently wanted to try to pilot aircraft Simulator. Although not being a pilot, she was able to take control of a small single-engine Cessna, but also those of all new F-35 fighter.

After the robotic arm, Jan Scheuermann tries flight simulators

Fighter pilots should one day be asking a brain implant at the school of the air before taking command of the future fighter aircraft? This may be the price to pay to not be replaced by a drone… In any case, DARPA is interested in technology and actively with the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab is testing this type of interface. Paralyzed four Member, Jan Scheuermann was equipped with an implant on the brain a few years ago. Via these electrodes, the quadriplegic was able to take control of a robotic arm. Now, it is Flight Simulator it tackled, with some success.

A thought-driven F - 35? This is not for right away.

A thought-driven F – 35? This is not for right away.

A success according to the press, but a very relative success when one looks at the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab images disseminated by the Washington Post indeed relativise the experience. Jan Scheuermann did not command a true Simulator of F – 35. The images are more reminiscent of a general public Simulator set to a level of weak realism. As images of flight, it found that the accuracy of the control is very coarse. It is hard to imagine can thus control real equipment, particularly at the landing. As to land a plane any on an aircraft carrier, this seems impossible mission. Significant progress must still be made before force fighter pilots to put a connector on the brain. Paradoxically, the results obtained by the PhyPA of the University of Berlin and its BrainFlight project team, uses only a much less invasive EEG headset, are more impressive than the operation of comm. of the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “A paralyzed woman flew an F-35 fighter jet in a simulator — using only her mind”, The Washington Post, March 3, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Un chasseur F-35 piloté par la pensée, info ou intox ?

F35-simulatorTous les fanas d’aviation connaissent « Firefox, l’arme absolue », ce film des années 80 où Clint Eastwood s’enfuyait d’URSS aux commandes du Firefox. Ce chasseur soviétique dernier cri, aux performances encore inégalée aujourd’hui disposait notamment d’un système d’armes commandé par la pensée… pour peu que l’on sache penser russe. Une pure fiction produite en pleine guerre froide, mais l’interface neurale de Mig-31 fictif pourrait bien être une réalité un jour. Jan Scheuermann, une tétraplégique équipée d’implant neural, a récemment voulu essayer de piloter des avions en simulateur. Bien que n’étant pas pilote, elle a pu prendre les commande d’un petit monomoteur Cessna, mais aussi celles du tout nouveau chasseur F-35.

Après le bras robotique, Jan Scheuermann s’attaque aux simulateurs de vol

Les pilotes de chasse se devront-ils un jour se faire poser un implant cérébral à l’école de l’air avant de prendre les commandes des avions de chasse du futur ? Ce sera peut-être le prix à payer pour ne pas être remplacé par un drone… En tout cas, la DARPA s’intéresse à la technologie et teste activement avec le Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab ce type d’interface. Paralysée des quatre membre, Jan Scheuermann a été équipée d’un implant sur le cerveau voici quelques années. Via ces électrodes, cette tétraplégique a pu prendre le contrôle d’un bras robotique. Désormais, c’est au pilotage sur simulateur qu’elle s’est attaqué, avec un certain succès.

Un F-35 piloté par la pensée ?  Ce n'est pas pour tout de suite.

Un F-35 piloté par la pensée ? Ce n’est pas pour tout de suite.

Un succès selon la presse, mais un succès très relatif lorsqu’on regarde les images du Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab  diffusées par le Washington Post relativisent en effet l’expérience. Jan Scheuermann n’a pas pris les commande d’un véritable simulateur de F-35. Les images font plutôt penser à un simulateur grand public réglé à un niveau de réalisme assez faible. Quant aux images du vol, on constater que la précision du contrôle est très grossière. On imagine mal pouvoir contrôler ainsi un vrai appareil, notamment à l’atterrissage. Quant à apponter un avion quelconque sur un porte-avion, cela semble mission impossible. Des progrès significatifs doivent encore être réalisé avant d’obliger les pilotes de chasse à se faire poser un connecteur sur le cerveau. Paradoxalement, les résultats obtenus par l’équipe PhyPA de l’Université de Berlin et son projet BrainFlight, qui n’utilise qu’un casque EEG bien moins invasif, sont plus impressionnants que l’opération de comm. du Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab.

Source : « A paralyzed woman flew an F-35 fighter jet in a simulator — using only her mind », The Washington Post, 3 mars 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.