Facebook make his Deep Learning algorithm read books

Library from the 80/90 artificial intelligence researchers have been interested in the natural language understanding by machines. Research that has led to semantic representations elaborate but the results, particularly in the context of machine translation is far from perfect. Faced with this particularly difficult problem, Web giants put on another approach, the Deep Learning. Rather than trying to create algorithms seeking to understand the subtleties of human languages, with the Deep Learning, machinery understand for themselves the language by reading books.

When the Deep Learning learns to read

In a post on Facebook, Zuckerberg raised the question of how we could learn to teach AI to read “Alice in Wonderland”. In his speech, he introduced the work of researchers from Facebook AI Research. They have “read” books to Deep Learning algorithm to prepare for a test frequently used in primary schools, the missing word in a text. This allows you to check a child to understand the text submitted to it by raising a word that can be a verb, a noun, a proper noun. Charge it, depending on the context and meaning, to find the missing words.

Deep Learning algorithm Facebook faces the" the Children's Book Test

Deep Learning algorithm Facebook faces the” the Children’s Book Test

To prepare their algorithm to “The Children’s Book Test”, the researchers read 98 books in their algorithm, then confronted it with various texts. While it is easy for the algorithm to find adverbs and verbs, it is much more complex for common and proper nouns. The researchers found that the quality of the predictions varied depending on the number of words in the text submitted; They theorized the phenomenon of “ Goldilocks Principle .” To deliver the right answer, you have too much or too little text for the algorithm finds the right answer.

Maybe one day this Deep Learning algorithm will fit on M, AI digital assistance which may be embedded in future versions of Messenger.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources:

“Can we teach AI to read Alice in Wonderland? “ Bill, Mark Zuckerberg of Facebook, February 18, 2016

“The Goldilocks Principle: Reading Children’s Books with Explicit Memory Representations” , Cornell University Library, November 7, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Intelligence artificiellle and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Facebook fait lire des livres à son algorithme de Deep Learning

LibraryDès les années 80/90 les chercheurs en intelligence artificielles se sont intéressés à la compréhension du langage naturel par les machines. Des recherches qui ont engendré des représentations sémantiques très élaborées mais dont les résultats, notamment dans le cadre de la traduction automatique, sont loin d’être parfaits. Face à ce problème particulièrement complexe, les géants du Web misent sur une autre approche, le Deep Learning. Plutôt que d’essayer de créer des algorithmes cherchant à comprendre toutes les subtilités des langages humains, avec le Deep Learning, les machines comprennent d’elles mêmes le langage en lisant des livres.

Quand le Deep Learning apprend à lire

Dans un post sur Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg posait la question sur la façon dont on pouvait apprendre à une IA à lire « Alice au pays des merveilles ». Dans son intervention, il introduit les travaux des chercheurs de Facebook AI Research. Ceux-ci ont fait « lire » des ouvrages à un algorithme de Deep Learning afin de le préparer à un test fréquemment utilisé dans les écoles primaires, le mot manquant dans un texte. Celui-ci permet de vérifier qu’un enfant à bien compris le texte qui lui est soumis en en levant un mot qui peut être un verbe, un nom commun, un nom propre. Charge à lui, en fonction du contexte et du sens, de retrouver les mots manquants.

Facebook-Goldilocks-Principle

L’algorithme de Deep Learning de Facebook confronté au « The Children’s Book Test »

Pour préparer leur algorithme au « The Children’s Book Test », les chercheurs ont fait lire 98 livres à leur algorithme, puis confronté celui-ci à divers textes. S’il est aisé pour l’algorithme de retrouver les adverbes et des verbes, c’est beaucoup plus complexe pour les nom commun et les noms propres. Les chercheurs ont constaté que la qualité des prédictions variait en fonction du nombre de mots du texte soumis; Ils ont théorisé ce phénomène du « Goldilocks Principle« . Pour délivrer la bonne réponse, il faut ni trop ni trop peu de texte pour l’algorithme trouve la bonne réponse.

Peut-être qu’un jour cet algorithme de Deep Learning trouvera sa place sur  M, l’IA assistance numérique qui pourra être embarquée dans les version futures de Messenger.

Sources :

« Can we teach AI to read Alice in Wonderland? », Billet de Mark Zuckerberg sur Facebook, 18 février 2016

« The Goldilocks Principle: Reading Children’s Books with Explicit Memory Representations », Cornell University Library, 7 novembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Intelligence artificielle, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.