Facebook also interested in robotics?

Mark Zuckerberg FacebookIt is a job offer published on LinkedIn which has aroused the attention of the American media a few days ago. Facebook is seeking a robotics engineer to work in its “Strategic Engineering and Development” team based in Menlo Park, California headquarters.
Engineering degree in Pocket, the candidate must have over 10 years experience in automatic industrial electrical systems in vehicles and robots. It must control the architecture of robots and their components, knowledge of ROS is a plus. The company of Mark Zuckerberg once again in the footsteps of Google, investing in the Robotics market, that is which was surprising.

No, Facebook will not follow Google in this way… for now

StorageTek storage silo (Photo: Hannes Grobe)

StorageTek storage silo (Photo: Hannes Grobe)

The reality is, however, less sensational. Most likely, the ROBOTICIST sought by Facebook will not work on a humanoid or quadruped robot like Google/Boston Dynamics productions. He will have floor on the automation of data centers of the social network, especially on the automation of these electrical equipment… Much less sexy, it is certain. Facebook had already published an announcement of this type in last August and the post had already been filled. Perhaps the first candidate had seen his dreams of engineer somewhat cooled by this job.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :
“Facebook gets into the robot game — and data centers could be involved”, VentureBeat, February 4, 2015

Annonce d’emploi Facebook “Electrical Engineer- Robotics”, LinkedIn, February 4, 2015

Annonce d’emploi Facebook “Electrical Engineer- Robotics”, SimplyHired, August 18, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Facebook s’intéresse-t-il aussi à la robotique ?

Mark Zuckerberg FacebookC’est une annonce d’emploi publiée sur LinkedIn qui a éveillé l’attention des médias américain voici quelques jours. Facebook est à la recherche d’un ingénieur en robotique pour travailler dans son équipe « Strategic Engineering and Development » basée à Menlo Park, son siège californien.

Diplôme d’ingénieur en poche, le candidat doit avoir plus de 10 ans d’expérience dans les systèmes électriques d’automatique indusrielle, dans les véhicules et les robots. Il doit bien maîtriser l’architecture des robots et leurs composants, la connaissance de ROS est un plus. L’entreprise de Mark Zuckerberg une nouvelle fois sur les traces de Google, investissant dans le marché de la robotique, voilà qui a de quoi surprendre.

Non, Facebook ne va pas suivre Google dans cette voie… pour l’instant

Un silo de stockage StorageTek (Photo: Hannes Grobe)

Un silo de stockage StorageTek (Photo: Hannes Grobe)

La réalité est néanmoins moins sensationnelle. Le roboticien recherché par Facebook ne va très probablement pas travailler sur un robot humanoïdes ou quadrupèdes à la manière des productions de Google/Boston Dynamics. Il va devoir plancher sur l’automatisation des datacenters du réseau social, plus particulièrement sur la robotisation de ces équipements électriques… Nettement moins sexy, c’est certain. Facebook avait déjà publié une annonce de ce type en août dernier et le poste avait déjà été pourvu. Peut-être que le premier candidat avait vu ses rêves d’ingénieur quelque peu refroidis par ce poste.

Source : « Facebook gets into the robot game — and data centers could be involved », VentureBeat, 4 février 2015

Annonce d’emploi Facebook « Electrical Engineer- Robotics », LinkedIn, 4 février 2015

Annonce d’emploi Facebook « Electrical Engineer- Robotics », SimplyHired, 18 août 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.