Researchers use FIFA to convert TV broadcasts to 3D

Fifa-14-(2)What virtual reality glasses and 3D displays 3D content? In addition to video games, little content are available for display in true immersive 3D, IE where the user may freely choose his point of view in 3D scenes.

In addressing the issue, researchers from MIT and of Qatar Computing Research Institute (QCRI) have developed a novel technique to rebroadcast a football game in 3D from images of classic cameras. The solution proposed by the researchers is surprising: FIFA 13 video game !

FIFA 13 3D engine to generate the scenes of the game

Convert an event filmed in 2D in a 3D scene poses a number of technical problems and the resulting quality is flawed. To overcome the many Visual flaws that afflict these converted scenes, Qatari and American researchers offer a radically different approach. They use the famous FIFA 13 of Electronics Arts game to generate the 3D scenes from the video stream of the match. Their logic is unstoppable. Such a game part of the 3D scene to generate the 2D image that is displayed on the screen depending on the angle of view chosen by the player. Why not do the reverse and use the 3D engine of the game to mimic more closely the 2D scene and thus to get all of the 3D scene.
If the basic principle of their algorithm is simple to State, is more complex. Using the game engine, they have generated tens of thousands of game phases that are stored on a server. At each generated 2D view is stored the corresponding 3D scene. During the broadcast of the match, each image the algorithm seeks in its database nearest 2D image that generated with FIFA 13 and thus obtain a 3D scene is displayed on the virtual reality goggles or the 3D of the viewer screen.

A picture of retransmission of football match converted via the algorithm of MIT and the Qatar Computing Research Institute (QCRI)

A picture of retransmission of football match converted via the algorithm of MIT and the Qatar Computing Research Institute (QCRI).


With a relatively powerful server (a machine that has six processors Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650, with 8 cores 2 GHz, 264 GB RAM and 86 GB Cache), the processing of an image called for 1/3 of a second. Multiple images can be converted in parallel but, for reasons of buffering, researchers estimate that only a period of one to two seconds will be required to convert to 3D video stream live.

The result was free from all the usual artifacts in this type of 2D/3D conversion. The assessments made by onlookers witnesses felt the result between good and excellent. Imagine that this algorithm could be exploited for various sports broadcasts other than football like basketball, baseball or formula 1, the constraint being that it should have a realistic enough to dispose of the 3D modeling 3D game related.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “System automatically converts 2D video to 3D”, Science Daily, November 4, 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in 3D and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Des chercheurs utilisent FIFA pour convertir en 3D les retransmissions TV

Fifa-14-(2)Quels contenus 3D pour les lunettes de réalité virtuelle et les écrans 3D ? Outre les jeux vidéos, bien peu de contenus sont disponibles pour un affichage en vraie 3D immersive, c’est à dire dans lesquelles l’utilisateur pourra librement choisir son point de vue dans les scènes 3D.

Face à cette question, les chercheurs du MIT et du Qatar Computing Research Institute (QCRI) ont imaginé une technique originale pour retransmettre un match de football en 3D à partir des images de caméras classiques. La solution proposée par les chercheurs est inédite: FIFA 13.

Le moteur 3D de FIFA 13 permet de générer les scènes du match

Convertir un événement filmé en 2D en une scène 3D pose un certain nombre de problèmes techniques et la qualité obtenue est imparfaite. Pour palier les nombreux défauts visuels qui affligent ces scènes converties, les chercheurs qataris et américains proposent une approche radicalement différente. Ceux-ci utilisent le célèbre jeu FIFA 13 d’Electronics Arts pour générer les scènes 3D à partir du flux vidéo du match. Leur logique est imparable. Un tel jeu part de la scène 3D pour générer l’image 2D qui est affichée sur l’écran en fonction de l’angle de vue choisi par le joueur. Pourquoi ne pas faire l’inverse et utiliser le moteur 3D du jeu pour imiter au plus près la scène 2D et ainsi obtenir l’ensemble de la scène en 3D.
Si le principe de base de leur algorithme est simple à énoncer, la réalisation est plus complexe. Utilisant le moteur du jeu, ceux-ci ont généré des dizaines de milliers de phases de jeu qui sont stockée sur un serveur. A chaque vue 2D générée est stockée la scène 3D correspondante. Lors de la diffusion du match, a chaque image l’algorithme cherche dans sa base de donnée l’image 2D la plus proche de celle générée avec FIFA 13 et ainsi obtenir une scène 3D a afficher sur les lunettes de réalité virtuelles ou l’écran 3D du spectateur.

Une image de retransmission de match de foot convertie via l'algorithme du MIT et du QCRI.

Une image de retransmission de match de foot convertie via l’algorithme du MIT et du QCRI.

Avec un serveur relativement puissant (une machine qui dispose de six processeurs Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 , avec 8 coeurs à 2 GHz, 264 Go de RAM et 86 Go Cache), le traitement d’une image demandait 1/3 de seconde. Plusieurs images peuvent être converties en parallèle mais, pour des raison de buffering, les chercheurs estiment qu’un délai d’une à deux secondes seulement sera nécessaire pour convertir en 3D le flux vidéo en direct.

Le résultat obtenu était exempt de tous les artefacts habituels dans ce type de conversion 2D/3D. Les évaluations réalisées par des spectateurs témoins ont jugé le résultat entre bon et excellent. On imagine que cet algorithme pourrait être exploité pour diverses retransmissions sportives autre que le football telle que le basket, le baseball ou encore la Formule 1, la contrainte étant qu’il faut disposer d’un jeu 3D suffisamment réaliste pour disposer des modélisations 3D correspondantes.

Source : « System automatically converts 2D video to 3D », Science Daily, 4 novembre 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.