Can Henrik Fisker outdate the Lithium-Ion battery?

With the promise of an autonomy of more than 800 km for a charge time of about one minute, with its long-awaited EMotion, Fisker wants to make Tesla and its “old” Lithium-Ion batteries more expensive. To achieve this, the startup must make a good lead on the key element in the autonomy of an electric vehicle and like any other consumer electronic gadget, its battery.
Henrik Fisker, but also Honda, BMW and Samsung, among others, rely on solid-state batteries to demodulate lithium-ion with a technology that will double the energy capacity of batteries.

The promise of energy density x 2.5

With more than 300 kg of batteries in a Tesla Model 3 and an energy density of 150 Wh/kg, the lithium-ion battery seems to reach its limits, both in the means of transport and on objects as common as our smartphones. The increase in the weight and size of the batteries will not be able to continue for a long time, which means that we can hardly hope for an improvement in the yield margin of these Li-Ion batteries and therefore we have to move on. NanoFlowcell offers an original solution with an electric car that literally fills up electricity with electrolyte carrying liquids. Others are working on graphene batteries, but in the shorter term, solid-state batteries have been the most common manufacturers in recent weeks. BMW, Honda made such announcements in December and Fisker may well be the first to market a new generation car based on this technology.
With the LMP (Lithium Metal Polymer) battery, the French Bolloré has shown the way, since it is this solid-state battery that has been equipping the Bluecar with the Parisian Autolib’ car-sharing service since December 2011. These cars travelled 160 million kilometres without battery lights making headlines as Tesla Model S did when they were launched. Bolloré announces a life expectancy of around 400,000 km, well above the Lithium-Ion batteries, even if the measurements made on the Tesla Model S after 80,000 km and 160,000 km are rather reassuring with 5% and 8% capacity reduction respectively.

Does Dr. Fabio Albano have the key?

For the time being, the solid-state battery still has to prove its real assets in the automobile, because if researchers estimate that it can rise to 800 or even 1,000 Wh/kg, Bolloré with 30kWh for 300 kg, its LMP batteries are still far from this density. Fisker builds on Dr. Fabio Albano’s work on solid state batteries. He was co-founder of Staki, a company specializing in these new generation batteries which was purchased by Dyson in 2015. Today, the researcher is Vice President of Battery Systems at Fisker Inc. and it is now up to him to keep Henrik Fisker’s promises with an energy density multiplied by 2.5 and a recharge time of around one minute, performances that could well make motorists’ last reluctance to go electric.

Sources:

“Battery That Charges in One Minute Could Beat Tesla in the Race for Tomorrow’s Clean Car”, Futurism, 11 January 2018

“Will we soon be able to charge electric cars in just a minute?”The Irish Times, January 10,2018

“Honda hops on solid-state battery bandwagon”, CNet, 21 December 2017

“BMW teams up with Solid Power to develop solid-state batteries for cars”, TechCrunch, 18 December 2017

“Tesla’s batteries have reached their limit – here’s how they could go further”, TheConversation, 6 September 2016

“Toyota long-range plans, fast-charging electric cars, paper says”, Automotive News Europe, 25 July 2017

“Tesla: batteries are finally worn out very little”, GNT, 8 June 2016

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Henrik Fisker va-t-il ringardiser la batterie Lithium-Ion ?

Avec la promesse d’une autonomie de plus de 800 km pour un temps de charge de l’ordre d’une minute, avec sa très attendue EMotion, Fisker veut ringardiser Tesla et ses « vieilles » batteries Lithium-Ion. Pour y parvenir, la startup doit réaliser un bond en avant sur l’élément clé dans l’autonome d’un véhicule électrique et comme pour tout autre gadget électronique grand public, sa batterie.
Henrik Fisker, mais aussi Honda, BMW et Samsung, entre autres, misent sur la batterie à état solide pour démoder le lithium-ion avec une technologie qui permettra de doubler la capacité énergétique des batteries.

La promesse d’une densité énergétique multipliée par 2,5

Avec plus de 300 kg de batteries dans une Tesla Model 3 et une densité énergétique de l’ordre de 150 Wh/kg, la batterie lithium-ion semble atteindre ses limites, tant dans les moyens de transport que sur des objets aussi communs que nos smartphones. L’accroissement du poids et de la taille des batteries ne pourra continuer encore longtemps, ce qui veut dire qu’on ne peut guère espérer qu’une amélioration à la marge du rendement de ces batteries Li-Ion et donc il faut passer à autre chose. NanoFlowcell propose une solution originale avec une voiture électrique qui peut littéralement faire le plein d’électricité au moyen de liquides porteurs d’électrolytes. D’autres travaillent sur les batteries au graphène, mais, à plus court terme, ce sont les batteries à état solide qui rallient le plus de constructeurs ces dernières semaines. BMW, Honda ont fait des annonces en ce sens en décembre et Fisker pourrait bien être le premier à commercialiser une voiture de nouvelle génération basée sur cette technologie.
Avec la batterie LMP (Lithium Métal Polymère), le français Bolloré a montré la voie puisque c’est cette batterie à état solide qui équipe les Bluecar du service d’auto-partage parisien Autolib’ depuis décembre 2011. Ces voitures ont parcouru 160 millions de kilomètres sans que des feux de batteries n’aient fait la une des journaux comme cela fut le cas des Tesla Model S à leur lancement. Bolloré annonce une durée de vie est de l’ordre de 400 000 km, bien supérieure aux batteries Lithium-Ion, même si les mesures réalisées sur les Tesla Model S au bout de 80.000 km et 160.000 km sont plutôt rassurantes avec respectivement 5% et 8% de baisse de capacité.

Le Dr Fabio Albano détient-il la clé ?

Pour l’heure, la batterie à état solide doit encore prouver ses réels atouts dans l’automobile, car si les chercheur estime pouvoir monter jusqu’à 800 voire 1.000 Wh/kg, Bolloré avec 30 kWh pour 300 Kg, ses batteries LMP sont encore loin de cette densité. Fisker s’appuie sur les travaux du Dr Fabio Albano sur les batteries à état solide. Celui-ci était le co-fondateur de Staki, une société spécialisée dans ces batteries de nouvelle génération qui a été achetée par Dyson en 2015. Le chercheur est aujourd’hui vice-président des systèmes de batteries de Fisker Inc et c’est désormais à lui de tenir les promesses d’Henrik Fisker avec une densité énergétique multipliée par 2,5 et un temps de recharge de l’ordre de la minute, des performances qui pourraient bien faire sauter les dernières réticences des automobiliste à aller vers l’électrique.

Sources :

« Battery That Charges in One Minute Could Beat Tesla in the Race for Tomorrow’s Clean Car », Futurism, 11 janvier 2018

« Will we soon be able to charge electric cars in just a minute? », The Irish Times, 10 janvier 2018

« Honda hops on solid-state battery bandwagon », CNet, 21 décembre 2017

« BMW teams up with Solid Power to develop solid-state batteries for cars », TechCrunch, 18 décembre 2017

« Tesla’s batteries have reached their limit – here’s how they could go further », TheConversation, 6 septembre 2016

« Toyota plans long-range, fast-charging electric cars, paper says », Automotive News Europe, 25 juillet 2017

« Tesla : les batteries s’usent finalement très peu », GNT, 8 juin 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.