Swiss’ Flyability wins the first “Drones for Good” award

GimballImagine a disaster like Fukushima, with collapsed buildings, high voltage shore lines, from the rubble of any shares. The drone is the ideal tool for mapping the disaster, check if there are any survivors before risking the life of a rescue team. A difficult environment which a drone in many unlikely to come back around. Loss of control by the operator, fume, indoorrecognition, nothing brings fear to Gimball, the drone which Swiss researchers of Flyability, a drone “unbreakable”, which just received the grand prix “Drones for Good” awarded for the first time by the United Arab Emirates are working.

Gimball, a drone who’s not afraid to go to the contact

The adventure continues for Flyability, the spinoff of the EPFL, the Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne. Patrick Thévoz, its founder has received from the hands of the prince Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum a cheque for $ 1 million for this project. It is the winner of the first ‘UAE Drones for Good Awards’, an initiative of the United Arab Emirates to distinguish the best projects of unmanned aerial vehicles related to humanitarian, ecological. Flyability wins international award $ 1 million while the price reserved for national projects returned to ‘Wadi Drones’ project which aims to identify fauna and the flora of the desert.

A few days after having negotiated a new round of financing, Flyable will be able to complete the development of the Gimball and its commercialization through the price of 1 million dollars handed over by the United Arab Emirates.

The idea of the Gimball is disarmingly simple: rather than to barder a drone of sensors and a big computing power to try to avoid obstacles despite a difficult environment, including darkness, smoke, why not let it hit the walls…
The Gimball is actually surrounded by a sphere GEODESIC semi rigid, wholly comparable to a toy item. As a beetle which struck a wall without much damage before continuing its flight in another direction, the Gilmbal may encounter obstacles without crashing and longer to continue its path. Beyond the idea, knowledge make developed at EPFL and operated successfully by Flyability, it is that the drone is not attached to this protective ball, but has two axes of rotations that allow it to always stay vertical and therefore be able to continue its flight without falling. Even dropped in the middle of a forest, the drone can hold its course, even if it strikes multiple trunk tree in path. Icing on the cake, you can even let the drone in a crowd without fear that it doesn’t hurt anyone. An approach which is still valid for drones of a very limited weight.
A new success for the Swiss start-up that collected the award in 2014. Rest to the startup developing indoor geolocation capabilities of its UAV, including give it the ability to return to its starting point.

Source :

‘UAE Drones for Good Award’ Announces Winner of US$1 Million International Prize”, Press release, February 7, 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Le suisse Flyability remporte le prix « Drones for Good »

GimballImaginez une catastrophe type Fukushima, avec des bâtiments effondrés, des lignes à haute tension à terre, des décombres de toute parts. Le drone est l’outil idéal pour cartographier la catastrophe, vérifier s’il y a des survivants avant d’aller risquer la vie d’une équipe de sauvetage. Un environnement difficile duquel un drone volant à bien peu de chances de revenir entier. Perte de contrôle par l’opérateur, fumées, reconnaissance indoor, rien ne fait peur au Gimball, le drone sur lequel travaillent les chercheurs suisses de Flyability, un drone « incassable » qui vient de recevoir le grand prix « Drones for Good » décerné pour la toute première fois par les Émirats arabes unis.

Gimball, un drone qui n’a pas peur d’aller au contact

L’aventure continue pour Flyability, la spinoff de l’EPFL, l’École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne. Patrick Thévoz, son fondateur vient de recevoir des mains du prince Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum un chèque de 1 million de dollars pour mener à bien ce projet. C’est le grand vainqueur des premiers ‘UAE Drones for Good Awards’, une initiative des Emirats pour distinguer les meilleurs projets de drones liés à l’humanitaire, à l’écologie. Flyability gagne le million de dollars du prix international tandis que le prix réservé aux projets nationaux est revenu au projet ‘Wadi Drones’ qui vise à répertorier la faune et la flore du désert.

Quelques jours après avoir négocié un nouveau tour de financement, Flyable va pouvoir mener à bien la mise au point du Gimball et sa commercialisation grâce au prix de 1 million de dollars remis par les Emirats.

L’idée du Gimball est désarmante de simplicité : plutôt que de barder un drone de capteurs et d’une grosse puissance de calcul pour tenter d’éviter des obstacles en dépit d’un environnement difficile, notamment l’obscurité, la fumée, pourquoi ne pas le laisser percuter les murs…
Le Gimball est en fait entouré d’une sphère géodésique semi rigide, en tout point comparable à un jouet. Comme un coléoptère qui percute un mur sans trop de dommages avant de poursuivre son vol dans une autre direction, le Gilmbal peut se heurter aux obstacles sans se briser et peut les longer afin de poursuivre son chemin. Au delà de l’idée, le savoir faire développé à l’EPFL et exploité avec succès par Flyability, c’est que le drone n’est pas fixé à cette boule protectrice, mais dispose de deux axes de rotations qui lui permettent de toujours rester à la verticale et donc pouvoir continuer son vol sans chuter. Même lâché au milieu d’une foret, le drone peut tenir son cap, même s’il heurte de multiples tronc d’arbre en chemin. Cerise sur le gateau, on peut même lâcher le drone au milieu d’une foule sans peur qu’il ne blesse quelqu’un. Une approche qui reste toutefois valide que pour des drones d’un poids très limité.
Un nouveau succès pour la start-up helvète qui a collectionné les prix en 2014. Reste à la startup a développer les capacités de géolocalisation indoor de son drone, notamment lui donner la capacité de revenir à son point de départ.

Source :

« ‘UAE Drones for Good Award’ Announces Winner of US$1 Million International Prize », Communiqué de presse, 7 février 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.