Ford tests V2V communications on German roads

Ford V2XThe American manufacturer has just started its tests of communication between vehicles Car-to-Car on the roads of Germany. This is a first step in an experiment that involves many manufacturers and automotive suppliers (mainly Germans). This program is called simTD for Safe Intelligent Mobility – Testfield Germany. A fleet of 120 cars equipped with means of communication-to-coach but also Car-to-infrastructure mingle now traffic on German motorways and roads in the region of Aachen. 20 of these vehicles are the Ford S-Max: they will validate a number of scenarios to improve the safety of motorists.

Europe and United States are testing the V2V and V2I

One of 20 Ford S-max involved in the simTD program. Source: Ford.

Initiated in 2008, the program simTD is intended to validate the main scenarios of communication between vehicles and between vehicles and infrastructures of the car of tomorrow. Interest of this research program, it takes place on open roads. A series of roads, highways and streets of Frankfurt were travelled by vehicles equipped with communication equipment. 120 cars exactly, including the Ford S – Max objects from the Ford press release 20. Among other manufacturers involved in simTD, Audi, BMW, Daimler, Open and Volkswagen, in short all German manufacturers are working on this of V2V and V2I communications. The use cases have been created with researchers from the Fraunhofer knowing that OEMs Bosch and Continental are also involved.
The United States also follow this line of research. The University of Michigan has launched a vast experiment in Ann Arbor, not far from Detroit. Rather that let cars test on roads, Americans have chosen to equip 3,000 vehicles of individuals with communication equipements.de. The Department of Transportation (U.S. Transportation Department) provides 80% of the 25 M$ investment for this project.

The communicating car, a well-worn subject

The 8 cars of experimentation PATH in platoon tight on a California Highway. It was in 1997.

The 8 cars of experimentation PATH in platoon tight on a California Highway. It was in 1997.

These efforts will soon lead to reliable systems truly enhancing security? It is still far from the ideal world where all cars will be equipped, where especially infrastructure will warn motorists of the State of the floor, accident or simply that the fire will turn to red. It must be remembered that the research PATH in Berkeley, team was rolling 8 cars into platoons tight as early as 1997. Certainly electronics meet fully the chests of imposing 8 Buick LeSabre, but 8 connecting cars were able to demonstrate their ability to move automatically on a reserved track of me motorway I-15 near San Diego. Since then, onboard electronics has considerably progressed, but if I think some OEMs, the cost to make connecting the current road infrastructure makes this type of well illusory project, when to have a significant number of adjoining cars in nature to make the system efficient, water will have flowed under the bridge. The (transient?) solution currently adopted by OEMs, they are devices that use existing infrastructure with reading of the panels, anti-collision radar, followed by white lines to improve the safety of the vehicle.

Translation : Bing Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Logiciel embarqué and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Ford teste les communications V2V sur les routes allemandes

Ford V2XLe constructeur américain vient d’annoncer avoir commencé ses tests de communication entre véhicules Car-to-Car sur les routes d’Allemagne. Il s’agit d’une première étape d’une expérimentation qui implique de nombreux constructeurs et équipementiers automobiles (essentiellement allemands). Ce programme a été baptisé simTD pour Safe Intelligent Mobility – Testfield Germany. Une flotte de 120 voitures équipées de moyens de communication Car-to-Car, mais aussi Car-to-infrastructure se mêlent désormais à la circulation sur les routes et autoroutes allemandes dans la région d’Aachen. 20 de ces véhicules sont des Ford S-Max : ils vont valider un certain nombre de scénarios visant à améliorer la sécurité des automobilistes.

Europe et Etats-Unis testent le V2V et V2I

Une des 20 Ford S-Max impliquée dans le programme simTD. Source: Ford.

Initié en 2008, le programme simTD vise à valider les principaux scénarios de communication entre véhicules et entre véhicules et infrastructures de la voiture de demain. Intérêt de ce programme de recherche, il se déroule sur routes ouvertes. Une série de routes, autoroutes et rues de Frankfort sont parcourues par des véhicules équipés d’équipement de communication. 120 voitures exactement, dont les 20 Ford S-Max objets du communiqué Ford. Parmi autres les constructeurs impliqués dans simTD, Audi, BMW, Daimler, Open et Volkswagen, bref tous les constructeurs allemands travaillent sur ce sujet des communications V2V et V2I. Les cas d’usage ont été créé avec les chercheurs du Fraunhofer sachant que les équipementiers Bosch et Continental sont aussi impliqués.
Les Etats-Unis suivent aussi cette piste de recherche. L’Université du Michigan a lancé une vaste expérimentation à Ann Arbor, non loin de Detroit. Plutôt que de lâcher des voitures test sur les routes, les américains ont choisi d’équiper 3.000 véhicules de particuliers des équipements.de communication. Le Department of Transportation (Ministère des transports américain) assure 80% des 25M$ d’investissement de ce projet.

La voiture communicante, un véritable serpent de mer

Les 8 voitures de l'expérimentation PATH en peloton serré sur une autoroute californienne. C'était en 1997.

Les 8 voitures de l’expérimentation PATH en peloton serré sur une autoroute californienne. C’était en 1997.

Ces efforts aboutiront-ils prochainement à des systèmes fiables améliorant véritablement la sécurité ? On encore est bien loin du monde idéal où toutes les voitures seront équipées, où surtout les infrastructures vont avertir les automobilistes de l’état de la chaussé, d’un accident ou tout simplement que le feu va passer au rouge. Il faut se souvenir que l’équipe de recherche PATH de Berkeley, faisait rouler 8 voitures en pelotons serré dès 1997. Certes l’électronique remplissait intégralement le coffres des 8 imposantes Buick LeSabre, mais les 8 voitures communicantes ont pu démontrer leur capacité à se déplacer de manière automatique sur une voie réservé de l’autoroute I-15, près de San Diego. Depuis, l’électronique embarqué a nettement progressée, mais, si j’en crois certains équipementiers, le coût pour rendre communicantes les infrastructures routières actuelle rend ce type de projet bien illusoire, quand à avoir un nombre significatif de voitures communicantes dans la nature pour rendre le système efficace, de l’eau aura coulé sous les ponts. La solution (transitoire ?) actuellement retenue par les équipementiers, ce sont des dispositifs qui utilisent les infrastructures actuelles avec lecture des panneaux, radar anticollision, suivi de lignes blanches pour améliorer la sécurité du véhicule.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Logiciel embarqué, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.