Is formula E the future of F1?

Formule-ESeptember 13, 2014 v compete for the first leg of a new motor racing championship, the Formula E. It differs from other automotive categories in this that he opposed drivers of cars on electric. While formula one has adopted hybrid engine this year alone, the formula E got completely rid of fossil fuels and will thus be able to leave its 10 teams and 20 drivers compete in city centres. London, Bueno Aires, Miami, Berlin and Beijing for the first round are some of the 10 races of this first season of formula E. Will it replace formula 1?

The same car for all teams

Car20gallery_6Halfway between the American Indycar and formula 1 European, formula E will have difficulty to seduce F1 purists. Unlike the F1, 10 teams will have the same car. They will therefore not tens of millions of dollars spend to optimize the aerodynamics of their cars, not to mention the astronomical sums swallowed up by engine manufacturers. As well as electric propulsion makes a closer Tie Fighter than a race car. Worse, the available power, 200 kW, or 270 HP seems very modest to the 800 HP of the modern F1 and more than 1,000 cv of F1 Turbo of the 1980s. However, the formula E has what seduce the public.

A real “reboot” of formula 1

Car20gallery_13On the one hand, the Formula E is in tune with the time. The cars do not pollute, it is giving them the downtowns of major cities. On the other hand, Formula 1 is falling apart under its own weight. Unable to control its costs, it has become unaffordable for many advertisers and apart from the big teams such as Ferrari, Mercedes and Red Bull Racing, half of the stables of the shelf lose vast sums. The investment devoted to aerodynamic research and mechanical devices which have absolutely no impact on road vehicles. The car, delivered by Spark Racing Technology and Renault has a carbon chassis produced by Italian Dallara (well known for providing a large number of championship the Indycar, the GP2, the World Series 3.5 and Super Japanese Formula). Battery has been developed by Williams Advanced Engineering, subsidiary technology from the stables of formula 1 Williams.

10 teams, 19 drivers… for now

_L5R5933

Nicolas Prost will argue the formula E World Championship at the wheel of a Renault/e.Dams.

For the first season, the formula E has attracted 10 teams including e.Dams Renault, Audi Sport ABT, Virgin Racing, Venturi, Andretti, China Racing. They have hired a nice skewer of drivers, which many have already gone through the F1 box. Jarno Trulli, Fernando Alonso crew a few years ago, has created its own team. It will take the wheel of one of his cars, alongside Michela Cerruti, a female pilot. More than sixty years of history, never a woman was unable to start in an F1 race. Among the drivers from F1 which will run in formula E, Jaime Alguersuari, an ex-Toro Rosso, will drive for Virgin Racing, Nick Heidfeld and Stéphane Sarrazin signed with Venturi, Karun Chandhok and Bruno Senna will drive for the Indian Mahindra Racing team, Jérôme D’Ambrosio at Dragon Racing, Nelson Piquet in China Racing, Luca di Grassi at Audi Sport ABT. Finally, Franck Montagny won a tub at Andretti Formula E. only the second tub of the American team is still to be filled. As for the French team e.Dams/Renault, it has also placed a F1 driver in one of its cars, Sébastien Buemi. His second pilot will be Nicolas Prost, the son of the quadruple champion of the world of F1. Appointment on 13 September in Beijing for the first race of this Championship like no other.

Translation : Bing Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

La Formule E est-elle l’avenir de la F1 ?

Formule-ELe 13 septembre 2014 v se disputer la première manche d’un nouveau championnat de course automobile, la Formula E. Celui-ci diffère des autres catégories automobile en cela qu’il oppose des pilotes sur des monoplaces électriques.

Alors que la Formule 1 a adopté le moteur hybride cette année seulement, la Formule E s’est totalement débarrassé des énergies fossiles et va ainsi pouvoir laisser ses  10 teams et 20 pilotes s’affronter dans les centres villes. Londres, Bueno Aires, Miami, Berlin et Beijing pour la première manche sont quelques unes des 10 courses de cette toute première saison de Formule E. Va-t-elle ringardiser la Formule 1 ?

Une voiture unique pour toutes les équipes

Car20gallery_6A mi-chemin entre l’Indycar américaine et la Formule 1 européenne, la Formule E aura du mal à séduire les puristes de Formule 1. A l’inverse de la F1, les 10 écuries disposeront de la même voiture. Celles-ci ne dépenseront donc pas des dizaines de millions de dollars pour optimiser l’aérodynamisme de leur voiture, sans compter les sommes astronomiques englouties par les motoristes.  De même que la propulsion électrique fait un bruit plus proche du Tie Fighter que celui d’une voiture de course. Pire, la puissance maximale disponible de 200 kW (soit 270 cv) paraît bien modeste au regard des 800 cv des F1 modernes et plus de 1.000 cv des F1 Turbo des années 80. Pourtant, la Formule E a quelques atouts pour séduire le grand public.

Un véritable « reboot » de la Formule 1

Car20gallery_13D’une part, la Formule E est en phase avec l’époque. Les monoplaces ne polluent pas, c’est ce qui leur donnera au centres-villes des grandes capitales. D’autre part, la Formule 1 est en train de s’effondrer sous son propre poids. Incapable de contrôler ses coûts, celle-ci est devenue inabordable pour beaucoup d’annonceurs et hormis les grandes équipes comme Ferrari, Mercedes et Red Bull Racing, la moitié des écuries du plateau perdent des sommes colossales. Des investissement consacré à des recherches aérodynamiques et à des dispositifs mécaniques qui n’ont absolument aucun impact sur les véhicules de route. La monoplace, livrée par Spark Racing Technology et Renault dispose d’un châssis carbone produit par l’italien Dallara (bien connu pour fournir un grand nombre de championnat dont l’Indycar, la GP2, les World Series 3.5 et Super Formula japonaise). La batterie a été mise au point par Williams Advanced Engineering, filiale technologie de l’écurie de Formule 1 Williams.

10 écuries, 19 pilotes… pour l’instant

_L5R5933

Nicolas Prost va disputer le championnat du monde de Formule E au volant d’une e.Dams/Renault.

Pour la toute première saison, la Formule E a séduit 10 écuries dont e.Dams Renault, Audi Sport ABT, Virgin Racing, Venturi, Andretti, China Racing. Celles-ci ont engagé une belle brochette de pilotes, dont beaucoup sont déjà passés par la case F1. Ainsi Jarno Trulli, équipier de Fernando Alonso il y a quelques années, a créé sa propre équipe. Il prendra le volant de l’une de ses monoplaces, aux côtés de Michela Cerruti, une femme pilote. En plus de soixante ans d’histoire, jamais une femme n’a pu prendre le départ d’une course de F1. Parmi les pilotes venus de la F1 qui vont courir en Formule E, Jaime Alguersuari, un ex-Toro Rosso, pilotera chez Virgin Racing, Nick Heidfeld et Stéphane Sarrazin ont signé avec Venturi, Karun Chandhok et Bruno Senna vont piloter pour l’équipe indienne Mahindra Racing, Jerome d’Ambrosio chez Dragon Racing, Nelson Piquet chez China Racing, Luca di Grassi chez Audi Sport ABT. Enfin, Franck Montagny a décroché un baquet chez Andretti Formula E. Seul le deuxième baquet de l’équipe américaine reste encore à pourvoir. Quant à l’équipe française e.Dams/Renault, elle a elle-aussi placé un pilote de F1 dans une de ses voitures, Sébastien Buemi. Son second pilote sera Nicolas Prost, le fils du quadruple champion du monde de F1.
Rendez-vous le 13 septembre à Bejing pour la première manche de ce championnat pas comme les autres.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.