Forster+Partners designs the first “Droneport” for Rwanda

DroneportThe prestigious firm of architects Forst + Partners participates in the project of Redline Partners to install “Droneport” in Africa to refuel villages isolated drug and deliver the mail. The project is carried out with Afrotech and the Federal Polytechnic School of Lausanne (EPFL). A first droneport must be constructed in 2016 in Rwanda and design of 2 types of UAVs are being designed to provide transportation.

Drones to re-supply the isolated villages of Rwanda

Redline Blueline drones.

The Redline and Blueline drones designed for Africa.

The objective is to save the 450,000 sick from malaria who die each year in Africa lack blood transfusion. Same result for 100,000 sickle cell patients who die from this disease of blood each year. Be able to deliver pockets of blood at the request by drone in these isolated villages could have enormous implications for public health in countries where communication infrastructures are failing. Two types of drones are investigated in this project. The first, the Redline will be the first to fly. Able to carry 10 kg over 50 km, it will carry up to 20 bags of blood. A bigger model, the Blueline, will have a double major, of the order of 6 m. this flying wing may remove a hundred kilograms, either 200 blood bags and carry them up to 100 km.

More than just Droneport, cut construction technique for Africa

For the Droneport, prestigious architectural firm responsible for including the new Reichstag or the Kuwait City Airport imagined a building kit, designed by locally available raw materials. A structure of wood and clay bricks pressed by a machine directly on the site, the idea of the architect is to “do more with less”.

Forster+Partners has designed a droneport built in wood and locally-made materials.

Forster+Partners has designed a droneport built in wood and locally-made materials.

The idea is also to learn these techniques of construction to local businesses. The design is modular and will be able to adapt to the arrival of larger sizes drone later. In addition, it may serve as post office for loaded drones mail and clinic to ensure the distribution of medicines.

The pilot project which will be launched in 2016 in Rwanda a country will be key to the continuation of the programme. The results that will be observed will say whether the deployment of a network of drones across Africa is possible or completely utopian. Rwanda, the “country of a thousand hills” is a challenge to the implementation of a system of automatic delivery by drones. As a first step, 3 Droneports shall be constructed in Rwanda by 2020, but it stands in a quarantine across the country before extending the initiative to neighbouring countries.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Proposals for Droneport Project Launched to Save Lives And Build Economies”, Communiqué de presse Forter+Partners, 16 septembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Forster+Partners conçoit le premier « Droneport » pour le Rwanda

DroneportLe prestigieux cabinet d’architectes Forst+Partners participe au projet de Redline Partners  d’installer des « Droneport » en Afrique afin de ravitailler les villages isolés en médicaments et livrer le courrier.  Le projet est mené avec Afrotech et l’École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL). Un premier droneport doit être construit en 2016 au Rwanda et la conception de 2 types de drones sont en cours de conception pour assurer le transport.

Des drones pour ravitailler les villages isolés du Rwanda

Les drones Redline et Blueline conçus pour l'Afrique.

Les drones Redline et Blueline conçus pour l’Afrique.

L’objectif est de sauver les 450.000 malades de la malaria qui meurent chaque année en Afrique faute de transfusion sanguine. Même conséquence pour les 100.000 malades de drépanocytose qui meurent de cette maladie du sang chaque année. Pouvoir livrer des poches de sang à la demande par drone dans ces villages isolés pourrait avoir d’énormes conséquences pour la santé publique dans les pays où les infrastructures de communication sont défaillantes. Deux types de drones sont à l’étude dans le cadre de ce projet. Le premier, le Redline sera le premier à voler. Capable d’emporter une dizaine de kg sur 50 km, il transportera jusqu’à une vingtaine de poches de sang. Un modèle plus imposant, le Blueline, aura une envergure double, de l’ordre de 6 m. Cette aile volante pourra enlever une centaine de kilogrammes, soit 200 poches de sang et les transporter jusqu’à 100 km de distance.

Plus qu’un simple Droneport, une technique de construction taillée pour l’Afrique

Pour le Droneport, le prestigieux cabinet d’architecte à qui l’on doit notamment le nouveau Reichstag ou l’aéroport de Kuwait City a imaginé un bâtiment en kit, conçu en matériaux bruts disponibles sur place. Une structure de bois et des briques d’argile pressées par une machine directement sur le chantier, l’idée de l’architecte est de « faire plus avec moins ».

Forster+Partners a conçu un Droneport construit en bois et matériaux fabriqués localement.

Forster+Partners a conçu un Droneport construit en bois et matériaux fabriqués localement.

L’idée, c’est aussi d’apprendre ces techniques de construction aux entreprises locales. Le design est modulaire et pourra s’adapter à l’arrivée de drone de plus grandes tailles par la suite. En outre, celui-ci pourra faire office de bureau de poste pour les drones chargés du courrier et de clinique pour assurer la distribution des médicaments.

Le projet pilote qui va être initié en 2016 au Rwanda un pays sera clé pour la suite du programme. Les résultats qui seront observés diront si le déploiement d’un réseau de drones à l’échelle de l’Afrique est possible ou complètement utopique. Le Rwanda, le « pays des mille collines » est un défit à la mise en place d’un système de livraison automatique par drones. Dans un premier temps, 3 Droneports doivent être construits au Rwanda d’ici 2020, mais il en est prévu une quarantaine dans tout le pays avant d’étendre l’initiative aux pays voisins.

Source : « Proposals for Droneport Project Launched to Save Lives And Build Economies », Communiqué de presse Forter+Partners, 16 septembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.