Robots will do 70% of the work in Foxconn factories by 3 years

Foxconn factoryOn the occasion of the celebrations of the Chinese new year, Terry Gou, CEO of the industrial giant Hon Hai Precision Industry Company Ltd., aka Foxconn, gave an interview to the Chinese TV. Here for almost 4 years, the CEO, whose company employs 1.3 million workers, had announced to want to deploy 1 million robots in its factories. A goal unattainable, but with the installation of 30,000 new robots every year, the automation of the factory of the world of continues at a breakneck pace.

Foxconn continues the automation of its factories with very ambitious goals

Strongly criticised on the working conditions of the workers of its Chinese factories and after a series of suicides, Terry Gou announced his willingness to replace them with robots in 2011.

Terry Gou, PDG de Foxconn

Terry Gou, Foxconn CEO, gives as a aims to achieve 70% of the work in its factories by robots by 2018 (Source: udn tv).

1 million robots that were to be deployed in just 3 years. A request that all manufacturers in the world could not satisfy. Whatever, the CEO was going to build it even its robots, the «foxbots. four years later, it is far from the account. «Foxconn installs 30,000 robots each year in its factories, which is already colossal, but the “foxbots’ n ‘ have not overwhelmed the world market, seem to not even quite powerful for assembling iPhones. It cannot be improvised Roboticist in so little time.
If the emblematic figure of the robot million now seems forgotten, Terry Gou holds its course. In the interview which has granted to the Chinese chain UDN TV, CEO of Foxxcon explained that its Chengdu plant was already automated and operated 24 hours a day. He delivered his new goal: 70% of the work in its factories will have to be ensured by robots within the next 3 years.
Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Foxconn expects robots to take over more factory work”, ITWorld, February 27, 2015

“The iPhone 6’s Battery Will Be Built By ‘Foxbot’ Robots In China”, Business Insider, July 7, 2014

“Foxconn to rely more on robots; could use 1 million in 3 years”, Reuters, August 1st, 2011

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

70% des usines de Foxconn seront robotisées d’ici 3 ans

Foxconn factoryA l’occasion des célébrations du nouvel an chinois, Terry Gou, le PDG du géant industriel Hon Hai Precision Industry Company Ltd., alias Foxconn, a donné une interview à la TV chinoise. Voici près de 4 ans, le PDG, dont l’entreprise emploie 1,3 million d’ouvriers, avait annoncé vouloir déployer 1 million de robots dans ses usines. Un objectif inatteignable, mais, avec l’installation de 30.000 nouveaux robots chaque année, la robotisation de l’usine du monde de poursuit à un rythme effréné.

Foxconn poursuit la robotisation de ses usines avec des objectifs très ambitieux

Fortement critiqué sur les conditions de travail des ouvriers de ses usines chinoises et après une série de suicides, Terry Gou annonçait en 2011 sa volonté de les remplacer par des robots.

Terry Gou, PDG de Foxconn

Terry Gou, PDG de Foxconn, se donne comme objectif de faire réaliser 70% du travail dans ses usines par des robots d’ici 2018 (Source: udn tv).

1 million de robots qui devaient être déployés en 3 ans seulement. Un demande que tous les constructeurs au monde ne pouvaient assouvir. Qu’importe, le PDG allait construire lui même ses robots, les « foxbots ». 4 ans plus tard, on est loin du compte. Foxconn installe 30.000 robots chaque année dans ses usines, ce qui est déjà colossal, mais les « foxbots » n »ont pas submergé le marché mondial, ceux-ci ne semblent pas encore assez performants pour assembler les iPhones. On ne s’improvise pas roboticien en si peu de temps.
Si le chiffre emblématique du million de robot semble aujourd’hui oublié, Terry Gou tient le cap. Dans l’interview qui a accordé à la chaîne chinoise UDN TV, le PDG de Foxxcon a expliqué que son usine de Chengdu était déjà automatisée et fonctionnait 24h sur 24. Il a livré son nouvel objectif : 70% du travail dans ses usines devra être assuré par des robots d’ici 3 ans.
Sources :

« Foxconn expects robots to take over more factory work », ITWorld, 27 février 2015

« The iPhone 6’s Battery Will Be Built By ‘Foxbot’ Robots In China », Business Insider, 7 juillet 2014

« Foxconn to rely more on robots; could use 1 million in 3 years », Reuters, 1 août 2011

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.