FVL, the future helicopter of the US Army

JMR-AVX_AircraftIt enters into service in the mid-2030s. The future helicopter of the US army should replace not less than 4 devices present. The device that will be selected will be the successor of devices as diverse as the Black Hawk, Apache, Chinook and the small Kiowa. A serious industrial challenge that could well turn to the sinking if we take the example of the F-35 program. The US Army is looking to reduce risk by adopting a new project management, but also a new way to develop the software of the future helicopter to do everything.

A program that must not repeat the mistakes of the F-35

Launched in the 1990s, the F-35 fighter aircraft program was designed to respond to the expectations of the US Air Force, marine, Navy, Royal Navy. Result, a program that has now reached the $ 400 billion, with a budget of 70% passing. A disaster financial and technical as the aircraft is unable to achieve the performance for which he was commissioned and it still can not enter into service in the State.

The Sikorsky - Boeing SB - 1 Defiant, one of the two candidates still in the FVL program.

The Sikorsky – Boeing SB – 1 Defiant, one of the two candidates still in the FVL program.

With a specification for the less adversarial, the unit to replace the combat helicopter Apache, Black Hawk, Chinook heavy-medium transport helicopter and helicopter reconnaissance Kiowa program Future Vertical Lift (FVL) seems to take the same path. However the U.S. military seeks to not repeat the same mistakes. One of the ideas raised by the experts from the Pentagon would cut the program in multiple mini-easier to manage programs, and especially whose budgets will be easier to negotiate with Congress. Another track, go digging among industrialists of existing parts, and components including civilian aircraft and maximize the number of organs common between the different versions of the FVL. A pitfall to this approach, the ‘Buy America’. EADS has already pulled out of the program because the European would “offer” to the Pentagon its intellectual property on his aircraft in the event of victory.

Standardized hardware and software developed in “Model based” to arrive in time

Direct descendant of the Bell Boeing V-22, the V-280

Direct descendant of the Bell Boeing V-22, the V-280 “Valor” spent the first selection of the FVL program.

Succeed-such U.S. Army to not see bogged down the program as was the case with the F-35, nothing is less certain. Nevertheless, the Pentagon considers to contain costs through parts standardized with respect to software developments, source of extra time without purposes for the F-35, is on the “Model based” developments, so the automatic code generation that the army set to arrive in time.

The FVL program will demonstrate or not, if this approach is the right to deal with the explosion of costs and divergences of major military programs.
Translation : Bing Translator

Source :

“Future Vertical Lift Begins Open Software Quest”, Breaking Defense, November 19, 2014

“Flawed F-35 Fighter Too Big to Kill as Lockheed Hooks 45 States”, Bloomberg, February 22, 2013

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique, Développement, Logiciel embarqué and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

FVL, le futur hélicoptère de l’armée américaine

JMR-AVX_AircraftIl n’entrera en service que dans les années 2030. Le futur hélicoptère de l’armée américaine devrait remplacer pas moins de 4 appareils actuels. L’appareil qui sera sélectionné sera le successeur d’appareils aussi différents que le Black Hawk, l’Apache, le Chinook et le petit Kiowa. Un sérieux défi industriel qui pourrait bien tourner au naufrage si on prend l’exemple du programme du F-35. L’armée américaine  cherche a réduire le risque en adoptant une nouvelle gestion de projet, mais aussi une nouvelle manière de développer le software de ce futur hélicoptère à tout faire.

Un programme qui ne doit pas répéter les erreurs du F-35

Lancé dans les années 90, le programme de l’avion de combat F-35 visait a répondre aux attentes de l’US Air Force, des Marines, de la Navy, de la Royal Navy. Résultat, un programme qui atteint aujourd’hui les 400 milliards de dollars, avec un dépassement de budget de 70%. Un désastre financier et technique puisque l’avion est incapable d’atteindre les performances pour lesquelles il a été commandé et il ne peut toujours pas entrer en service en l’état.

Le Sikorsky-Boeing SB-1 Defiant, l'un des deux candidats encore en lice dans le programme FLV.

Le Sikorsky-Boeing SB-1 Defiant, l’un des deux candidats encore en lice dans le programme FVL.

Avec un cahier des charges pour le moins contradictoire, l’appareil devant remplacer l’hélicoptère de combat Apache, l’hélicoptère de transport moyen Black Hawk, le lourd Chinook et l’hélicoptère de reconnaissance Kiowa, le programme Future Vertical Lift (FVL) semble prendre le même chemin. Cependant l’armée américaine cherche à ne pas refaire les mêmes erreurs. L’une des idées évoquées par les experts du Pentagone serait de découper le programme en de multiples mini-programmes plus faciles à gérer, et surtout dont les budgets seront plus simples à négocier auprès du congrès. Autre piste, aller piocher chez les industriels des composants et pièces existantes, y compris sur les appareils civils et maximiser le nombre d’organes commun entre les différentes versions du FVL. Un écueil à cette approche, le « Buy America ». EADS s’est déjà retiré du programme car l’européen aurait du « offrir » au Pentagone sa propriété intellectuelle sur son appareil en cas de victoire.

Du hardware standardisé et du software développé en « Model based » pour arriver dans les temps

Descendant direct du Bell Boeing V-22, le V-280 "Valor" a passé la première sélection du programme FVL.

Descendant direct du Bell Boeing V-22, le V-280 « Valor » a passé la première sélection du programme FVL.

L’armée américaine parviendra-telle à ne pas voir s’enliser le programme comme ce fut le cas avec le F-35, rien n’est moins sûr. Néanmoins, le Pentagone estime contenir les coûts grâce à des pièces standardisées quant aux développements logiciels, source de délais supplémentaires sans fins pour le F-35, c’est sur les développements « Model based », donc la génération de code automatique que l’armée mise pour arriver dans les temps.

Le programme FVL démontrera, ou pas, si cette approche est la bonne pour faire face à l’explosion des coûts et des dérapages des grands programmes militaires.

Source :

« Future Vertical Lift Begins Open Software Quest », Breaking Defense, 19 novembre 2014

« Flawed F-35 Fighter Too Big to Kill as Lockheed Hooks 45 States », Bloomberg, 22 février 2013

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, Développement, Logiciel embarqué, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.