Are gamers best drone pilots than professional pilots?

The US Air Force lacks pilots. Fewer young people want to enlist and when there is enough pilot, they question the suitability of patrolling pilots who must remain on the ground in front of a forest of screens. Researchers at the University of Liverpool had the idea of confronting professional pilots with gamers and a control group in a few exercises where the pilots of drones were immersed in complex and stressful situations. Can a gaming enthusiast make weight in the face of a patented driver? The study is formal. 

Researchers validate the capabilities of gamers

Ability to do several things at once, a habit of computer interfaces, perfect coordination between the eye and the hand, performance in a stressful situation or ability to concentrate on a goal, video game players have many arguments to put in The balance to apply for a military drone pilot post. However, can these qualities truly compete with that of a true pilot? To make prejudices and preconceived ideas, researchers from the Department of Psychology at the University of Liverpool have devised 21 tests to evaluate the decision-making capacity of 60 candidates placed in command of a drone via a simplified interface. It was not, however, a combat mission simulation, but a simulation of a civilian cargo drone. These 21 tests made it possible to measure the precision, the confidence of the guinea pigs and the quality of their judgment in more or less complex or ambiguous situations.

Photo: Senior Master Sgt. C.R. / US Air Force

Not surprisingly, all test subjects showed greater judgmental ability when the drone was in stand-alone mode and no longer in manual operation. Flight automation lowers the pilot’s workload and effectively paves the way for other training profiles.

Professional drivers and gamers are the ones who have shown the most confidence in their decision-making. Logically, in all three groups, the level of risk and risk directly influences the level of confidence and relevance of decisions made. The more complex the situation becomes, the more doubt the candidates have about the decision to make. Researchers in psychology felt that gamers showed less confidence in these situations, which led them to consider gamers as good candidates for the position of drone pilot.

However, while some air forces, including the RAF, are reluctant to use pilots to conduct their drones in combat, researchers in psychology give their green light. It remains to evaluate the relevance of choosing gamers to carry out real military missions …

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“New research from the University of Liverpool highlights the usefulness of Video Game Players (VGPs) as unmanned aircraft operators.”, ScienceDaily, August 21, 2017

“5 Skills that Make Gamers the Best Drone Pilots”, GotGame, May 15, 2017

“Unmanned aerial systems (UAS) operators’ accuracy and confidence of decisions: Professional pilots or video game players?”, Cogent Psychology, May 9, 2017

“RAF urged to recruit video game players to operate Reaper drones”, The Guardian, December 9, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Les gamers, meilleurs pilotes de drones que les pilotes brevetés ?

L’armée de l’air américaine manque de pilotes. Moins de jeune veulent s’enrôler et lorsqu’il y a suffisamment de pilote, les responsables s’interroge sur la pertinence de breveter des pilotes qui devront rester au sol, devant une forêt d’écrans. Les chercheurs de l’université de Liverpool ont eue l’idée de confronter des pilotes professionnels avec des gamers et un groupe témoin dans quelques exercices où les pilotes de drones ont été plongés dans des situations complexes et stressantes. Un amateur de jeux peut-il faire le poids face à un pilote breveté ? L’étude est formelle. 

Les chercheurs valident les capacités des gamers

Capacité à faire plusieurs choses à la fois, habitude des interfaces informatiques, parfaite coordination entre l’œil et la main, performances en situation de stress ou encore capacité de concentration sur un objectif, les joueurs de jeux vidéo ont de multiples arguments à mettre dans la balance pour postuler à un poste de pilote de drone militaire. Pour autant, ces qualités peuvent-elles réellement rivaliser avec celle d’un véritable pilote ? Pour faire fis des préjugés et idées préconçues, les chercheurs du département de psychologie de l’université de Liverpool ont imaginé 21 tests destiné à évaluer la capacité de décision de 60 candidats mis aux commandes d’un drone via une interface simplifiée. Il ne s’agissait néanmoins pas d’une simulation de mission de combat, mais une simulation de pilotage d’un drone cargo civil. Ces 21 tests ont permis de mesurer la précision, la confiance des cobayes ainsi que qualité de leur jugement dans des situations plus ou moins complexes ou ambiguës.

Photo: Senior Master Sgt. C.R. / US Air Force

Sans surprise, tous les sujets du tests ont montré une plus grande capacité de jugement lorsque le drone était en mode autonome et non plus en pilotage manuel. L’automatisation du vol abaisse la charge de travail du pilote et ouvre effectivement la voie à d’autres profils de formation.

Les pilotes professionnels et les gamers sont ceux qui ont montré le plus de confiance dans leurs prises de décision. Logiquement, dans les trois groupes, le niveau de danger et de risque influe très directement avec le niveau de confiance et de pertinence des décisions prises. Plus la situation devient complexe, plus les candidats ont des doutes quant à la décision à prendre. Les chercheurs en psychologie ont estimé que les gamers ont fait preuve de moins d’excés de confiance dans ces situations, ce qui les poussent à considérer  les gamers comme de bons candidats au poste de pilote de drone.

Pour autant, alors que certaines armées de l’air, dont la RAF, hésitent quant au fait d’utiliser des pilotes pour mener leurs drones au combat, les chercheurs en psychologies donnent leur feu vert. Reste à évaluer la pertinence de choisir des gamers pour mener de véritables missions militaires…
Sources :
« New research from the University of Liverpool highlights the usefulness of Video Game Players (VGPs) as unmanned aircraft operators. », ScienceDaily, 21 août 2017

 

« 5 Skills that Make Gamers the Best Drone Pilots », GotGame, 15 mai 2017

« Unmanned aerial systems (UAS) operators’ accuracy and confidence of decisions: Professional pilots or video game players? », Cogent Psychology, 9 mai 2017

« RAF urged to recruit video game players to operate Reaper drones », The Guardian, 9 décembre 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.