Gartner sounds the end of buzz for the Consumer 3D Printing

3D-Printer-consumerGartner has released its first Hype Cycle for 3D printing. If the curve of adoption of the additive manufacturing shows its adoption by companies for prototyping, the excitement in the public at large is expected to decrease rapidly. It is the phase of disillusionment ‘classic’, one that traverses all technology before its mass adoption. Gartner believes that it will be 5 to 10 years before a massive adoption by the public.

200 3D printer manufacturers today. How many tomorrow ?

They are currently more than 200 startups to develop and, for some, market to market 3D printers “consumer”, that is to say the general public. Despite intense media coverage, sales volumes are still modest and these printers remain expensive, their modest performance for much disappointing. The ecosystem of 3D printing is still too complex with 7 different technologies, multiple suppliers of software and consumables. Buy a 3D printer is more complex than to go to the corner Darty buy a printer inkjet printers to print his CV. It is in any case the opinion of Gartner analysts who believe that technology is poised to make his crossing of the desert, before finally the adoption.
While enterprise 3D printing, 3D scanners are mature, they believe that this consumer market will experience a crossing of the desert from 5 to 10 years. The big day where personal 3D printers will replace plants is perhaps not for right away.

The first “Hype Cycle” Gartner on 3D printing:

Hype Cycle Gartner on the 3D printing, first edition 2014.

HHype Cycle Gartner on the 3D printing, first edition 2014.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Gartner Says Consumer 3D Printing Is More Than Five Years Away”, Gartner press release, August 19, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Gartner sonne la fin de buzz pour l’impression 3D grand-public

3D-Printer-consumerLe Gartner vient de publier sa première Hype Cycle pour l’impression 3D. Si la courbe d’adoption de la fabrication additive montre son adoption par les entreprises pour le prototypage, l’engouement suscité dans le grand public devrait décroître rapidement. C’est la phase de désillusion « classique », celle que traverse toute technologie avant de finalement trouver son marché. Le Gartner estime qu’il faudra attendre de 5 à 10 ans avant une adoption massive par le grand public.

200 constructeurs d’imprimantes 3D grand public aujourd’hui, combien demain ?

Elles sont actuellement plus de 200 startups à développer et, pour certaines, commercialiser des imprimantes 3D pour le marché « consumer », c’est à dire le grand public. En dépit d’une couverture médiatique intense, les volumes de vente sont encore modestes et ces imprimantes restent chères, leurs performances modestes, pour beaucoup décevantes. L’écosystème de l’impression 3D est encore trop complexe avec ses 7 technologies différentes, ses multiples fournisseurs de logiciels et de consommables. Acheter une imprimante 3D est plus complexe que d’aller au Darty du coin acheter une imprimante à jet d’encre pour imprimer son CV. C’est en tout cas l’avis des analystes du Gartner qui considèrent que la technologie s’apprête à effectuer sa traversée du désert, avant de connaître finalement l’adoption.
Alors que l’impression 3D d’entreprise, les scanners 3D entrent en phase de maturité, ils estiment que ce marché grand public va connaître une traversée du désert de 5 à 10 ans. Le grand jour où les imprimantes 3D personnelles remplaceront les usines n’est peut-être pas pour tout de suite.

La première « Hype Cycle » Gartner sur l’impression 3D :

Hype Cycle Gartner sur l'Impression 3D.

Hype Cycle Gartner sur l’Impression 3D, première édition 2014.

Source : « Gartner Says Consumer 3D Printing Is More Than Five Years Away », Communiqué Gartner, 19 août 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.