General Electric made roar its first 3D printed turbojet engine

General-ElectricInspired by a mini reactor model, unveiled by the Additive Development Center of General Electric engine propel never a real plane. It nevertheless marks a step in the industrial history of the American giant. All parts of this mini Turbo was produced by 3D metal printing and the engine is fully functional. Equipped with sensors and connected to a fuel system, the engine was able to turn to the bench. 33,000 rpm, just like the big engines produced by General Electric.

Beyond demonstrations, 3D printing arrives in series engines

It is a little response from General Electric to Amaero Engineering and the french Microturbo/Turbomeca, of Saffron that had unveiled a Jet engine during the Airshow of Avalon subsidiary. GE-mini-réacteurThe franco / Australian unveiled their «turbojet 3D» the first, but GE grid them politeness by turning his first. The simpler it is true, was entirely produced with a 3D metal type Eos M 270 printer. A type MSLD (Direct Metal Laser-Sintering) printer that melts the metal by laser micro to produce, layer after layer the desired room. This printer is capable of producing parts of titanium, Inconel, aluminium. General Electric did not specify what alloys were used for its reactor, but parts were due to be machined, especially polished before be mounted.
Beyond these demonstrations, 3D printing enters the series turbojet. General Electric produces parts in 3D printing for the all new engine LEAP but also to modernize the 400 already produced GE90 engines mounted on the Boeing 777.
The manufacturer hopes to produce 100,000 by 2020 3D printing parts.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“These Engineers 3D Printed a Mini Jet Engine, Then Took it to 33,000 RPM”, GE Reports, May 9, 2015

“GE Begins Retrofitting 400 GE90 Jet Engines With First Ever 3D Printed Component, A Sensor Housing”, 3DPrint.com, April 15, 2015

“GE Shares Additive Manufacturing Success Stories”, AdditiveManufacturing, September 26, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique, Impression 3D and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

General Electric fait rugir son premier turboréacteur entièrement imprimé en 3D

General-Electric

Inspiré par un mini réacteur d’aéromodélisme, le moteur dévoilé par l’Additive Development Center de General Electric ne propulsera jamais un véritable avion. Il marque néanmoins une étape dans l’histoire industrielle du géant américain. Toutes les pièces de ce mini turboréacteur ont été produite par impression 3D métal et le moteur est pleinement fonctionnel. Equipé de capteurs et relié à un circuit de carburant, le moteur a pu tourner au banc. 33.000 tours/minute, tout comme les gros moteurs produits par General Electric.

Au-delà des démonstrations, l’impression 3D arrive dans les moteurs de série

C’est un peu la réponse de General Electric à Amaero Engineering et le français Turbomeca/Microturbo, filiale de Safran qui avait dévoilé un turboréacteur lors du salon aéronautique d’Avalon. GE-mini-réacteurLes franco/australiens ont dévoilé leur « turboréacteur 3D » les premiers, mais GE leur grille la politesse en faisant tourner le sien le premier. Celui-ci, plus simple il est vrai, a été entièrement produit avec une imprimante 3D métal de type Eos M 270. Une imprimante de type DMLS (Direct Metal Laser-Sintering) qui fait fondre des micro-billes de métal par laser pour produire, couche après couche la pièce voulue. Cette imprimante est capable de produire des pièces de titane, d’inconel, d’aluminium. General Electric n’a pas précisé quels alliages ont été utilisés pour son réacteur mais les pièces ont dues être usinées, notamment polies avant d’être montées.

Au-delà de ces démonstrations, l’impression 3D arrive dans les turboréacteur de série. General Electric  produit des pièces en impression 3D pour le tout nouveau moteur LEAP mais aussi pour moderniser les 400 GE90 déjà produits, des moteurs montés sur les Boeing 777.

Le motoriste espère produire 100.000 pièces en impression 3D d’ici 2020.

Sources :

« These Engineers 3D Printed a Mini Jet Engine, Then Took it to 33,000 RPM », GE Reports, 9 mai 2015

« GE Begins Retrofitting 400 GE90 Jet Engines With First Ever 3D Printed Component, A Sensor Housing », 3DPrint.com, 15 avril 2015

« GE Shares Additive Manufacturing Success Stories », AdditiveManufacturing, 26 septembre 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.