Georgia Tech prepares a “Robotarium” with a hundred of programmable robots via the Cloud

GeorgiaTech-RobotariumThe Institute of technology of Georgia, “Georgia Tech, has created a new Robotics Laboratory. A laboratory at the disposal of all American researchers.

It’s a service that will enable them to test their algorithm remotely on the Park’s robots in the laboratory. Just download the remote code, then observe the results in streaming video on the Internet. A hundred of robots and UAVs in the Cloud to accelerate research in robotics.

A laboratory that will accommodate up to 100 robots and drones

Robots in the Cloud to accelerate research, it is the idea of the Robotarium of researchers from Georgia Tech. NSF (National Science Foundation) has awarded $ 2.5 million in order to implement this lab remotely accessible.

Le concept du "Robotarium" a été validé à petite échelle en 2015. Il sera opérationnel à grande échelle en 2017.

The concept of the “Robotarium” has been validated on a small scale in 2015. It will be operational on a large scale in 2017.

This “Robotarium”, as he was baptized by the researchers, will accommodate up to one hundred robots and drones. This unique grouping of robots will enable researchers to experiment operation swarm algorithms, including to develop algorithms that will enable a large number of UAVs to fly in a small space.

It is in 2017 “Robotarium” should be truly operational. A first test of the viability of the concept has already led to the fall of 2015. Students were able to test a few programmable microrobot within a “Mini-Lab” algorithms. For the time being the type of robots and drones that will join the “Robotarium”has not been communicated.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “New Lab to Give Nation’s Researchers Remote Access to Robots”, Communiqué Georgia Tech, January 13, 2016

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Georgia Tech prépare un « Robotarium » avec une centaine de robots programmables via le Cloud

GeorgiaTech-RobotariumL’institut de technologie de Géorgie, « Georgia Tech, vient de créer un nouveau laboratoire de robotique. Un laboratoire à la disposition de tous les chercheurs américains.

Il s’agit d’un service qui va leur permettre permettre de tester leurs algorithmes à distance sur le parc de robots du laboratoire. Il leur suffira de télécharger leur code à distance, puis d’observer les résultats en streaming vidéo sur Internet. Des robots dans le Cloud pour accélérer la recherche en robotique.

Un laboratoire qui pourra accueillir jusqu’à 100 robots et drones

Des robots dans le Cloud pour accélérer la recherche, c’est l’idée du Robotarium des chercheurs de Georgia Tech. La NSF (National Science Foundation) vient d’attribuer 2,5 millions de dollars afin de mettre en place ce laboratoire accessible à distance.

Le concept du "Robotarium" a été validé à petite échelle en 2015. Il sera opérationnel à grande échelle en 2017.

Le concept du « Robotarium » a été validé à petite échelle en 2015. Il sera opérationnel à grande échelle en 2017.

Ce “Robotarium”, comme il a été baptisé par les chercheurs, pourra accueillir jusqu’à une centaine de robots et drones. Ce regroupement de robots unique va notamment permettre aux chercheurs d’expérimenter des algorithmes de fonctionnement en essaim, notamment afin de mettre au point des algorithmes qui permettront à un grand nombre de drones de voler dans un espace restreint.

C’est en 2017 que le « Robotarium » devrait être véritablement opérationnel. Un premier test de la viabilité du concept a déjà été mené à l’automne 2015. Des étudiants ont pu tester les algorithmes sur quelques micro-robots programmables au sein d’un « Mini-Lab ». Pour l’heure le type de robots et de drones qui rejoindront le « Robotarium « n’a pas été communiqué.

Source : « New Lab to Give Nation’s Researchers Remote Access to Robots », Communiqué Georgia Tech, 13 janvier 2016

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.