‘The Physical Web’: Google wants to give a voice to the connected objects

Sans-titre-1In addition to its search engine, Google constantly develops innovative technologies that change our everyday lives and our life of tomorrow. Android, Chrome, Gmail, Google Glass are few. But let us not forget that the core business of the Californian, his almost sole source of income is advertising. With his project Open Source “Physical Web”, Google wants to transform any object into banner advertising.

Any connected object is potentially a banner ad

Physical Web - example

Some scenarios presented by Google in the Physical Web documentation.

Do not forget that most of its projects are designed to increase the number of consumers viewing its advertisements and their exposure to its advertisements throughout their day. This is the reason why Google interested in objects connected such as Wearables with Google Wear or cars with Android Auto. Google has unveiled a new solution, published in Open Source on Github, it “Physical Web”. Completely inspired by iBeacon, Geolocation solution introduced by Apple at the time of the launch of iOS 7, the Google solution is characterized by its simplicity. An object will be able to push a message to your smartphone when you pass nearby. Just like iBeacon, “Physical Web” relies on the Low-Energy Bluetooth and is characterized by the simplicity of its Protocol. The communicating object will be able to send a title, a short text, an icon, and a URL. Nothing more. Products relatively cheap will be able to implement it, and that is the purpose of Google. The example mentioned by Google in the project documents are clearly advertising: the distributor of Pepsi seeking you when you pass nearby, a pizzeria that makes its promo, etc. Google gives a few other tracks such as the bus station which broadcasts the time of arrival of the next bus, the car rental which offers its registration form, etc.

Un beacon Estimote

A beacon by Estimote.

Imagine quickly the nightmare of our lives when all of the objects that surround us may ask so. Google already mentions the possibility of spam generated by this system, and called on the community to deliver his ideas. An idea of future business model for Google which could not let that pass the pub of its paid advertisers? The makers will certainly have more constructive ideas to exploit this technology that remains interesting. Google has already delivered a firmware for RFduino and its Bluetooth BLE113 chip. Hope that they invent unexpected uses of this rather invasive technology in the world of the future that Google imagines. Translation : Bing Translator

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

« The Physical Web » : Google veut donner la parole aux objets connectés

Sans-titre-1Outre son moteur de recherche, Google développe sans cesse des technologies innovantes qui changent notre quotidien et notre vie de demain. Android, Chrome, Gmail, Google Glass sont de celles-là. Mais n’oublions pas que le core business du californien, sa quasi unique source de revenus, c’est la publicité. Avec son projet Open Source « Physical Web », Google veut transformer n’importe quel objet en bannière publicitaire.

Tout objet connecté est potentiellement une bannière publicitaire

Physical Web - example

Quelques scénarios présenté par Google dans la documentation de Physical Web.

Il ne faut pas oublier que l’essentiel de ses projets visent à accroître le nombre de consommateurs qui visualisent ses publicités et leur exposition à ses publicités tout au long de leur journée. C’est la raison pour laquelle Google s’intéressent aux objets connectés tels que les Wearables avec Google Wear ou les voitures avec Android Auto. Google vient de dévoiler une nouvelle solution, publiée en Open Source sur Github, c’est « Physical Web ». Complètement inspirée par iBeacon, la solution de géolocalisation introduite par Apple au moment du lancement d’iOS 7, la solution Google se caractérise par sa simplicité. Un objet va pouvoir pousser vers votre smartphone un message lorsque vous passez à proximité. Tout comme iBeacon, « Physical Web » s’appuie sur le Bluetooth Low-Energy et se caractérise par la simplicité de son protocole. L’objet communicant va pouvoir envoyer un titre, un court texte, une icone et une URL. Rien de plus. Des produits relativement peu chers vont pouvoir l’implémenter et c’est bien là le but de Google. L’exemple évoqué par Google dans les documents du projet sont clairement publicitaire : le distributeur de Pepsi qui vous sollicite lorsque vous passez à proximité, une pizzeria qui fait sa promo, etc. Google donne quelques autres pistes telles que l’arrêt de bus qui diffuse l’heure d’arrivée du prochain bus, la voiture de location qui propose son formulaire d’inscription, etc.

Un beacon Estimote

Un beacon Estimote

On imagine rapidement le cauchemar de notre quotidien lorsque l’ensemble des objets qui nous entourent pourront nous solliciter de la sorte. Google évoque déjà la possibilité de spam engendrée par ce système, et en appelle à la communauté pour lui livrer ses idées. Une idée de business model futur pour Google qui ne pourrait laisser passer que les pub de ses annonceurs payants ? Les makers auront certainement des idées plus constructives pour exploiter cette technologie qui reste intéressante. Google a d’ores et déjà livré un firmware pour RFduino et sa puce Bluetooth BLE113. Espérons qu’ils inventeront des usages inattendus de cette technologie plutôt invasive dans le monde du futur tel que Google l’imagine.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.