When the robots are cooperating in order to learn

deep-reinforcement-learning-for-robotic-manipulationEveryone knows the paradox of the monkey, a few thousands of monkeys, placed in front of a machine to write, eventually type the entire of Hamlet by the force of the accident. The robot, thanks to Machine Learning may also eventually learn how to open a door by dint of trial/error.

For several years, researchers have shown that a robot could learn from itself a simple gesture. However, even a stain also site to open a door by turning a handle, it takes hours, or even days. Google researchers imagined connect multiple robots to power a “collective” intelligence and above all learn faster.

Several robots connceted to learn faster


Sergey Levine, of the Google Brain Team, Timothy Lillicrap of DeepMind, and finally Mrinal Kalakrishnan, robotician experienced at Google have interconnected neural networks of 4 robots have a simple problem: turn a doorknob and open it. As expected, this co-operation between robots led logically to accelerate the learning of the group phase. The researchers did vary the angle of the door, and thus allows the robots to raise the quality of their learning. At the end of the experience, researchers believe that the quality of this learning is higher than that as a single robot could achieve alone.

The researchers then compared their robots has a another trial, that of push various everyday objects arranged on a table in a receptacle. This event is no longer based on the trial and error but screws to highlight the quality of perception of the environment of the robot. There again, cooperation between robots has paid off. Researchers consider the benchmark for image recognition ImageNet with more than 1.5 million images would require several years of apprenticeship for a single robot, although in fact was cooperate more, learning can be achieved in just a few weeks. In addition to speed, learning several to obtain better quality learning. The tasks are still simple, but with the improvement of the algorithm, but also an increase in the number of robots connected to each other, they can develop skills well higher than those they have demonstrated so far.

deep-reinforcement-learning-for-roboti-manipulation-2 

 

Sources :
“How Robots Can Acquire New Skills from Their Shared Experience”, Google Research Blog, October 3, 2016
“Deep Reinforcement Learning for Robotic Manipulation”, Cornell University Library, October 3, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Quand les robots coopèrent afin d’apprendre plus vite

deep-reinforcement-learning-for-robotic-manipulationChacun connait le paradoxe du singe savant, quelques milliers de singes qui, placés face à une machine à écrire, finiront par taper l’intégralité d’Hamlet par la force du hasard. Le robot, grâce au Machine Learning peut lui-aussi finir par apprendre à ouvrir une porte à force d’essais/erreurs.

Depuis plusieurs années, les chercheurs ont démontré qu’un robot pouvait apprendre de lui-même un geste simple. Néanmoins, même une tache aussi site d’ouvrir une porte en tournant une poignée, cela demande des heures, voire des jours. Les chercheurs de Google ont imaginé connecter de multiples  robots pour alimenter une intelligence « collective » et surtout apprendre plus vite.

Plusieurs robots interconnectés pour apprendre ensemble


Sergey Levine, de la Google Brain Team, Timothy Lillicrap de DeepMind, et enfin Mrinal Kalakrishnan, roboticien chevronné chez Google ont interconnecté les réseaux neuronaux de 4 robots confrontés à un problème simple : tourner une poignée de porte et ouvrir celle-ci. Comme prévu, cette coopération entre robots a logiquement permis d’accélèrer la phase d’apprentissage du groupe. Les chercheurs ont fait varier l’angle de la porte, et ainsi permet aux robots d’élever la qualité de leur apprentissage. A la fin de l’expérience, les chercheurs estiment que la qualité de cet apprentissage est supérieure à celui qu’un robot seul aurait pu atteindre seul.

Les chercheurs ont ensuite confronté leurs robots a une autre épreuve, celle de pousser divers objets du quotidien disposés sur une table dans un réceptacle. Cette épreuve n’est plus basée sur l’essai/erreur mais vis à mettre en valeur les qualité de perception de l’environnement du robot. Là encore, la coopération entre robots a porté ses fruits. Les chercheurs considèrent le le benchmark dédié à la reconnaissance d’image ImageNet avec plus de 1,5 million d’images nécessiterait plusieurs années d’apprentissage pour un robot seul, alors qu’en faisait coopérer plusieurs, l’apprentissage peut être réalisé en quelques semaines seulement. Outre la vitesse, cet apprentissage à plusieurs permet d’obtenir un apprentissage de meilleure qualité. Les tâches sont encore simples, mais avec l’amélioration des algorithme mais aussi un accroissement du nombre des robots connectés les uns aux autres, ceux-ci pourront développer des compétences bien plus élevées que celles dont ils ont fait preuve jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

deep-reinforcement-learning-for-roboti-manipulation-2 

 

Sources :
« How Robots Can Acquire New Skills from Their Shared Experience », Google Research Blog, 3 octobre 2016
« Deep Reinforcement Learning for Robotic Manipulation », Cornell University Library, 3 octobre 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.