Gran Turismo 6: why the manufacturers are fighting to be there

Vision-Gran-TurismoIn order to celebrate the 15th anniversary of the series Gran Turismo, Kazunori Yamauchi, creator of the game has launched a challenge to automakers and designers 3D: create GT’s dream for Gran Turismo 6 players. The “Vision Gran Turismo” challenge will allow players to take the wheel of these concepts as virtual. Mazda, Infiniti, Chevrolet, Subaru, Toyota, Aston Martin, Nissan, Volkswagen, Mitsubishi, BMW and Mercedes-Benz are the first manufacturers to have unveiled their achievements. Many others should follow. But what makes these builders to spend for some many resources to create these virtual cars?

The «GT by Citroen» Gran Turismo 5 has shown the way

The

The “GT by Citroen”, created for Gran Turismo 5 was presented on the Mondial de l’Auto 2008.

If you have visited the Mondial de l’Automobile in Paris in 2008, perhaps you remember you fantasy concept car unveiled by PSA at this edition, the “GT by Citroën. Unveiled not quite since this concept car, Gran Turismo 5 players could already fly it for months. Seduced by the line of this car designed by Takumi Yamamoto, Jean-Pierre Ploué, Director of Citroën style decided to build a true copy of the GT. With a real success of the key for the brand image. A marketing limited even mentioned at the time.
6 years later, carmakers are scrambling at the door of Polyphony Digital, studio which develops the game since 1998. Currently Mazda, Infiniti, Chevrolet, Subaru, Toyota, Aston Martin, Nissan, Volkswagen, Mitsubishi, BMW and Mercedes-Benz have unveiled their 3D models, but Audi, Lexus, Peugeot, Mini, Lamborghini, Tesla and Ford are expected. And when we see the means implemented by Mercedes-Benz to create its Mercedes-Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo, we see the importance given by the German giant to this project. Its designer created a model in clay scale 1 of his car in order to optimize its lines, engineers have even worked on the sound of his virtual car. A lot of effort and money spent simply so that the car is selected by the players.

Objective n°1: make Generation Y like automotive

Mercedes-Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo

Mercedes did work the designers of the Mercedes – Benz Advanced Design Studio in Sindelfingen and Carlsbad (exterior design) and C me in Italy (interior design) on his Mercedes – Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo.

If the largest global manufacturers are working their designers and their engineers on its cars that will never report them the lower dollar, is that the stakes are high in terms of image. Both in France that the United States, the car is no longer the symbol of freedom that she may have at one time. In 2008, less than half of young Americans under the age of 19 years have passed their driver’s license, 10 years ago they were still 64.4% to have their permits. A national drama in the country where the automobile is Queen.
In France, the phenomenon is even more marked. The number of driving permits issued fell by 30% between 1980 and 2011. An article published by Slate points out that only 9% of new car buyers were less than 30 years in 2009, the average age of the new car buyer is now superior to… 50 years.
Automakers must therefore absolutely touch the Generation X, Y and Millennials to ensure their sales of tomorrow and the series Gran Turismo is a rather relevant media to achieve this. The pilot of Mercedes – Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo will be envi roll SLK or more modestly in class A, it is the bet of the builders who design virtual cars now hoping to sell the real one day.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Pourquoi les jeunes n’achètent plus de voitures (neuves)?”, Slate, July 15, 2013

“As Young Lose Interest in Cars, G.M. Turns to MTV for Help”, The New York Times, March 23, 2012

 

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in 3D, Automobile and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Gran Turismo 6 : Pourquoi les constructeurs se battent pour y être

Vision-Gran-TurismoAfin de fêter les 15 ans de la série Gran Turismo, Kazunori Yamauchi, le créateur du jeu a lancé un défi aux constructeurs automobiles et designers 3D : créer des GT de rêve pour les joueurs de Gran Turismo 6. Le défi « Vision Gran Turismo » permettra aux joueurs de prendre le volant de ces concepts car virtuels. Mazda, Infiniti, Chevrolet, Subaru, Toyota, Aston Martin, Nissan, Volkswagen, Mitsubishi, BMW et Mercedes-Benz sont les premiers constructeurs à avoir dévoilé leurs réalisations. Beaucoup d’autres devraient suivre. Mais qu’est-ce qui pousse ces constructeurs à consacrer pour certains beaucoup de ressources pour créer ces voitures virtuelle ?

La « GT by Citroën » de Gran Turismo 5 a montré la voie

La "GT by Citroën", créée pour Gran Turismo 5 a été présentée sur le Mondial de l'Auto 2008.

La « GT by Citroën », créée pour Gran Turismo 5 a été présentée sur le Mondial de l’Auto 2008.

Si vous avez visité le Mondial de l’Automobile de Paris en 2008, peut-être vous souvenez vous du fantastique concept car dévoilé par PSA lors de cette édition, la « GT by Citroën ». Dévoilé pas tout à fait puisque ce concept car, les joueurs de Gran Turismo 5 pouvait déjà le piloter depuis des mois. Séduit par la ligne de cette voiture dessinée par Takumi Yamamoto, Jean-Pierre Ploué, directeur du style Citroën a décidé de construire un véritable exemplaire de la GT. Avec un vrai succès d’image à la clé pour la marque. Une commercialisation limitée à même été évoquée à l’époque.

6 ans plus tard, les constructeurs automobiles se bousculent à la porte de Polyphony Digital, le studio qui développe le jeu depuis 1998. Actuellement Mazda, Infiniti, Chevrolet, Subaru, Toyota, Aston Martin, Nissan, Volkswagen, Mitsubishi, BMW et Mercedes-Benz ont dévoilé leurs modèles 3D, mais Audi, Lexus, Peugeot, Mini, Lamborghini, Tesla et Ford sont attendus.  Et quand on voit les moyens  mis en oeuvre par Mercedes-Benz pour créer sa Mercedes-Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo, on voit l’importance accordée par le géant allemand à ce projet. Ses designer ont créé une maquette en glaise à l’échelle 1 de sa voiture afin d’optimiser ses lignes, des ingénieurs ont même travaillé sur la sonorité de son bolide virtuel. Beaucoup d’efforts et d’argent dépensée simplement pour que la voiture soit sélectionnée par les joueurs.

Objectif n°1 : faire aimer l’automobile aux Générations Y

Mercedes-Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo

Mercedes a fait travailler les designers du Mercedes-Benz Advanced Design Studio de Sindelfingen et Carlsbad (design extérieur) et de Côme en Italie (design intérieur) sur sa Mercedes-Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo.

Si les plus grands constructeurs mondiaux font travailler leurs designers et leurs ingénieurs sur ses voitures qui ne leur rapporteront jamais le moindre dollar, c’est que l’enjeu est de taille en termes d’image. Tant en France qu’aux Etats-Unis, la voiture n’est plus le symbole de liberté qu’elle a pu être à une certaine époque. En 2008, moins de la moitié des jeunes américains de moins de 19 ans ont passé leur permis de conduire, 10 ans plus tôt ils étaient encore 64,4% à avoir leur permis. Un drame national au pays où l’automobile est reine.

En France, le phénomène est encore plus marqué. Le nombre de permis de conduire délivré a chuté de 30% entre 1980 et 2011. Un article publié par Slate souligne que seulement 9% des acheteurs de voitures neuves avaient moins de 30 ans en 2009, la moyenne d’âge de l’acheteur de voiture neuve étant désormais supérieure à… 50 ans.

Les constructeurs automobiles doivent donc absolument toucher les Generation X, Y et les Millennials pour assurer leurs ventes de demain et la série Gran Turismo est un média plutôt pertinent pour y parvenir. Le pilote de Mercedes-Benz AMG Vision Gran Turismo aura-t-il envi de rouler en SLK ou plus modestement en Classe A, c’est le pari des constructeurs qui conçoivent désormais des voitures virtuelles en espérant en vendre des vraies un jour.

Sources :

« Pourquoi les jeunes n’achètent plus de voitures (neuves)? », Slate, 15 juillet 2013

« As Young Lose Interest in Cars, G.M. Turns to MTV for Help », The New York Times, 23 mars 2012

 

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans 3D, Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.