Has Chris Roberts really “hacked” the United flight 1474?

UnitedAPTN Canadian Press Agency who has just published a report of the FBI search. Following a Tweet posted by the airline United Airlines, investigators have searched and interviewed Chris Roberts, a hacker suspected of attempting to enter the computer flight UA 1474 of April 15, 2015.
The hacker, founder of One World Labs, admitted completing 15 to 20 intrusions of this kind on Boeing 737, Boeing 757 and Airbus A-320. His front door? The IFE (In Flight Entertainment), that there system even allows you to watch movies during the flight.

The hacker made 15 to 20 intrusions since 2011

Really could Chris Roberts take control of one of the engines of an airliner from its IFE system? The hacker, who wants to reveal the weaknesses of embedded systems, acknowledged that the FBI conducted 15 to 20 intrusion between 2011 and 2014.

Warrant

His weapon, a laptop and an Ethernet cable. Thales-Topseries-AvantTo infiltrate the network of embedded system, Chris Roberts uses WiFi or USB socket of the screens available to passengers. He attack directly to the computer under the seat, the SEB (Seat Electronic Box) to which it is obviously not very complicated to connect via Ethernet cable. Chris Roberts has used Kali Linux software to penetrate the system and what was obviously not very complex to infiltrate the Thales system installed in the Boeing 737/800 of the United 1474 flight… It was configured with the default ID of the system. The FBI agents were able to verify according to the hacker, noting that the SEB under the seat 2A seat front occupied by Chris Roberts during flight UA 1474, was fractured and had obviously been the subject of an intrusion.

Chris Roberts effectively acceded to the flight controls?

Thales-Topseries-Avant
Infiltrate the Wei of an aircraft in flight is condemned by the law, but does not result apart from depriving the other passengers on their film. What Chris Roberts says, it is from this network, it will be able to access the commands of the aircraft’s flight. With his PC, it would be able to order the ‘Thrust Management Computer’ of the airplane mode “CLB” (to Climb). According to the hacker, one of the two reactors would obey this order, which would have placed the aircraft in asymmetric flight. The hacker announced using the Vortex software to take control of air traffic displayed in the cockpit of the aircraft. The FBI investigation has not yet established if the Chris Roberts allegations are true and if the hacker could actually cross the protections that isolate in principle the IFE network and network calculators of the aircraft. The hacker who wanted to draw attention to the lack of security of embedded systems to visibly achieved its goal.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Hacker told F.B.I. he made plane fly sideways after cracking entertainment system”, APTN, May 15, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Chris Roberts a-t-il vraiment « hacké » le vol United 1474 ?

UnitedL’agence de presse canadienne APTN qui vient de publier un rapport de perquisition du FBI. Suite à un Tweet signalé par la compagnie aérienne United Airlines, les enquêteurs ont perquisitionné et interrogé Chris Roberts, un hacker soupçonné d’avoir tenté de s’introduire dans l’ordinateur de bord du vol UA 1474 du 15 avril 2015.

Le hacker, fondateur de One World Labs, a avoué avoir réalisé de 15 à 20 intrusions de ce type sur des Boeing 737, Boeing 757 et Airbus A-320. Sa porte d’entrée ? Le système IFE (In Flight Entertainment), celui là même qui vous permet de regarder des films durant le vol.

De 15 à 20 intrusions réalisées depuis 2011

Chris Roberts a-t-il réellement pu prendre le contrôle de l’un des réacteurs d’un avion de ligne à partir de son système IFE ? Le hacker, qui veut révéler les faiblesses des systèmes embarqués, a reconnu au FBI avoir mené 15 à 20 intrusions entre 2011 et 2014. Son arme, un PC portable et un câble Ethernet.

Warrant

Le rapport de perquisition du FBI publié par le site APTN.

Pour s’infiltrer dans le réseau du système embarqué, Chris Roberts n’utilise ni le WiFi, ni la prise USB des écrans offerts aux passagers. Il s’attaque directement à l’ordinateur placé sous le siège, le SEB (Seat Electronic Box) auquel il est visiblement pas très compliqué de se connecter via un câble Ethernet. Chris Roberts a utilisé le logiciel Kali Linux pour pénétrer le système et ce qui n’a visiblement pas été très complexe de s’infiltrer dans le système Thales installé dans le Boeing 737/800 du vol UA 1474… Celui-ci était configuré avec l’ID par défaut du système. Les agents du FBI ont pu vérifier les dires du hacker, constatant que le SEB placé sous le siège 2A, le siège placé devant celui occupé par Chris Roberts durant le vol UA 1474, était fracturé et avait manifestement été l’objet d’une intrusion.

Chris Roberts a-t-il effectivement accédé aux commandes de vol ?

Thales-Topseries-Avant
Infiltrer l’IFE d’un avion en vol est condamné par la loi, mais ne porte pas à conséquence mis à part priver les autres passagers de leur film. Ce que Chris Roberts affirme, c’est qu’à partir de ce réseau, Il serai parvenu à accéder aux commandes de vol de l’appareil. Avec son PC, il serait parvenu à ordonner au « Thrust Management Computer » de l’avion de passer en mode « CLB » (pour Climb). Aux dires du hacker, l’un des deux réacteurs aurait obéit à cet ordre, ce qui aurait placé l’avion en vol dissymétrique. Le hacker a annoncé avoir utilisé le logiciel Vortex pour prendre le contrôle du trafic aérien affiché dans le cockpit de l’avion. L’enquête du FBI n’a pas encore établi si les allégations de Chris Roberts sont vraies et si le hacker a effectivement pu traverser les protections qui isolent en principe le réseau de l’IFE et le réseau des calculateurs de l’avion. Le hacker qui souhaitait attirer l’attention sur le manque de sécurité des systèmes embarqués à visiblement atteint son objectif.

Source : « Hacker told F.B.I. he made plane fly sideways after cracking entertainment system », APTN, 15 mai 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.