Hackers, last bulwark before the commercial civilization?

Amazon-Dash-Button-HackAt a time when tens of million copies of Windows 10 and its built-in spyware replaced Windows 7 and 8, the connected objects are designed to simplify your life and incidentally power the Big Data databases industrial the slightest gesture of our everyday lives will be detected, stored, analyzed, for the benefit of marketers. A grain of sand could slip into this beautiful mechanics: hackers.

Little protection, the connected objects can be diverted from their original use

The analysis of network traffic Dash Amazon Buttons allowed the hacker to identify messages sent by these connected buttons.

The analysis of network traffic Dash Amazon Buttons allowed the hacker to identify messages sent by these connected buttons.

A graduate of MIT and cofounder of Cloudstitch, Ted Benson is a hacker at heart. A hacker, not a hacker. He loves hacker everyday items to improve by diverting use. He recently interested in the Amazon Dash Button. This is the button connected as Amazon would like to see you stick around your kitchen. With this button the colors of a brand, a product, you can order the product in question without even going on your PC or your smartphone out of your pocket. An ingenious little device that Ted Benson analyzed the communication protocol. A simple protocol and not protected it is easy to divert to invent all kinds of devices. He has chosen to connect the connected button Amazon to Google Spreadsheet sheet, specialty Cloudstitch, but no doubt many makers will benefit from this button connected to 5 dollars only in applications less mercantile than imagined by Jeff Bezos.

John Deere face makers

Matthew-Reimer-vs-John-Deere

Build yourself an autonomous tractor, it is possible. Matthew Reimer did with UAV control software.

Another example of a hack, one directed by Matthew Reimer on a John Deere tractor. The American manufacturer of agricultural equipment has alienated most of a farmer makers and community. Just as some automakers, covered his industrial embedded software patent, which, if the conditions of use are applied to its tractors strictly forbid customers to repair their tractors and modify its code. The US is very advanced in robotics and intends to shield its technological lead. Never mind, Matthew Reimer decided to automate his own tractor. This seems totally impossible for one man, yet after many test his tractor furrows his fields with his GPS guidance.

The secret of Matthew Reimer is to rely on solutions for UAVs that it has connected to various actuators that drive this tractor entirely conventional. A Linux box Pixhawk MAVProxy coupled with software to control the tractor from a PC, and MissonPlanner Rover APM. The installation is somewhat craft but the designer of the device has shown in his video that the system is effective. A beautiful lesson given by the hacker to developers battalion of John Deere.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“Amazon’s $5 Dash Button Already Hacked To Do Other Stuff Beyond Giving Amazon Money”, TechCrunch, August 17, 2015

How I Hacked Amazon’s $5 WiFi Button to track Baby Data”, Medium, August 10, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Logiciel embarqué, Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Les hackers, dernier rempart avant la civilisation marchande ?

Amazon-Dash-Button-HackA l’heure où des dizaines de million d’exemplaires de Windows 10 et ses fonctions intégrées de spyware ont remplacé Windows 7 et 8, que les objets connectés sont conçus pour vous simplifier la vie et accessoirement alimenter les bases de données Big Data des industriels, le moindre geste de notre quotidien va être détecté, stocké, analysé, au profit des marketeurs. Un grain de sable pourrait bien se glisser dans cette belle mécanique : les hackers.

Peu protégés, les objets connectés peuvent être détournés de leur usage initial

L'analyse du trafic réseau des Amazon Dash Buttons a permis au hacker d'identifier les messages envoyés par ces boutons connectés.

L’analyse du trafic réseau des Amazon Dash Buttons a permis au hacker d’identifier les messages envoyés par ces boutons connectés.

Diplômé du MIT et co-fondateur de Cloudstitch, Ted Benson est un hacker dans l’âme. Un hacker, pas un pirate informatique.  Il aime hacker des objets du quotidien pour les améliorer, en détourner l’usage. Il s’est récemment intéressé à l’Amazon Dash Button. Il s’agit du bouton connecté qu’Amazon aimerait bien vous voir coller un peu partout dans votre cuisine. Avec ce bouton aux couleurs d’une marque, d’un produit, vous pouvez passer commande du produit en question sans même aller sur votre PC ou sortir votre smartphone de votre poche. Un ingénieux petit dispositif  dont Ted Benson a analysé le protocole de communication. Un protocole simple et pas protégé qu’il est aisé de détourner pour inventer toute sorte de dispositifs. Lui, a choisi de connecter le bouton connecté Amazon à une feuille Google Spreadsheet, une spécialité de Cloudstitch, mais nul doute que de nombreux makers tireront profit de ce bouton connecté à 5 dollars seulement dans des applications moins mercantiles que celle imaginé par Jeff Bezos.

John Deere face aux makers

Matthew-Reimer-vs-John-Deere

Construire soi-même un tracteur autonome, c’est possible. Matthew Reimer l’a fait avec des logiciels de contrôle de drones.

Autre exemple de hack, celui réalisé par Matthew Reimer sur un tracteur John Deere. Le constructeur américain de matériel agricole s’est mis à dos plus d’un agriculteur et  communauté de makers. Tout comme certains constructeurs automobile, l’industriel a couvert ses logiciels embarqués de brevet qui, si on applique les conditions d’usage de ses tracteurs interdisent formellement à ses clients de réparer leur tracteur et modifier son code. L’américain est très avancé dans la robotisation et entend bien blinder son avance technologique. Qu’à cela ne tienne, Matthew Reimer a décidé d’automatiser lui-même son tracteur. Cela semble totalement impossible pour un homme seul, et pourtant, après de multiples essai son tracteur sillonne ses champs avec son guidage GPS.

Le secret de Matthew Reimer, c’est de s’appuyer sur des solutions destinées pour les drones qu’il a connecté à divers actionneurs qui pilotent ce tracteur tout à fait classique. Un boitier Pixhawk sous Linux couplé aux logiciels MAVProxy pour le contrôle du tracteur depuis un PC, APM Rover et MissonPlanner.  Le montage est pour le moins artisanal mais le concepteur du dispositif a montré dans ses vidéo que le système est effectif. Une belle leçon donnée par le hacker au bataillon de développeurs de John Deere.

Sources :

« Amazon’s $5 Dash Button Already Hacked To Do Other Stuff Beyond Giving Amazon Money », TechCrunch, 17 août 2015

« How I Hacked Amazon’s $5 WiFi Button to track Baby Data », Medium, 10 août 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Logiciel embarqué, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.