Jeep Hacking: Fiat Chrysler recalls 1.4 million vehicles

Jeep-CherokeeThe power of the image. Nothing beats a hasty car in the ditch to move its constructor.
For months, security researchers warn automakers on security flaws of modern vehicles. Including Jeep Cherokee, singled out at the 2014 DEFCON.
Pervasive and embedded computing now connected, it will attract imancablement hackers is that hackers recently demonstrated by sending a Cherokee. Message finally received from Fiat Chrysler recalling 1.4 million vehicles to patch this little mature IT.

Fiat Chrysler had not given warning of hackers in 2014

Whenever during the 2014 DEFCON, the collective security experts “I am the Calvalry” published an open letter to patrons major automakers alerting the lack of safety of their vehicles, nothing happened. Builders continued to assert that their cars are safe, that piracy is impossible. Almost a year later, Charlie Muller, security engineer at Twitter and Chris Valasek, automobile security researcher at Idactive, even those who had revealed the vulnerabilities in this DEFCON conference passed to practice.

The video posted on YouTube with the Wired support is sufficiently eloquent. From an internet connection, the two researchers can control the radio, on-board display, air conditioning but also, much more serious, stop the engine, turn off the brakes and take control of management. More doubt, the hacker demonstrated by the acts of security breaches uConnect system that equips the Jeep Cherokee, but also many of the vehicles of the Fiat Chrysler Group (owner of the Jeep brand) equipped with a touchscreen of uConnect 8.4 “.

The manufacturer offers drivers a USB patch or back concession

UConnectFaced with this crisis situation, the manufacturer has finally reacted and quickly posted a patch to Cherokee inviting owners to install via USB.
3 days after, FCA takes a more traditional approach, the return vehicle. No less than 1.4 million vehicles that are recalled in concession for a software update. For besides the Cherokee and Grand Cherokee, it is the Dodge Viper, Ram pickups, the Dodge Durango, Dodge Charger, Dodge Challenger and Chrysler 200 and 300. A common point to these vehicles, a 8.4-inch touch screen uConnect . Probably the first major recall due to hackers. It surely will not be the last.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :
“Fiat Chrysler recalls 1.4 million vehicles to install anti-hacking softwareN HTSA to assess effectiveness of fix”, Automotive NEws, July 24, 2015
“Statement: Software Update”, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles release, July 24, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Hacking Jeep : Fiat Chrysler rappelle 1,4 million de véhicules

Jeep-CherokeeLa force de l’image. Rien ne vaut une voiture précipitée dans le fossé pour faire bouger son constructeur.

Depuis des mois, les chercheurs en sécurité alertent les constructeurs automobiles sur les failles de sécurité des véhicules modernes. Y compris la Jeep Cherokee, pointée du doigt lors du DEFCON 2014.
Informatique embarquée omniprésente et maintenant connectée, celle-ci vont immanquablement attirer les pirates, c’est ce que les hackers viennent de démontrer en envoyant une Cherokee. Message enfin reçu de la part de Fiat Chrysler qui rappelle 1,4 million de véhicules pour patcher cette informatique bien peu mature.

Fiat Chrysler n’avait pas tenu compte de l’alerte des hackers en 2014

Quand, lors du DEFCON 2014, les experts de sécurité du collectif « I am the Calvalry » publiaient une lettre ouverte aux patrons des principaux constructeurs automobiles les alertant du manque de sécurité de leurs véhicules, rien ne s’est passé. Tous les constructeurs ont continué à affirmer que leurs voitures sont sures, qu’un piratage est impossible. Près d’un an plus tard,  Charlie Millier, ingénieur sécurité chez Twitter et Chris Valasek, chercheur en sécurité automobile chez Idactive, ceux-là même qui avaient dévoilé ces vulnérabilités lors de cette conférence DEFCON, sont passé à la pratique.

La vidéo publiée sur YouTube avec le support de Wired est suffisamment éloquentes. A partir d’une liaison internet, les deux chercheurs parviennent à contrôler la radio, l’affichage embarqué, la climatisation mais aussi, bien plus grave, couper le moteur, désactiver les freins et prendre le contrôle de la direction. Plus de doute possible, les hacker ont démontré par les actes les failles de sécurité du système uConnect qui équipe les Jeep Cherokee, mais aussi bon nombre des véhicules du groupe Fiat Chrysler (propriétaire de la marque Jeep) équipés d’un écran tactile uConnect de 8,4″.

Le constructeur propose aux conducteurs un patch USB ou un retour en concession

UConnectDevant cette situation de crise, le constructeur a enfin réagi et rapidement mis en ligne un patch, invitant aux propriétaires de Cherokee de l’installer via une clé USB.
3 jour après, FCA adopte une démarche plus classique, le rappel de véhicule. Ce sont pas moins de 1,4 million de véhicules qui sont rappelés en concession pour une mise à jour logicielle. Car, outre le Cherokee et Grand Cherokee, ce sont les Dodge Viper, les pickups Ram, le Dodge Durango, Dodge Charger, Dodge Challenger et Chrysler 200 et 300. Un point commun a ces véhicules, un écran tactile uConnect de 8,4 pouces. Sans doute le premier grand rappel dû à des hackers. Ce ne sera surement pas le dernier.

Sources :
« Fiat Chrysler recalls 1.4 million vehicles to install anti-hacking software NHTSA to assess effectiveness of fix », Automotive NEws, 24 juillet 2015
« Statement: Software Update », communiqué Fiat Chrysler Automobiles, 24 juillet 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.