Italy order 6 first drones HammerHead

Piaggio-p1hh-HammerheadImmediately after the first flight of the prototype, the Italian air force ordered 6 copies of the HammerHead. This new drone was unveiled by Piaggio in the last edition of the Salon du Bourget. Directed from the elegant case aircraft P.180 Avanti II, this drone is a MALE for medium Altitude long Endurance. Able to fly for 16 hours at an altitude of 45,000 feet, this drone will be deployed by the Italian air force from 2016 for recognition of research missions.

A drone that could well succeed the American Reaper in Italy

console_skyISTAR de Finmeccanica

A very partial view of the control system Selec ES developed by Finmeccanica for the HammerHead drone.

After the failures of the EADS Talarion and the Mantis of the British BAE Systems on the market of the MALE (medium Altitude long Endurance) dominated by the United States and Israel, the Italian aviation industry demonstrates his knowledge do. Made from the case twin-turbine Aerospace Piaggio Avanti’s aircraft, its drone HammerHead took the air for the first time February 25, 2015. A pilot demonstrator was already flying from 2013 which enabled Finmeccanica to the flight and flight control system automated Selex ES, which now equips the unit. It is therefore a program conducted at 100% by the Italy which recorded on the day after a first command of the Italian Air Force. It has ordered 3 monitoring stations on the ground and 6 appliances. They will join the 32 ° Stormo of the Aeronautica Militare Italiana (AMI) by 2016. He will join 6 drones Reaper controlled by Italy in 2008. From 2013, the Italy was openly seeking an alternative to drones Americans, the US denying the Italians the right to arm their Reaper. During the official presentation of the HammerHead at the Paris Air Show 2013, General Claudio Debertolis evoked the possibility of arming these drones. The United States will yield they and will they allow Italy to arm its Reaper to cut the grass under the feet of the HammerHead? This first command seems to prove that Obama has proved inflexible and finally pushed the Italian air force to build on its national UAV.
Piaggio-p1hh-Hammerhead-2
The program demonstrates that the Europeans can become technologically at the level of the Americans and the Israelis for drones when they give the means. The Italy announced its willingness to open its program to other European partners, an opening that found no echo among other industrialists of the continent. HammerHead once again shows that a program goes much faster when it is led by a single country and not European agreements where each is often more concerned with defending its piece of the pie to progress quickly.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“L’armée de l’air italienne commande le Hammerhead”, Air&Cosmos, February 27, 2015

“Italian Air Force orders P.1HH HammerHead UAS”, Shephard Media, February 27, 2015

“Italian Air Force becomes the launch customer of Piaggio Aerospace’s P.1HH Unmanned Aerial System”, Communiqué Piaggio Aerospace, February 26, 2015

“P.1HH Hammerhead prototype completes maiden flight”, Shephard Media, February 25, 2015

“Finmeccanica – Selex ES together with Piaggio Aerospace announce maiden flight of the P.1HH HammerHead prototype”, Communiqué de presse Finmeccanica, February 24, 2015

“Dubai 2013: HammerHead demonstrator completes maiden flight”, Shephard Media, November 19, 2013

“Italian Procurement Chief Backs Hammerhead To Replace Reapers”, DefenseNews, June 18, 2013

“European Air Forces Seek a Common Weaponized UAS”, Defense Update, May 13, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’Italie commande 6 premiers drones HammerHead

Piaggio-p1hh-HammerheadDès le lendemain du premier vol du prototype, l’armée de l’air italienne commande 6 exemplaires de l’HammerHead. Ce nouveau drone avait été dévoilé par Piaggio lors de la dernière édition du Salon du Bourget. Réalisé à partir de l’élégant avion d’affaire P.180 Avanti II, ce drone est de type MALE pour Moyenne Altitude Longue Endurance. Capable de voler pendant 16 heures à une altitude de 45.000 pieds, ce drone sera déployé par l’armée de l’air italienne à partir de 2016 pour des missions de reconnaissance, de recherche.

Un drone qui pourrait bien succéder au Reaper américain en Italie

console_skyISTAR de Finmeccanica

Une vue plutôt partielle du système de contrôle Selec ES mis au point par Finmeccanica pour le drone HammerHead.

Après les échecs du Talarion d’EADS et du Mantis du britannique BAE Systems sur le marché des MALE (Moyenne Altitude Longue Endurance) dominé par les Etats-Unis et Israël, l’industrie aéronautique italienne démontre son savoir faire. Elaboré à partir de l’avion d’affaire bi-turbine Avanti de Piaggio Aerospace, son drone HammerHead a pris l’air pour la première fois le 25 février 2015. Un démonstrateur piloté volait déjà depuis 2013 ce qui à permis à Finmeccanica de mettre au point le système de vol et de contrôle de vol automatisé Selex ES qui équipe aujourd’hui l’appareil. C’est donc un programme mené à 100% par l’Italie qui enregistrait dès le jour suivant une première commande de l’Armée de l’Air italienne. Celle-ci a commandé 3 stations de contrôle au sol et 6 appareils. Ceux-ci vont rejoindre le 32° Stormo de l’Aeronautica Militare Italiana (AMI) dès 2016. Il va y rejoindre les 6 drones Reaper commandés par l’Italie dès 2008. Depuis 2013, l’Italie cherchait ouvertement une alternative aux drones américains, les Etats-Unis refusant aux italiens le droit d’armer leurs Reaper. Lors de la présentation officielle de l’HammerHead lors du salon du Bourget 2013, le Général Claudio Debertolis évoquait la possibilité d’armer ces drones. Les Etats-Unis céderont-ils et autoriseront-ils l’Italie à armer ses Reaper pour couper l’herbe sous le pied du HammerHead ? Cette première commande semble prouver qu’Obama s’est montré inflexible et a finalement poussé l’armée de l’air italienne à miser sur son drone national.
Piaggio-p1hh-Hammerhead-2
Le programme montre que les européens peuvent se hisser technologiquement au niveau des américains et des israéliens en matière de drones quand ils s’en donnent les moyens. L’Italie a annoncé sa volonté d’ouvrir son programme à d’autres partenaires européens, une ouverture qui n’a trouvé aucun écho chez les autres industriels du continent. HammerHead montre une fois de plus qu’un programme va bien plus vite quand il est mené par un seul pays et non pas dans le cadre d’accords européens où chacun est souvent plus préoccupé de défendre sa part du gâteau que d’avancer vite.

Sources :

« L’armée de l’air italienne commande le Hammerhead », Air&Cosmos, 27 février 2015

« Italian Air Force orders P.1HH HammerHead UAS », Shephard Media, 27 février 2015

« Italian Air Force becomes the launch customer of Piaggio Aerospace’s P.1HH Unmanned Aerial System », Communiqué Piaggio Aerospace, 26 février 2015

« P.1HH Hammerhead prototype completes maiden flight », Shephard Media, 25 février 2015

« Finmeccanica – Selex ES together with Piaggio Aerospace announce maiden flight of the P.1HH HammerHead prototype », Communiqué de presse Finmeccanica, 24 février 2015

« Dubai 2013: HammerHead demonstrator completes maiden flight », Shephard Media, 19 novembre 2013

« Italian Procurement Chief Backs Hammerhead To Replace Reapers », DefenseNews, 18 juin 2013

« European Air Forces Seek a Common Weaponized UAS », Defense Update, 13 mai 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.