SuperFanArt: Hasbro opts for 3D printing

625x465_847113_1020777_1369251475Transformers, GI Joe, My Little Pony, Dungeons & Dragons, Monopoly, Scrabble, these are some of the brands which it is possible to buy the figurines on the Shapeways 3D printing website. Not not from figures of these marks, but created by fans who were inspired by these universes to design their own 3D models. No risk for them to be attacked in court by Hasbro, the owner of such marks. The American chose to encourage his fans to propose their own figures on a site created for them, SuperFanArt.

What can a manufacturer about the phenomenon of 3D printing?

For the launch of SuperFanArt, Hasbro has chosen 5 designers, including the french Christophe Vidal.

For the launch of SuperFanArt, Hasbro has chosen 5 designers, including the french Christophe Vidal.

Will what strategy the industrialists adopt towards general public 3D printing? Several solutions are available to them. To let it do the systematic opposition to those who will offer their design online print sites, Hasbro tries another approach. The American toy giant tries to accompany the movement. It is during the 2014 of the Comic-Con in San Diego ShapeWays and Hasbro have unveiled their joint project, SuperFanArt. The site proposes to federate the fan of different brands which the toy manufacturer owns trademarks to promote their figures on Shapeways. A good way for Hasbro to maintain the buzz and interest for its brands, keeping a minimum of control. Indeed, Hasbro reserves the right to refuse a design if it considers obscene. Obviously, the industrialist does not seem to take Commission on sales of these figurines on Shapeways.

An initiative that goes beyond the fight against classic counterfeiting

LucasFilm ensures the protection of its intellectual property on the Web. (Photo: Eva Rinaldi via Wikimedia Commons)

LucasFilm ensures the protection of its intellectual property on the Web. (Photo: Eva Rinaldi via Wikimedia Commons)

Hasbro initiative contrasts with the customs of the sector where manufacturers defend tooth and nail their intellectual property and licenses they pay often very expensive. We remember especially the case LucasFilm against Andrew Ainsworth. The latter marketed on the Internet of the Stormtrooper Helmets made by his care. LucasFilm asked compensation $ 20 million for violating the copyright on its design. English, Andrew Ainsworth has not been sentenced, but he has been prohibited from selling its replicas on the territory of the United States.
With the rise of 3D printing, this problem will spread to the thousand power in many areas.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Hasbro to Collaborate With 3-D Printing Company to Sell Artwork”, The New York Times, July 20, 2014
“Hasbro & Shapeways Enable 3D Printing Fan Art with SuperFanArt”, ShapeWays Blog, July 21 2014
“Leave 3D Printing Alone”, Huffington Post, January 27, 2014
Legal Impact of 3D Printing Technology“, Lawdit Solicitor, July 2, 2013
“Case Comment: LucasFilm Ltd & Ors v Ainsworth & Anor [2011]”, UKSC Blog, December 13, 2011

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

SuperFanArt : Hasbro joue la carte de l’impression 3D

625x465_847113_1020777_1369251475Transformers, GI Joe, My Little Pony, Dungeons & Dragons, Monopoly, Scrabble, ce sont quelques-unes des marques dont il est possible d’acheter les figurines sur le site d’impression 3D Shapeways. Des figurines non pas issues de ces marques, mais créées par les fans qui se sont inspirés de ces univers pour concevoir leurs propres modèles 3D. Aucun risque pour eux d’être attaqué en justice par Hasbro, le propriétaire de ces marques. L’américain a choisi d’encourager ses fans à proposer leurs propres figurines sur un site créé à leur intention, SuperFanArt.

Que peut faire un industriel face au phénomène de l’impression 3D ?

Pour le lancement de SuperFanArt, Hasbro a sélectionné 5 concepteurs, dont le français Christophe Vidal.

Pour le lancement de SuperFanArt, Hasbro a sélectionné 5 concepteurs, dont le français Christophe Vidal.

Quelle stratégie les industriels vont-ils adopter vis-à-vis de l’impression 3D grand public ? Plusieurs solutions s’offrent à eux. Au laisser faire, à l’opposition systématique à ceux qui vont proposer leurs design sur des sites d’impression en ligne, Hasbro tente une autre approche. Le géant du jouet américain tente d’accompagner le mouvement. C’est lors de l’édition 2014 du Comic-Con de San Diego que ShareWays et Hasbro ont dévoilé leur projet commun, SuperFanArt. Le site se propose de fédérer les fan des différentes marques dont le fabricant de jouet détient les marques afin de promouvoir leurs figurines sur Shapeways. Un bon moyen pour Hasbro d’entretenir le buzz et l’intérêt pour ses marques en gardant un minimum de contrôle. En effet, Hasbro se réserve le droit de refuser un design s’il le juge obscène. Visiblement, l’industriel ne semble pas prélever de commission sur les ventes de ces figurines réalisés  sur Shapeways.

Une initiative qui va au-delà de la lutte anti-contrefaçon classique

LucasFilm veille à la protection de sa propriété intellectuelle sur le Web. (Photo: Eva Rinaldi via Wikimedia Commons)

LucasFilm veille à la protection de sa propriété intellectuelle sur le Web. (Photo: Eva Rinaldi via Wikimedia Commons)

L’initiative d’Hasbro tranche avec les habitudes du secteur où les industriels défendent bec et ongles leur propriété intellectuelle et les licences qu’ils payent souvent très cher. On se souvient notamment de l’affaire LucasFilm contre Andrew Ainsworth. Ce dernier commercialisait sur Internet des casques de Stormtrooper réalisés par ses soins. LucasFilm demandait 20 millions de dollars dédommagement pour avoir enfreint le copyright sur son design. Anglais, Andrew Ainsworth n’a pas été condamné, mais il a reçu l’interdiction de vendre ses répliques sur le territoire des Etats-Unis.

Avec l’essor de l’impression 3D, cette problématique va se généraliser à la puissance mille dans bon nombre de secteurs.

Sources :

« Hasbro to Collaborate With 3-D Printing Company to Sell Artwork », The New York Times, 20 juillet 2014
« Hasbro & Shapeways Enable 3D Printing Fan Art with SuperFanArt », ShapeWays Blog, 21 juillet 2014
« Leave 3D Printing Alone », Huffington Post, 27 janvier 2014
« Legal Impact of 3D Printing Technology« , Lawdit Solicitor, 2 juillet 2013
« Case Comment: LucasFilm Ltd & Ors v Ainsworth & Anor [2011] », UKSC Blog, 13 décembre 2011

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.