Is Hector the first robot to have a conscience?

HectorExternally, nothing seems to distinguish the little robot arthropod from the German University of Bielefeld. A robot Walker as it existing now, a toy almost. However, Hector has software developed artificial intelligence, and versions after versions, this this behaviour more in closer to those of a real insect. The next step is likely to be decisive: its creators want to provide it with a conscience. One small step for Hector, a giant leap for robotics?

Hector works for 1 year, but aims higher

The test is well known. Place an animal in front of the mirror and observe. The animal finally understand that it is the image of himself that returns the mirror? There are few animals have passed the test. Chimpanzees, elephants, dolphins have done. Agenda is perhaps close to a robot there reaches.


A year ago, researchers at the University of Bielefeld in Germany looking to give a form of consciousness to a robot named Hector. Until today, Hector had software Walknet, a neural network that allowed him to learn to move with 6 legs over rough terrain and feel some stimuli from the outside world. But the ambition of researchers goes beyond that this basic behavior. They want to give their creation a much higher awareness. With Navinet, Hector could develop routes to follow to achieve a goal. reaCog has added to the robot the ability to think, that is to say imagine several possible behaviours of a problem, then choose a. Dr Malte Schilling who is involved in the project believes that Hector so manifest “intentions”.

HectorA new version of Hector software is under development and test Simulator. This new artificial intelligence will be then injected into Hector. Professors Dr. Holk Cruse and Dr. Malta Schilling who develop this software feel that with this new evolution Hector will have a certain awareness of itself and might be able to “think”! An assertion that is not made lightly. Their research is part of the ‘Open MIND’, a group of researchers created collective in 2003 and which has published 39 papers of research on Artificial Intelligence, or 2 000 pages of results published so far. They may give birth to the first artificial consciousness.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

Biologists at Bielefeld University present expanded software architecture for the walking robot Hector”, Communiqué du Cluster of Excellence Cognitive Interaction Technology (CITEC) de l’Université de Bielefeld, March 31, 2015

“How and to what end may consciousness contribute to action? Attributing properties of consciousness to an embodied, minimally cognitive artificial neural network”, NCBI, June 18, 2013

“Walknet—a biologically inspired network to control six-legged walking”, ScienceDirect, April 30, 1998

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Hector sera-t-il le premier robot à avoir une conscience ?

HectorExtérieurement, rien ne semble distinguer le petit robot arthropode de l’université allemande de Bielefeld. Un robot marcheur comme il en existant tant aujourd’hui, un jouet presque. Cependant, Hector dispose de logiciels d’intelligence artificielle avancés et, versions après versions, celui-ci présente des comportements de plus en plus proches de ceux d’un véritable insecte. La prochaine étape risque d’être décisive : ses créateurs veulent le doter d’une conscience. Un petit pas pour Hector, un grand pas pour la robotique ?

Hector marche depuis 1 an, mais vise plus haut

Le test est bien connu. Placez un animal devant le miroir et observez. L’animal finit-il par comprendre que c’est l’image de lui-même que renvoie le miroir ? Rares sont les animaux a avoir passé le test. Chimpanzés, éléphants, dauphins l’ont fait. Le jour est peut-être proche pour qu’un robot y parvienne.

Depuis un an, les chercheurs de l’université de Bielefeld en Allemagne cherchent à donner une forme de conscience à un robot baptisé Hector. Jusqu’à aujourd’hui, Hector disposait du logiciel Walknet, un réseau de neurones qui lui a permis d’apprendre à se déplacer avec ses 6 pattes sur un terrain accidenté et de ressentir quelques stimulis du monde extérieur. Mais l’ambition des chercheurs va bien au-delà que ce comportement de base. Ils veulent donner à leur création une conscience bien plus élevée. Avec Navinet, Hector pouvait élaborer des itinéraires à suivre pour atteindre un but. reaCog a ajouté au robot la possibilité de réfléchir, c’est à dire imaginer plusieurs comportements possibles face à un problème posé, puis d’en choisir un. Le Dr Malte Schilling qui participe au projet estime qu’Hector manifeste ainsi des « intentions ».

HectorUne nouvelle version du logiciel d’Hector est en cours de développement et de test sur simulateur. Cette nouvelle intelligence artificielle sera ensuite injectée dans Hector. Les Professeurs Dr. Holk Cruse et Dr. Malte Schilling qui développent ce logiciel estiment qu’avec cette nouvelle évolution, Hector aura une certaines conscience de lui-même et pourrait bien être capable de « penser » ! Une assertion qui n’est pas faite à la légère. Leur recherche fait partie du collectif « Open MIND », un groupe de chercheurs créé en 2003 et qui a déjà publié 39 papiers de recherche sur l’Intelligence Artificielle, soit 2 000 pages de résultats publiés à ce jour. Ils vont peut-être donner naissance à la première conscience artificielle.

Sources :

« Biologists at Bielefeld University present expanded software architecture for the walking robot Hector », Communiqué du Cluster of Excellence Cognitive Interaction Technology (CITEC) de l’Université de Bielefeld, 31 mars 2015

« How and to what end may consciousness contribute to action? Attributing properties of consciousness to an embodied, minimally cognitive artificial neural network », NCBI, 18 juin 2013

« Walknet—a biologically inspired network to control six-legged walking », ScienceDirect, 30 Avril 1998

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.