High performance computing: USA issue an embargo on China

tianhe-2The United States has just place 4 Chinese research centres on their blacklist. Manufacturers of components dedicated to HPC now have ban on exporting their chips. The United States want to curb Chinese researchers whose supercomputers, like ours, are used to simulate explosions of atomic bombs. China may attempt to circumvent the embargo, but there should be no doubt that the Middle Kingdom will redouble its effort to develop its own chips and access its independence in terms of computing power.

The U.S. Department of Commerce refused export licences to Intel

The information was confirmed by Intel a few days from HPCwire. This summer, the Department of commerce served industry should apply an export permit to ship its chips Xeon and Xeon Phi to Inspur, constructor of Chinese supercomputers. It is this constructor who had built the center of Guangzhou Tianhe-2. A machine operated by the National University of defense technology Chinese. The export licence having been rejected by the Ministry of trade, Intel has the Cancel shipment of its chips.

Tianhe-2

Tianhe-2, the most powerful supercomputer in the world relies
on Intel Xeon chips and accelerators Xeon Phi (Photo: Inspur).

On theory, it seems not very complicated for China not to circumvent the embargo and to buy these Xeon and Xeon Phi by friendly countries or less overtones enterprises nuclear research. A problem however, the number of chips required to constitute a class of a Tianhe calculator. Tianhe-2 has 3.12 million hearts in its cupboards. Supercomputers designers are opting for more powerful CPU, with the largest number of possible hearts to take advantage of the best ratio power/power consumption, a given key in the design of a supercomputer. Chips marketed to thousands of dollars apiece. It will be very difficult for the Chinese military to buy Intel, AMD or NVidia chips on a very broad scale without triggering alarms on the servers of the NSA.

An embargo that could well push China to revive its microprocessor research

Loongson

The Loongson microprocessor, nor the ShenWei,
cannot compete with the power of the high range of Intel Xeon.

Another track pursued by China, to produce its own chips. Jiāngnan Computing Lab designs chips for intensive computing for many years. The last known chip out of his lab is ShenWei SW1600, a RISC 64-bit 16-core chip. Unveiled in 2010, it displays a 140.8 GFlops performance. It powers the Sunway BlueLight’s Center of Jinan. A machine that displays 795.9 Tflops on the scale with 137.200 hearts of calculation, which earned him the 65th place world ranking of ECUs. Since 2010, no new ShenWei model has emerged. China gave the development of a chip which told that the architecture is inspired by the Dec Alpha? The most modern Chinese microprocessor known in the West is the Godson – 3B Loonson 1500, a chip 8 hearts of architecture MIPS64 which was unveiled in 2013. Looson provides a power of 192 GFlops for its chip. A Xeon Phi, which equip the Tianhe-2, displays 1 TFlops (1000 GFlops) alone…

Sources :

“Four Chinese Supercomputing Orgs Named on US Blacklist”, HPCwire, April 8, 2015

“Uncle Sam Shocks Intel With a Ban on Xeon Supercomputers in China”, VRworld, April 7, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Calcul intensif : Les Etats-Unis décrètent un embargo sur la Chine

tianhe-2Les Etats-Unis viennent de placer 4 centres de recherche chinois sur leur « blacklist ». Les constructeurs de composants dédiés au calcul intensif ont désormais interdiction d’exporter leurs puces à destination de ces centres de recherche. Les Etats-Unis veulent freiner les chercheurs chinois dont les supercalculateurs, tout comme les nôtres, sont exploités pour simuler les explosions des armes nucléaires. La Chine pourra tenter de contourner cet embargo, mais il ne faut aucun doute que l’empire du milieu va redoubler d’effort pour développer ses propres puces et accéder à son indépendance en termes de puissance de calcul.

Le ministère du commerce américain refuse les licences d’export à Intel

L’information a été confirmée par Intel voici quelques jours auprès de HPCwire. Cet été, le ministère du commerce américain a signifié à l’industriel qu’il devait demander une licence d’exportation pour expédier ses puces Xeon et Xeon Phi à Inspur, constructeur de supercalculateurs chinois. C’est ce constructeur qui avait construit le Tianhe-2 pour le centre de calcul de Guangzhou. Une machine exploitée par l’Université nationale de technologie de la défense chinoise. La licence d’exportation ayant été refusée par le ministère du commerce, Intel a du annuler l’expédition de ses puces.

Tianhe-2

Tianhe-2, le supercalculateur le plus puissant au monde s’appuie
sur des puces Intel Xeon et accélérateurs Xeon Phi (Photo: Inspur).

Sur le papier, il ne semble pas très compliqué pour la Chine ne contourner cet embargo et faire acheter ces Xeon et Xeon Phi par des pays amis ou des entreprises moins connotées recherche nucléaire. Un problème toutefois, le nombre de puces requises pour constituer un calculateur de la classe d’un Tianhe. Tianhe-2 compte 3,12 million de coeurs dans ses armoires. Les concepteurs de supercalculateurs optent pour les CPU les plus puissants, avec le plus grand nombre de coeurs possibles pour bénéficier du meilleur rapport puissance/consommation électrique, une donnée clé dans la conception d’un supercalculateur. Des puces commercialisées à plusieurs milliers de dollars pièce. Il va être très compliqué pour les militaires chinois de s’approvisionner en puces Intel, AMD ou NVidia à une très large échelle sans déclencher d’alarmes sur les serveurs de la NSA.

Un embargo qui pourrait bien pousser la Chine à relancer sa filière microprocesseur

Loongson

Ni les microprocesseurs Loongson, ni les ShenWei,
ne peuvent rivaliser avec la puissance des Xeon haut de gamme d’Intel.

Autre piste poursuivie par la Chine, produire ses propres puces. Le Jiāngnán Computing Lab conçoit des puces pour le calcul intensif depuis de nombreuses années. La dernière puce connue sortie de ses labo est le ShenWei SW1600, une puce RISC 64 bits 16 coeurs. Dévoilée en 2010, celle-ci affiche une performance de 140,8 GFlops. Elle motorise le Sunway BlueLight du centre de calcul de Jinan. Une machine qui affiche 795,9 Tflops sur la balance, avec 137.200 coeurs de calcul, ce qui lui vaut la 65ieme place au classement mondial des calculateurs. Depuis 2010, aucune nouveau modèle de ShenWei n’a émergé.  La Chine a-t-elle abandonné le développement d’une puce dont on dit que l’architecture est inspirée du Dec Alpha ? Le microprocesseur chinois le plus moderne connu en occident est le Godson-3B 1500 de Loonson, une puce 8 coeurs d’architecture MIPS64 qui a été dévoilée en 2013. Looson assure une puissance de 192 GFlops pour sa puce. Un Xeon Phi, qui équipent le Tianhe-2 affiche 1 TFlops (1.000 GFlops) à lui seul…

Sources :

« Four Chinese Supercomputing Orgs Named on US Blacklist », HPCwire, 8 avril 2015

« Uncle Sam Shocks Intel With a Ban on Xeon Supercomputers in China », VRworld, 7 avril 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.