HUULC the crazy project of a 2,000 tons drone

AVIO-AERO-joins-PUCAWill they drones loaded with giant containers roam the air in the coming years? The PUCA Association (Platform for Cargo Unmanned Aircraft) imagines the future drones, drones optimized to transport standard containers in much more economic conditions than current aircraft cargo. The goal is to make cargo air transport as competitive as “marine” cargo in 2030.

A research project which unites industry, public research and military

If the media get excited about Amazon and Google projects drones delivery services, PUCA studying his side otherwise most impressive drones. This association brings together universities, representatives of the Dutch army, KLM, as well as various industry which Fokker, Airbus Defense & amp; Space and last came to this Italian group Avio Aero, a subsidiary of General Electric. This work focuses on both the Model Business transportation such drones, their future operations and, of course, the technical characteristics of these drones.

HUULC-concept

HUULC for Hydrogen-powered Unmanned Ultra Large Cargo PUCA is the flagship project. A device such that no aeronautical engineer dared imagine until now.

Various types of drones are already out of the imagination of PUCA engineers. Among them, the HUULC is certainly the most impressive. Acronym Hydrogen-powered Unmanned Ultra Large Cargo aircraft, this giant drone must be powered by hydrogen-8 turboprop. Greener but also more fuel efficient than kerosene would enable the HUULC to travel 6000 km with 100 containers “20 foot” standard onboard. To achieve such a feat, the HUULC will be able to take the air at a mass of around 2,100 tonnes. A tour de force while the cargo version of the Boeing 777F (F for “Freighter”) can take off up to 347 tons, while the Airbus A380F, which was ultimately never built, was to weigh up to 590 tonnes at takeoff.

According to members of PUCA, drones will do better than traditional cargo aircraft, which are derived from large aircraft designed for passenger transport. On the one hand, operators no longer have to manage (and pay for) the crews but the lack of cockpit pressurization and thus can allow the fuselage to reduce the unit of 10-20%. On the other hand, need to design a device where access to emergency exits must be fast. It becomes possible to opt for aerodynamic formulas much more interesting than the current fuselages. The HUULC example presents with a wide wing fuselage capable of centenarians more than if it were designed conventionally. In addition, the logistician will appreciate, these aircraft are not designed to carry light aviation containers in the hold but the old standard 20-inch container as found in all ports of the world.

ATLAS must be 75% better than a Boeing 747

The ATLAS concept, a medium-lift drone.

The ATLAS concept, a medium-lift drone.

If HUULC is designed for intercontinental flights, members also study PUCA less impressive devices, including the ATLAS. The airplane, again, has a wide body, but it is powered by two reactors placed in a high position at the rear of the unit. The aim of this concept is to lower the transport cost by 75% compared to the current 747. The absence of pressurization makes it possible to envisage flights above 12,500 m which form the ceiling of the aircraft current line. Optimized to fly beyond the unit will face a lower air resistance and thus consume less fuel.

The failure of the Pelican, an ULTRA (Ultra Large Transport Aircraft) 1,400 tons plane proposed by Boeing in the early 2000s shows that the demand for ultra heavy transport aircraft is potentially very low or nonexistent. She did not justify the construction of a version “F” of the Airbus A380 and the heavier transport aircraft currently, the An-225 Mriya Antonov, with 640 tonnes at takeoff, was built as a single copy. The “dronisation” of these giants of the air they will make them more attractive from an economic point of view? See you in 2030.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“Avio Aero Joins the Platform for Unmanned Cargo Aircraft (PUCA)”, PUCA press release, September 7, 2015

“The HUULC, Design of a Hydrogen-powered Unmanned Ultra Large Cargo aircraft”, PUCA press release, July 1, 2015

“ATLAS, an Unmanned Medium Ranged Containerized Cargo Freighter”, PUCA press release, July 1, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

HUULC, le projet fou d’un drone cargo de plus de 2.000 tonnes

AVIO-AERO-joins-PUCADes drones géants chargés de containers vont-ils sillonner les airs dans les années à venir ? L’association PUCA (Platform for Unmanned Cargo Aircraft) imagine les drones du futur, des drones optimisés pour transporter des containers standard dans des conditions bien plus économiques que les avions cargos actuels. L’objectif est de rendre le transport aérien aussi compétitif que les cargos « marins » à l’horizon 2030.

Un projet d’étude qui unit industriels, recherche publique et militaires

Si les médias se passionnent pour les projets d’Amazon et de Google sur des services de livraison par drones, le PUCA étudie de son côté des drones autrement plus impressionnants. Cette association regroupe des universités, des représentants de l’armée néerlandaise, la KLM, ainsi que divers industriels dont Fokker, Airbus Defense & Space et, dernier arrivé dans ce groupement l’italien Avio Aero, filiale de General Electric. Ces travaux portent tant sur le Business Model de tels drones de transport, leur exploitation future et, bien évidement, les caractéristiques techniques de ces drones.

HUULC-concept

HUULC, pour Hydrogen-powered Unmanned Ultra Large Cargo est le projet phare du PUCA. Un appareil tel qu’aucun ingénieur aéronautique n’osait imaginer jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

Divers types de drones sont déjà sortis de l’imagination des ingénieurs du PUCA. Parmi ceux-ci, le HUULC est certainement le plus impressionnant. Acronyme de Hydrogen-powered Unmanned Ultra Large Cargo aircraft, ce drone géant doit être propulsé par 8 turbopropulseurs à hydrogène. Un carburant plus écologique mais aussi plus efficace que le kérosène qui permettrait au HUULC de parcourir 6.000 km avec 100 containers « 20 pieds » standard à bord. Pour parvenir à un tel exploit, l’HUULC devra pouvoir prendre l’air à une masse de l’ordre de 2.100 tonnes. Un tour de force alors que la version cargo du Boeing 777F (F pour « Freighter ») peut décoller jusqu’à 347 tonnes, tandis que l’Airbus A380F, qui n’a finalement jamais été construit, devait peser jusqu’à 590 tonnes au décollage.

Selon les membres du PUCA, les drones feront mieux que ces avions cargos traditionnels, qui sont dérivés de gros porteurs conçus pour le transport de passager. D’une part, les opérateurs n’auront plus à gérer (et payer) les équipages mais l’absence de poste de pilotage et donc de pressurisation du fuselage peut permettre d’alléger l’appareil de 10 à 20%. D’autre part, plus besoin de concevoir un appareil où l’accès aux issues de secours doit être rapide. Il devient possible d’opter pour des formules aérodynamiques bien plus intéressantes que les fuselages actuels. Le HUULC par exemple se présente avec un fuselage aile très large, capable bien plus de centenaires que s’il était conçu de manière classique. En outre, les logisticien apprécieront, ces avions ne sont plus conçu pour transporter des containers aviation légers en soute mais les bon vieux container standard 20 pouces comme on trouve dans tous les ports du monde.

ATLAS doit faire 75% de mieux qu’un Boeing 747

Le concept ATLAS, un drone de transport de moyen tonnage.

Le concept ATLAS, un drone de transport de moyen tonnage.

Si le HUULC est conçu pour des vols intercontinentaux, les membres du PUCA étudient aussi des appareils moins imposants, dont l’ATLAS. L’avion, là encore, dispose d’un fuselage large, mais il est propulsé par 2 réacteurs placés en position haute, à l’arrière de l’appareil. L’objectif de ce concept est d’abaisser le coût de transport de 75% par rapport au Boeing 747 actuel. L’absence de pressurisation permet en effet d’envisager des vols au-dessus des 12.500 m qui constituent le plafond maximal des avions de ligne actuels. Optimisé pour voler au-delà, l’appareil fera face à une résistance de l’air plus faible et consommerait ainsi moins de carburant.

L’échec du Pelican, un ULTRA (Ultra Large TRansport Aircraft) de 1.400 tonnes proposé par Boeing au début des années 2000, montre que la demande d’avions de transport ultra lourds est potentiellement très faible, voire inexistante. Elle n’a pas justifié la construction d’une version « F » de l’Airbus A380 et l’avion de transport le plus lourd actuellement, l’Antonov An-225 Mriya, avec ses 640 tonnes au décollage, n’a été construit qu’à un seul et unique exemplaire. La « dronisation » de ces géants des airs les rendra-ils plus attractifs d’un point de vue économique ? Rendez-vous en 2030.

Sources :

« Avio Aero Joins the Platform for Unmanned Cargo Aircraft (PUCA) », Communiqué PUCA, 7 septembre 2015

« The HUULC, Design of a Hydrogen-powered Unmanned Ultra Large Cargo aircraft », Communiqué PUCA, 1 juillet 2015

« ATLAS, an Unmanned Medium Ranged Containerized Cargo Freighter », Communiqué PUCA, 1 juillet 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.