Is hydrogen the future of the drone?

 

Boeing Phantom EyeEven more than in the automotive sector, the autonomy of UAVs is a key elements in their adoption if autonomy limited to a few minutes is not very annoying for a fun use for professionals should move with multiple sets of costly strong batteries to ensure a mission. Unlike automobile, the weight is the number 1 enemy and it quickly reached the limits of the Lithium-Ion battery more efficient. There again, hydrogen appears as an interesting solution and will allow to increase the autonomy of the drones. However, fly canisters of highly flammable hydrogen in drones of all sizes has nothing very reassuring. Engineers are increasing the head to find a way to ship hydrogen in a drone safely.

Hydrogen engines of Boeing’s Phantom Eye gives it 4 days of autonomy

Able to fly 4 full days to nearly 20,000 m altitude, Boeing’s Phantom Eye is a non-standard drone. The secret of this drone is that it is powered with hydrogen, the rotund fuselage hiding 2 huge tanks of liquid hydrogen with a capacity that is greater than 3000 litres. Mode of propulsion of this drone is quite unique because this hydrogen is consumed by 2 piston Ford engines everything there is classic that have been adapted. This technical solution is acceptable by the US military who want the descendant of this Phantom Eye a drone equipped with a laser to shoot down incoming missiles, it is obviously incompatible with civil use.

as well as by car, hydrogen interested developers of drone to power electric motors. A fuel cell that produces electricity from hydrogen allows to significantly extend the autonomy of a car and, a fortiori, a drone. The solution is obviously much more complex as a motor powered by a battery, but engineers are starting to get the first results of miniaturized systems and they are very encouraging.

The Canadian EnergyOr Technologies Inc. has thus developed a type PEM ( polymer electrolyte membrane) fuel cell, which allowed to fly a small drone multidirectional 3 hours, 43 minutes and 48 seconds against 2 h 12 min and 46s to the previous record. Its designer market this drone named H2Quad 400 with an amperage of 450 W continuous power or 1000 W peak for a total capacity of 900 Wh.

The coupling between a fuel cell and a LiPo (lithium polymer) battery had allowed the same company to fly his PEREGRINE H2 flying wings for more than 10 hours in 2011.

Solid state hydrogen storage solutions begin to appear on drones

Le drone Skyblade 360 et sa cartouche à hydrogène en dessous présentés lors du salon aéronautique Singapore Airshow 2016 (Photo: BusinessWire)

The Skyblade 360 drone and its hydrogen cartridge below presented during the Airshow Singapore Airshow 2016 (Photo: BusinessWire)

Another company working on this track of hydrogen, British Cella Energy. On 19 January a drone hydrogen began its tests by the SAMS (Scottish Association for Marine Science). Arcola Energy has developed a propulsion system that relies on solid state hydrogen storage technology developed by Cella Energy. The material, which is stable up to 500 °, generates a large amount of hydrogen coming to feed the fuel of the drone cell. Cella energy has partnered with the Safran’s Herakles division (today part of Airbus-saffron Launchers).

This track of solid hydrogen is also carved by a Singaporean consortium HES Energy Systems, ST Aerospace, DSO National Laboratories, as well as the Ministry of defence of the archipelago. They were unveiled during the last Singapore 2016 a cartridge with a capacity of one litre capable of delivering 1,000 Wh. So rigged, a drone Skyblade 360 of ST Engineering has managed to hold the air for 6 hours and perform a flight of 300 km. According to the designers of this cartridge, the cost per flying hour is only $10.

 

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources:

New Solid Hydrogen – on – Demand Fuel Cell from HES Energy Systems Flies ST Aerospace UAV for Record 6 Hours”, press release BusinessWire, February 16, 2016

“cella Energy Solid Hydrogen Fuelled UAV Completes First Flight”, UST, 11 February 2016

Energyor demonstrates multirotor UAV flight of 3 hours, 43 minutes“, Energyor press release, June 12, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

L’hydrogène est-il l’avenir du drone ?

 

Boeing Phantom EyePlus encore que dans le secteur automobile, l’autonomie des drones est un éléments clé dans leur adoption Si une autonomie limitée à quelques minutes n’est pas très handicapante pour une utilisation ludique, pour les professionnels il faut se déplacer avec plusieurs jeux de batteries forts coûteuses pour assurer une mission. A la différence de automobile, le poids est l’ennemi numéro 1 et on atteint rapidement les limites des batterie Lithium-Ion les plus performantes. Là encore, l’hydrogène apparaît comme une solution intéressante et va permettre de démultiplier l’autonomie des drones. Cependant, faire voler des bonbonnes d’hydrogène hautement inflammable dans des drones de toutes tailles n’a rien de très rassurant. Les ingénieurs se creusent la tête pour trouver le moyen d’embarquer de l’hydrogène dans un drone en toute sécurité.

La propulsion hydrogène du Phantom Eye de Boeing lui donne 4 jours d’autonomie

Capable de voler 4 jours complets à près de 20.000 m d’altitude, le Phantom Eye de Boeing est un drone hors-normes. Le secret de ce drone est qu’il est propulsé à l’hydrogène, son fuselage rondouillard cachant 2 énormes réservoirs d’hydrogène liquide d’une capacité qui serait supérieure à 3000 litres. Le mode de propulsion de ce drone est assez unique puisque cet hydrogène est consommé par 2 moteurs à piston Ford tout ce qu’il y a de classique qui ont été adaptés. Cette solution technique est acceptable par les militaires américains qui veulent du descendant de ce Phantom Eye un drone équipé d’un laser pour abattre les missiles, elle est bien évidemment incompatibles avec une utilisation civile.

Tout comme en automobile, l’hydrogène intéresse les concepteurs de drone afin d’alimenter les moteurs électriques. Une pile à combustible qui produit de l’électricité à partir d’hydrogène permet d’allonger significativement l’autonomie d’une voiture et, a fortiori, d’un drone.La solution est bien évidemment bien plus complexe qu’un moteur alimenté par une batterie, mais les ingénieurs commencent à obtenir les premiers résultats de systèmes miniaturisés et ils sont très encourageants.

Le canadien EnergyOr Technologies Inc. a ainsi mis au point une pile à combustibles de type PEM (polymer electrolyte membrane) qui a permis de faire voler un petit drone multi-rotor pendant 3 heures, 43 minutes et 48 secondes contre 2h 12 mn et 46s pour le précédent record. Ses concepteur commercialisent ce drone baptisé H2Quad 400 avec une puissance électique de 450 W en continu ou 1000 W en pic pour une capacité totale de 900 Wh.

Le couplage entre une pile à combustible et une batterie LiPo (lithium polymer) avait permis à la même entreprise de faire voler son ailes volante FAUCON H2 pendant plus de 10 heures en 2011.

Des solutions de stockage de l’hydrogène à l’état solide commencent à apparaître sur des drones

Le drone Skyblade 360 et sa cartouche à hydrogène en dessous présentés lors du salon aéronautique Singapore Airshow 2016 (Photo: BusinessWire)

Le drone Skyblade 360 et sa cartouche à hydrogène en dessous présentés lors du salon aéronautique Singapore Airshow 2016 (Photo: BusinessWire)

Autre entreprise à travailler sur cette piste de l’hydrogène, le britannique Cella Energy. Le 19 janvier dernier un drone  hydrogène a commencé ses tests par le SAMS (Scottish Association for Marine Science). Arcola Energy a mis au point un système de propulsion qui s’appuie sur la technologie de stockage de l’hydrogène à l’état solide développée par Cella Energy. Le matériau, stable jusqu’à 500°, génère une grande quantité d’hydrogène qui vient alimenter la pile à combustible du drone. Cella Enegy travaille en partenariat avec la division Herakles de Safran (aujourd’hui partie prenante de Airbus-Safran Launchers).

Cette piste de l’hydrogène solide est aussi creusée par un consortium singapourien composé de  HES Energy Systems, ST Aerospace, DSO National Laboratories ainsi que du ministère de la défense de l’archipel. Ceux-ci ont dévoilé lors du dernier salon de Singapour 2016 une cartouche d’une capacité d’un litre capable de délivrer 1.000 Wh. Ainsi gréé, un drone Skyblade 360 de  ST Engineering est parvenu à tenir l’air pendant 6 heures et accomplir un vol de 300 km. Selon les concepteurs de cette cartouche, l’heure de vol revient à 10 $ seulement.

Sources :

« New Solid Hydrogen-on-Demand Fuel Cell from HES Energy Systems Flies ST Aerospace UAV for Record 6 Hours », Communiqué de presse BusinessWire, 16 février 2016

« Cella Energy Solid Hydrogen Fuelled UAV Completes First Flight », UST, 11 février 2016

« Energyor demonstrates multirotor UAV flight of 3 hours, 43 minutes« , Communiqué Energyor, 12 juin 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.