IFA 2017, the triumph of digital assistants

Whether on computers, smartphones or in the form of loudspeakers, home automation hubs, personal robots or connected watches, PDAs were omnipresent at the stands of Europe’s leading consumer electronics exhibition, the IFA. Every manufacturer wants to equip its most diverse products with a powerful voice interface and now everyone has to choose their side: Amazon, Microsoft, Google or IBM.

Digital Assistants: Speaker manufacturers must choose their side

Genie, a direct rival for Amazon Echo.

For manufacturers of electronic products, Alexa, Google Assistant, Cortana or Watson, you have to choose. They all want to get on the artificial intelligence train and take voice commands to their products. Many presented their connected objects in Berlin now interfaced with a digital assistant and in this respect, as Cnet reveals, many manufacturers have opted for Alexa, Amazon’s AI. Thus the Eufy brand, known for its robot vacuum cleaners, defies Amazon with the assistant Eufy Genie, an equivalent of the Amazon Echo and powered by the same IA, Alexa. Above and beyond Amazon’s opening, this competitor can be purchased on Amazon. com.

Sonos, Samsung and Bose have unveiled speakers that are also connected to Amazon’s AI. Panasonic, Sony and TicHome have chosen the Google wizard while Harman Kardon or JBL have chosen not to… choose. After announcing a Cortana-compatible speaker, the first one has since announced that it will also offer speakers powered by Alexa and Google. JBL followed the same path with speaker ranges for Google Assistant and Alexa and Cortana.

Mykie, Bosch’s personal assistant, designed to drive the brand’s connected objects.

In addition to this wave of speakers, we can note the Mykie de Siemens, an assistant with whom we can give orders to the robot vacuum cleaner of the brand. Announced last year, the little assistant is more Nabaztag than Amazon Echo or Google Home. More original still, the Chinese UBTech robot Lynx, which is piloted via Amazon Alexa, Alexa, which is also embedded on the connected Martian mVoice watches.

IBM Watson and especially Apple Siri appear for the moment quite discreet in this frenzy of announcements of connected objects of new wave. If it is possible to give commands to a connected object compatible with Apple Homekit, the user must have an Apple TV that will serve as a bridge to Siri. A technical constraint that seriously constrains the diffusion of Siri for the moment.

Amazon Alexa dominates its subject

According to figures compiled by Voicebot. ai, Amazon is currently the platform that dominates the market.  The developers thus created more than 15,000 skills (behaviour) for Alexa while at the same time the Google Wizard has less than 400 applications and Cortana, despite the huge community of Microsoft developers had created only a few dozen skills for Cortana. The market is just starting, so nothing has yet to happen, but Amazon has a solid lead over its rivals.

Traduction : Deepl

Sources :

“All the new Alexa announcements from IFA 2017”, Cnet, September 1St, 2017

“6 Great Gadgets Powered By Amazon’s Alexa Assistant”, Time, december 15, 2016

“Amazon’s Alexa passes 15,000 skills, up from 10,000 in February”, TechCrunch, July 3, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Intelligence artificiellle, Objets connectés and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

IFA 2017, le triomphe des assistants numériques

Que ce soit sur ordinateurs, smartphones ou sous forme d’enceintes, de hubs domotiques, de robots personnels ou de montres de connectés, les assistants numériques étaient omniprésents sur les stands du grand salon européen de l’électronique grand public, l’IFA. Chaque constructeur veut doter ses produits les plus divers d’une interface vocale performance et désormais chacun doit choisir son camps : Amazon, Microsoft, Google ou IBM.

Assistants numériques : Les fabricants d’enceintes doivent choisir leur camp

Genie, un rival direct pour l’Amazon Echo.

Pour les fabricants de produits électroniques, Alexa, Google Assistant, Cortana ou Watson, il faut choisir. Ceux-ci veulent tous monter dans le train de l’intelligence artificielle et embarquer des commandes vocales à leurs produits. Beaucoup ont présenté à Berlin leur objets connectés désormais interfacé avec un assistant numérique et sur ce plan, comme le révèle Cnet, de nombreux fabricants ont opté pour Alexa, l’IA d’Amazon. Ainsi la marque Eufy, connue pour ses aspirateurs robots défie Amazon avec l’assistant Eufy Genie, un équivalent de l’Amazon Echo et motorisé par la même IA, Alexa. Comble de l’ouverture de la part d’Amazon, ce concurrent peut être acheté sur Amazon.com.

Sonos, Samsung et Bose ont pour leur part dévoilé des enceintes elles aussi connectées à l’IA d’Amazon. De leur côté, Panasonic, Sony et TicHome ont fait le choix de l’assistant Google tandis que Harman Kardon ou JBL ont choisi de… ne pas choisir. Après avoir annoncé une enceinte compatible Cortana, le premier a depuis annoncé qu’il proposerait aussi des enceintes motorisées par Alexa et Google. JBL a suivi la même voie avec des gammes d’enceintes pour Google Assistant et pour Alexa et Cortana.

Mykie, l’assistant personnel de Bosch, conçu pour piloter les objets connectés de la marque.

Outre cette vague d’enceintes, on peut noter le Mykie de Siemens,  un assistant avec lequel on peut donner des ordres à l’aspirateur robot de la marque. Annoncé l’an dernier, le petit assistant tient plus du Nabaztag que d’un Amazon Echo ou Google Home. Plus original encore, le robot Lynx du chinois UBTech qui est piloté via Amazon Alexa, Alexa qui est aussi embarqué sur les montres connectés Martian mVoice.

IBM Watson et surtout Apple Siri semblent pour l’instant bien discrets dans cette frénésie d’annonces d’objets connectés de nouvelle vague. S’il est possible de donner des ordres à un objet connectés compatible avec Apple Homekit, l’utilisateur doit disposer d’une Apple TV qui va servir de pont vers Siri. Une contrainte technique qui bride sérieusement la diffusion de Siri pour le moment.

 Amazon Alexa domine son sujet

Selon les chiffres compilés par Voicebot.ai, Amazon est actuellement la plateforme qui domine largement le marché.  Les développeurs ont ainsi créés plus de 15.000 skills (comportements) pour Alexa alors que dans le même temps l’assistant Google compte moins de 400 applications et Cortana, en dépit de l’énorme communauté de développeurs Microsoft n’avait créée que quelques dizaines de skills pour Cortana. Le marché ne fait que démarrer donc rien n’est encore joué, mais Amazon possède aujourd’hui une solide avance sur ses rivaux.

Sources :

« All the new Alexa announcements from IFA 2017 », Cnet, 1er septembre 2017

« 6 Great Gadgets Powered By Amazon’s Alexa Assistant », Time, 15 décembre 2016

« Amazon’s Alexa passes 15,000 skills, up from 10,000 in February », TechCrunch, 3 juillet 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Intelligence artificielle, Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.