The Atlas V rocket took off with 3D printed plastic parts

ULA-Atlas-V This is not really new, industrial aerospace are being equipped with 3D printers to produce certain documents. The qualities of additive manufacturing allows them to create new design for lighter parts and / or less expensive to produce than conventional processes. So it is not surprising to learn that the US ULA (United Launch Alliance) now uses 3D printing to produce parts of his rockets Delta IV and Atlas V. However, unlike the manufacturers of jet engines , ULA did not choose 3D metal printing.

3D printing type FDM on rockets too!

Printing FDM (Fused Deposition Modeling) is certainly the most widespread technology on entry-level 3D printer. All individuals, makers but also industrial use that feeling where we place one or more plastic filament coils melted wire at the print head to produce the desired 3D shape. The advantage is that there is a wide variety of materials available for these filaments, including carbon with the exception of metal that requires too high melting temperature for this type of 3D printer. Therefore, many industrial aerospace prefer 3D printers type SLS (Selective LaserSintering / laser sintering) or LMD (Laser Metal Deposition) to produce titanium parts and various metal alloys used in aviation.

ULA 3D printed parts of rocket

The ECS (Environmental Control System) of the Atlas rocket V saw its number of rooms to go over 140 to only 16, thanks to 3D printing (Photo: ULA).

Yet United Launch Alliance has chosen a FDM printer to produce parts for its Delta rocket. Industrial and product pipelines some of its rockets with Fortus 900TM printer. It is indeed of parts for launchers and no prototype parts. The latter are produced ULTEM 9085, a thermoplastic that has excellent mechanical strength and characteristics of FST (flame, smoke and toxicity) that make it compatible with aeronautical use.

The solution is less expensive than the metal printing and compared with conventional manufacturing methods, for assembly as the rocket ECS (Environmental Control System), the cost of production was reduced by 57% and the number of parts component assembly was reduced from over 140 to just 16.

An illustration of the contributions of additive manufacturing in both the simplification of design in lowering manufacturing costs for small series parts. The first Atlas V rocket equipped with this simple piece flew 22 March 2016 with the supply ship Cygnus OA-6 board.

sources:
“Atlas V rocket lancé with 3D parts “ DisruptiveMagazine, March 25, 2016
“United Launch Alliance Atlas V Rocket to Launch with Stratasys 3D Printed Parts, Reducing Production Time and Costs “, Stratasys Press, April 20, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in 3D, Impression 3D and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Des pièces en impression 3D plastique sur la fusée Atlas V

ULA-Atlas-VCela n’est plus vraiment une nouveauté, les industriels de l’aéronautique sont en train de s’équiper d’imprimantes 3D afin de produire certaines pièces. Les qualités de la fabrication additive leur permettent de créer de nouveaux design pour des pièces moins lourdes et/ou moins cher à produire qu’avec les procédés classiques. Cela n’a donc rien de surprenant que d’apprendre que l’américain ULA (United Launch Alliance) utilise désormais l’impression 3D pour produire des pièces de ses fusées Delta IV et Atlas V. Néanmoins, à la différence des constructeurs de turboréacteurs, ULA n’a pas choisi l’impression 3D métal.

L’impression 3D de type FDM sur les fusées aussi !

L’impression FDM (Fused Deposition Modeling) est certainement la technologie la plus répandue sur les imprimante 3D d’entrée de gamme. Tous les particuliers, les makers, mais aussi les industriels utilisent cette impression où l’on place une ou plusieurs bobines de filament plastique, fil fondu au niveau de la tête d’impression afin de produire la forme 3D voulue. L’avantage, c’est qu’il existe une grande variété de matériaux disponibles pour ces filaments, y compris le carbone à l’exception toutefois du métal qui nécessite une température de fusion bien trop élevée pour ce type d’imprimante 3D. De ce fait, beaucoup d’industriel de l’aéronautique préfèrent des imprimantes 3D de type SLS (Selective LaserSintering/frittage laser) ou LMD (Laser Metal Deposition) afin de produire des pièces en titane ou divers alliages métalliques utilisés en aéronautiques.

ULA 3D printed parts of rocket

L’ECS (Environmental Control System) de la fusée Atlas V a vu son nombre de pièces passer de plus de 140 à 16 seulement, grâce à l’impression 3D (Photo: ULA).

Pourtant, United Launch Alliance a fait le choix d’une imprimante FDM afin de produire des pièces pour ses fusées Delta. L’industriel produit ainsi certaines canalisations de ses fusées avec une imprimante Fortus 900mc. Il s’agit bien de pièces destinées aux lanceurs et pas de pièces prototypes. Celle-ci sont produites en ULTEM 9085, un thermoplastique qui présente une excellente résistance mécanique ainsi que des caractéristiques FST (flame, smoke and toxicity) qui le rendent compatible avec une utilisation en aéronautique.

La solution est moins coûteuse que l’impression métal et par rapport aux méthodes de fabrication classiques, pour un assemblage comme l’ECS de la fusée (Environmental Control System), le coût de production a été abaissé de 57% et le nombre de pièces composant l’assemblage a été ramené de plus de 140 à seulement 16.

Une illustration des apports de la fabrication additive tant dans la simplification des design que dans l’abaissement des coûts de fabrication de pièces de petites séries. La première fusée Atlas V équipée de cette pièce simplifiée s’est envolé le 22 mars 2016 avec le vaisseau de ravitaillement OA-6 Cygnus à son bord.

Sources :
« Atlas V rocket launched with 3D parts », DisruptiveMagazine, 25 mars 2016
« United Launch Alliance to Launch Atlas V Rocket with Stratasys 3D Printed Parts,  Reducing Production Time and Costs », Communiqué Stratasys, 20 avril 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans 3D, Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.