The CIA invests in Voxel8 and its 3D ‘electronic’ printer

Voxel8-impressionIt is during these 2015 in January that Voxel8 has begun taking pre-orders for its 3D printer. More 3D in a market already busy printer? Not quite since it will be not only able to print objects from plastic PLA, but also electronic circuits functional filament inside even that these objects. Voxel8 has received the support of Autodesk. The startup has now a new financial support, that of the CIA.

Voxel8 «Electronic» printer should be marketed at the end of year 2015

Voxel83D printer that Voxel8 is currently developing will represent a major innovation for what is prototyping of electronic products and the makers will find multiple new uses of such a tool. Following the work of Jennifer A. Lewis, researcher at Harvard, the printer is still at the development stage. It includes a ‘classic’ for printing PLA Printhead and another capable of printing the electronic circuit in what Voxel8 called the «Silver Ink». It is a conductive material which should be complemented with other materials ‘electronic’, i.e. to generate resistances, sensors, batteries. The ambitions of the Harvard researchers are particularly high. Voxel8 Developer’s Kit will be available later this year.

Project Wire

Project Wire, electronic circuit in 3D design software developed by Autodesk for Voxel8.

Voxel8 is not the only one to work on the issue, Voxel8 will face Optomec (Stanford issue), but the startup has some supports weight. Autodesk participates in the project developing Project Wire, modeling software that allows you to create these circuits of a new type. Since it is possible to integrate the circuit into the layers of plastic in a shell, it is more necessary to create circuits in a plan. More PCBs, can create electronic circuits in 3 dimensions. This is precisely what allows Project Wire.

Other financial support that one, that In-Q-Tel (IQT), an investment fund directly attached to the CIA. That which strengthens the future of the startup, but that will possibly lose the makers market and some FabLabs. The Voxel8 printer is advertised as available from the end of the year at a price of $9,000.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

In-Q-Tel Invests in Voxel8″, Voxel8 press release, March 5, 2015

“Electronic Inks Make 3-D Printing More Promising”, MIT Technology Review, March 5, 2015

“In-Q-Tel, CIA’s venture-capital arm, invests in 3D electronics printing platform Voxel8”, 3ders, March 5, 2015

Voxel8 Launches World’s First 3D Electronics Printer at CES; Partners with Autodesk”, Voxel8 press release, January 5, 2015

“Autodesk and Voxel8 to make 3D Printed Electronics a reality”, Autodesk release

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

La CIA investit dans l’imprimante 3D « électronique » de Voxel8

Voxel8-impressionC’est lors du CES 2015 en janvier que Voxel8 a commencé à prendre les pré-commandes pour son imprimante 3D. Une imprimante 3D de plus sur un marché déjà bien occupé ? Pas tout à fait puisque celle-ci sera non seulement capable d’imprimer des objets  à partir de filament de plastique PLA, mais aussi les circuits électroniques fonctionnels à l’intérieur même ce ces objets. Voxel8 a reçu le soutien d’Autodesk. La startup dispose maintenant d’un nouveau soutien financier, celui de la CIA.

L’imprimante « électronique » de Voxel8 doit être commercialisé en fin d’année 2015

Voxel8L’imprimante 3D que Voxel8 est en train de mettre au point représentera une innovation majeure pour ce qui est prototypage des produits électroniques et les makers trouveront de multiples nouveaux usages d’un tel outil. Issue des travaux de Jennifer A. Lewis, chercheur à Harvard, l’imprimante est encore au stade de la mise au point. Celle-ci inclut une tête d’impression « classique » pour l’impression PLA et une autre capable d’imprimer le circuit électronique dans ce que Voxel8 appelle la « Silver Ink ». Il s’agit d’un matériau conducteur qui devrait être complété d’autres matériaux « électroniques », c’est à dire pour générer des résistances, des capteurs, des batteries. Les ambitions des chercheurs d’Harvard sont particulièrement élevées. Le Voxel8 Developer’s Kit sera disponible en fin d’année.

Project Wire

Projet Wire, le logiciel de conception de circuit électroniques en 3D développé par Autodesk pour Voxel8.

Voxel8 n’est pas le seul à travailler sur la question, Voxel8 va notamment faire face à Optomec (issue de Stanford), mais la startup dispose de quelques soutiens de poids. Autodesk participe au projet en développant Project Wire, un logiciel de modélisation qui permet de créer ces circuits d’un nouveau type. Puisqu’il est possible d’intégrer les circuit dans les couches de plastique d’une coque, il n’est plus nécessaire de créer des circuits dans un plan. Plus de PCB, on peut créer des circuits électroniques en 3 dimensions. C’est justement ce que permet Project Wire.

Autre support, financier celui-là, celui de In-Q-Tel (IQT), un fond d’investissement directement rattaché à la CIA. Voilà qui conforte l’avenir de la startup, mais qui fera peut-être bien perdre le marché des makers et quelques FabLabs. L’imprimante Voxel8 est annoncée comme disponible à partir de la fin d’année au prix de 9.000 $.

Sources :

In-Q-Tel Invests in Voxel8″, communiqué de presse Voxel8, 5 mars 2015

« Electronic Inks Make 3-D Printing More Promising », MIT Technology Review, 5 mars 2015

« In-Q-Tel, CIA’s venture-capital arm, invests in 3D electronics printing platform Voxel8 », 3ders, 5 mars 2015

Voxel8 Launches World’s First 3D Electronics Printer at CES; Partners with Autodesk », Communiqué de presse Voxel8, 5 janvier 2015

« Autodesk and Voxel8 to make 3D Printed Electronics a reality », communiqué Autodesk

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.