Intel Unveils Curie, its universal module for the ‘wearables ‘.

Intel CurieBrian Krzanic, Intel CEO made a splash on the these today with Curie. The size of a button, it’s the module that Intel offers designers of objects connected to power their future products. With the tiny Soc Quark, this module embeds 384 KB of Flash memory, Connectivity Bluetooth Low Energy, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, battery management circuitry. Many of the elements essential to an object connected. Intel part in the conquest of a market of 50 billion objects (including 200 million of wearables) by 2020. Its strength is also its weakness: the Quark.

A new Intel attempt to impose its Soc in the connected objects

Intel is unable to impose its SoC Quark on the market of connected objects.

Intel is unable to impose its SoC Quark on the market of connected objects.

With partners such as Luxottica and all its prestigious brands of sunglasses, Fossil Group, Basis Peak, MICA and Opening Ceremony and SMS Audio, Intel made strong these 2015. Intel continues its campaign of seduction with potential manufacturers of connected objects, but will it win the part? Its module is particularly compact and its processor is powerful. Her Quark X 1000, a 32-bit Soc at 400 MHz, already fitted Edison, a module for the Makers, but which, despite its qualities, do not questioned the popularity of Arduino, Raspberry or Spark even when Intel sent him free to influencers. Brian Krzanich announced that the ‘Make it Wearable’ challenge will be relaunched in 2015. The previous edition had given birth to Nixie, a miniature drone that folds and carrying strap.
Intel continues its chip promotion with is new ultra-compact module. To these, 2014, Intel presented its Quark in a module about the size of an SD card, the abandoned since Edison project.

The prototype of the Nixie, this miniature drone that folds shaped bracelet.

The prototype of the Nixie, this miniature drone that folds shaped bracelet.

Remains to be seen what place manufacturers agree to this Intel platform. The only Quark processor is given for a consumption of 2.2 Watts and an (indicative) unit price between $ 9.63 to $ 12.85, depending on the chosen version. Unfavourable characteristics compared fleas usually embedded in the Wearables, including those that do not require a too sophisticated display screen. Intel probably hope that connected objects will need more and more power in the years to come, what would call its Quark in the saddle. An approach that it was rather successful in the PC market.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

Intel CEO Outlines Future of Computing“, Communiqué de presse Intel, January 6, 2015

Intel is swarming wearables as part of its Internet of Things strategy“, VentureBeat, December 9, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Intel dévoile Curie, son module universel pour les « wearables »

Intel CurieBrian Krzanic, PDG d’Intel a fait sensation sur le CES aujourd’hui en présentant Curie. De la taille d’un bouton, il s’agit du module qu’Intel propose aux concepteurs d’objets connectés pour motoriser leurs futurs produits. Doté du minuscule Soc Quark, ce module embarque 384 Ko de mémoire Flash, d’une connectivité Bluetooth Low Energy, d’un accéléromètre, d’un gyroscope, de circuits de gestion de batterie. Beaucoup des éléments essentiels à un objet connectés. Intel part à la conquète d’un marché de 50 milliards d’objets connectés (dont 200 millions de wearables) à l’horizon 2020. Son atout est aussi sa faiblesse : le Quark.

Une nouvelle tentative d’Intel pour imposer son Soc dans les objets connectés

Intel n'arrive pas à imposer son SoC Quark sur le marché des objets connectés.

Intel n’arrive pas à imposer son SoC Quark sur le marché des objets connectés.

Avec des partenaires tels que Luxottica et toutes ses prestigieuses marques de lunettes, Fossil Group,  Basis Peak, MICA and Opening Ceremony et SMS Audio, Intel a fait fort au CES 2015. Intel poursuit sa campagne de séduction auprès des fabricants potentiels d’objets connectés mais gagnera-t-il la partie ? Son module est particulièrement compact et son processeur est puissant. Son Quark X1000, un Soc 32 bits à 400 MHz, équipait déjà Edison, un module destiné aux Makers mais qui, en dépit de ses qualités, n’a pas remis en cause la popularité des Arduino, Raspberry ou Spark même lorsque Intel l’a envoyé gratuitement aux influenceurs. Brian Krzanich a annoncé que le challenge « Make it Wearable » allait être relancé en 2015. La précédente édition avait donné naissance à Nixie, un drone miniature qui se replie et se porte en bracelet.

Intel poursuit donc la promotion de sa puce avec se nouveau module ultra-compact. Au CES 2014, Intel avait présenté son Quark dans un module de la taille d’une carte SD, le projet Edison abandonné depuis.

Le prototype du Nixie, ce drone miniature qui se replie en forme de bracelet.

Le prototype du Nixie, ce drone miniature qui se replie en forme de bracelet.

Reste à voir quelle place les constructeurs accorderont à cette plateforme Intel. Le processeur Quark seul est donné pour une consommation de 2,2 Watts et un prix unitaire (indicatif) compris entre 9,63$ à 12,85 $, selon la version choisie. Des caractéristiques peu favorables par rapport aux puces généralement embarquées dans les Wearables, notamment ceux qui ne nécessitent pas un écran d’affichage trop sophistiqué. Intel espère sans doute que les objets connectés auront besoin de plus en plus de puissance dans les années à venir, ce qui remettrait son Quark en selle. Une approche qui lui avait plutôt réussie sur le marché des PC.

Sources :

« Intel CEO Outlines Future of Computing« , Communiqué de presse Intel, 6 janvier 2015

« Intel is swarming wearables as part of its Internet of Things strategy« , VentureBeat, 9 décembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.