Can algorithms make art ?

SeuratQuantify creativity, genius of an artist with an algorithm, that is the challenge embarked Ahmed Elgammaly and Babak Salehz, two researchers of the art laboratory and the artificial intelligence of Rutgers University in New Jersey.

Via their image analysis algorithm, they have assessed and accurately note the creativity of 1,710 works. The approach may be questionable and shock the art historian, but it has the interest of any mathematical objectivity. Result, the algorithm extols artists like Michelangelo, Vermeer, Goya, Mondrian, Picasso and Lichtenstein as the works of Durer, Ingres, Rodin get the lowest ratings. And if the algorithms can play the art critics, it can also take the brushes!

Google turned its image recognition algorithms … backwards

An image generated by neural networks implemented by Google.

An image generated by neural networks implemented by Google.

The idea of Google’s researchers is simple: use neural networks used by Google for image recognition in reverse, either to read images, but to generate new. The result is rather psychedelic, the images generated by artificial intelligence represent images of combinations combined with colorful video effects. The style was baptized Inceptionism by researchers have even posted a gallery of their most “beautiful” works. Art historians will remember this artistic movement in the history of art …
Stung by the publications of their rivals, researchers from Facebook in turn lifted the veil on their research. Also we had the idea to exploit their Deep Learning algorithms in reverse, to create images.

The LAPGAN model created by researchers from Facebook.

The LAPGAN model created by researchers from Facebook.

The researchers explain that if artificial intelligence algorithms are effective at recognizing shapes, classify the images, they are much less comfortable when it comes to creation. The approach studied by Emily Denton of the University of New York and Soumith Chintala, Arthur Szlam and Rob Fergus artificial intelligence researchers at Facebook is a little different. The models created by these researchers, baptized Laplacian Pyramid of Adversarial Networks (LAPGAN) literally learn to generate an image from images of the same theme. On “shows” a series of pictures of boats and software, after this learning, the algorithm is able to generate a credible ship image. A sufficiently realistic image to fool 40% of human to which it is presented.

Can we call these images of artistic works born in the neuronal networks of artificial intelligence? They owe nothing to chance. Maybe he should leave a different algorithm, that of the University of Rutger, judge their creativity. Where he will place Google and Facebook? Between Lichtenstein, Mondrian and Picasso, or rather in the classics?

As an algorithm considers the creativity of the greatest artists in history ...

As an algorithm considers the creativity of the greatest artists in history …

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“This Is What Happens When Machines Dream”, SingularityHub, June 19, 2015

“Deep Generative Image Models using a Laplacian Pyramid of Adversarial Networks”, Research paper, June 18, 2015

“Inceptionism: Going Deeper into Neural Networks”, Google Research Blog, June 17, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Une intelligence artificielle peut-elle avoir un réel talent artistique ?

SeuratQuantifier la créativité, le génie d’un artiste avec un algorithme, c’est le défi que se sont lancés Ahmed Elgammaly et Babak Salehz, deux chercheurs du laboratoire d’art et l’intelligence artificielle de l’université de Rutgers dans le New Jersey.

Via leur algorithme d’analyse d’image, ceux-ci ont cherché à évaluer et noter précisément la créativité de 1 710 œuvres. L’approche peut être discutable et choquer les historien d’art, mais elle présente l’intérêt d’une objectivité toute mathématique. Résultat, l’algorithme porte aux nues des artistes comme Michel-Ange, Vermeer, Goya, Mondrian, Picasso ou Lichtenstein alors que les œuvres de Durer, Ingres, Rodin obtiennent les notes les plus basses. Et si les algorithmes peuvent jouer les critiques d’art, il peut aussi prendre les pinceaux !

Google fait tourner ses algorithmes de reconnaissance d’image… à l’envers

Une image générée par les réseaux neuronaux mis en oeuvre par Google.

Une image générée par les réseaux neuronaux mis en oeuvre par Google.

L’idée des chercheurs de Google est simple : exploiter les réseaux de neurones utilisés par Google pour la reconnaissance d’image à l’envers, non plus pour lire des images, mais pour en générer de nouvelle. Le résultat est plutôt psychédélique, les images générées par l’intelligence artificielle représentent des combinaisons d’images conjugués avec des effets vidéos colorés. Le style a été baptisé l' »Inceptionism » par les chercheurs qui ont même mis en ligne une galerie de leurs plus « belles » oeuvres. Les historiens d’art retiendront ce mouvement artistique dans l’histoire de l’art…

Google privilégie la créativité, Facebook recherche un certain réalisme

Piqués au vif par la publications de leurs rivaux, les chercheurs de Facebook ont levé à leur tour le voile sur leurs recherches. Eux aussi on eut l’idée d’exploiter leurs algorithmes de Deep Learning à l’envers, pour créer des images.

Le modèle LAPGAN créé par les chercheurs de Facebook.

Le modèle LAPGAN créé par les chercheurs de Facebook.

Les chercheurs expliquent que si ces algorithmes d’intelligence artificielle sont efficaces pour reconnaître des formes, classifier des images, ils se montrent beaucoup moins à l’aise lorsqu’il s’agit de création. L’approche étudiée par Emily Denton de l’université de New-York et Soumith Chintala, Arthur Szlam et Rob Fergus chercheurs en intelligence artificielle chez Facebook est un peu différente. Les modèles créées par ces chercheurs, baptisés Laplacian Pyramid of Adversarial Networks (LAPGAN) apprennent littéralement à générer une image à partir d’images du même thème. On « montre » une série d’images de bateaux au logiciel et, après cet apprentissage, l’algorithme est capable de générer une image de bateau crédible. Une image suffisamment réaliste pour tromper 40% des humaines auxquels elle est présentée.
Peut-on qualifier d’œuvres artistiques ces images nées dans les réseaux neuronaux d’une intelligence artificielle ? Celles-ci ne doivent rien au hasard. Peut-être faudrait-il laisser un autre algorithme, celui de l’université de Rutger, juger de leur créativité. Où placera-t-il Google et Facebook ? Entre Lichtenstein, Mondrian et Picasso ou plutôt chez les classiques ?

Quant un algorithme juge de la créativité des plus grands artistes de l'histoire...

Quant un algorithme juge de la créativité des plus grands artistes de l’histoire…

Sources :

« This Is What Happens When Machines Dream », SingularityHub, 19 juin 2015

« Deep Generative Image Models using a Laplacian Pyramid of Adversarial Networks », papier de recherche, 18 juin 2015

« Inceptionism: Going Deeper into Neural Networks« , Google Research Blog, 17 juin 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.