Satellite broadband Internet: Can OneWeb beat Google and SpaceX?

OneWeb-launchersArianespace has placed an order for 21 Soyuz rockets with additional options for Soyuz 5 more three Ariane 6, the future European launcher. This command record, estimated between 1 and 2 billion dollars, is intended for the launch of OneWeb, a constellation of 648 satellites which provide global Internet access to all those who do not have access to residential broadband but also in vehicles, aircraft. In total, 900 satellites will be built to the chain by Airbus Defence & Space in Toulouse. The first launch is planned for 2017.

OneWeb against Google/SpaceX, the race against the clock is on

It is June 2015 that Airbus Defence & Space has been selected by Greg Wyler, the entrepreneur at the head of this project a little crazy to launch a constellation of more than 650 satellites to provide internet access to the entire planet.

08_ResponsibleuseofSpace

Airbus D&S will have to produce the OneWeb satellites at the unprecedented pace of 4 satellites per day for OneWeb has its constellation in the time.

These satellites, of 150 kg only and electric propulsion, will be built in the chain by the European and placed in orbit by clusters of 32 copies. Arianespace was chosen to perform the first launches, then, this should be Virgin Galactic that will take over. 39 flights of his LauncherOne at the rate of 3 satellite launch will be necessary for OneWeb features of a constellation full.
While OneWeb announced raised 500 million dollars that today ‘ hui, (on the requirements for the $ 1.5 to 2 billion in place of the full constellation), the announcement of a first launch as early as 2017 may seem a very short time. Greg Wyler is a pressed man. Elon Musk and his company SpaceX as well as Google and the Fidelity Fund already have 1 billion dollars on the table to implement a concurrent constellation. The first launch is scheduled for 2016, and the launch of the service is scheduled for 2020.

A OneWeb module to be fitted on a vehicle.

A OneWeb receiver module to be fitted on a vehicle.

Placed in low Earth orbit (1200 km), the satellite designed by Airbus for OneWeb should present a time of latency much lower than geostationary. The offered rate is expected to reach 50 Mbit/s. OneWeb network can be used as access broadband Internet in areas lacking infrastructure telecom via a circular antenna placed on the roofs of the houses, but also in vehicles and aircraft. The system will be operational up to 30,000 feet, the flight altitude of airliners. Each satellite will have a capacity of 8 GB/s and the total theoretical capacity of the constellation will reach 1 Tbit/s.
Will OneWeb and its European allies able to beat Google and Elon Musk at the post? The dice are launched!

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Vingt-et-un Soyouz pour OneWeb”, Air&Cosmos, june 25, 2015

“Airbus Agrees to Make Hundreds of Satellites for OneWeb Internet Service”, NBC News, June 15, 2015

“How SpaceX Plans to Test Its Satellite Internet Service in 2016”, NBC News, June 4, 2015

“Honeywell, OneWeb partner to offer satellite internet to aircraft”, Reuters, March 2, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Internet haut débit par satellite : OneWeb peut-il battre Google et SpaceX ?

OneWeb-launchersArianespace vient  de passer une commande de 21 fusées Soyouz  assortie d’options pour 5 Soyouz supplémentaires plus trois Ariane 6, le futur lanceur européen. Cette commande record, estimée entre 1 à 2 milliards de dollars, est destinée au lancement de OneWeb, une constellation de 648 satellites qui offrira un accès Internet planétaire à tous ceux qui n’ont pas accès au haut débit résidentiel mais aussi dans les véhicules, les avions de ligne. Au total, 900 satellites vont être construits à la chaîne par Airbus Defence & Space à Toulouse. Le premier lancement est prévu pour 2017.

OneWeb contre Google/SpaceX, la course contre la montre est lancée

C’est en juin 2015 qu’Airbus Defence & Space a été choisi par Greg Wyler, l’entrepreneur à la tête de ce projet un peu fou de lancer une constellation de près de 650 satellites pour offrir un accès internet à toute la planète.

08_ResponsibleuseofSpace

Airbus D&S va devoir produire les satellites OneWeb au rythme inédit de 4 satellites par jour pour que OneWeb dispose de sa constellation dans les temps.

Ces satellites, de 150 kg seulement et à propulsion électrique, vont être construits à la chaîne par l’européen et placés en orbite par grappes de 32 exemplaires. Arianespace a été choisi pour effectuer les premiers lancements, ensuite, ce devrait être Virgin Galactic qui prendra le relais. 39 vols de son LauncherOne à raison de 3 satellites par lancement seront nécessaires pour que OneWeb dispose d’une constellation complète.

Alors que OneWeb n’a annoncé avoir levé 500 millions de dollars qu’aujourd’hui, (sur les 1,5 à 2 milliards de dollars nécessaires à la mise en place de la constellation complète), l’annonce d’un premier lancement dès 2017 peut sembler un délai très court. Greg Wyler est un homme pressé. Elon Musk et sa société SpaceX ainsi que Google et le fond Fidelity ont déjà mis 1 milliard de dollar sur la table pour mettre en place une constellation concurrente. Le premier lancement doit avoir lieu en 2016 et le lancement du service est annoncée pour 2020.

Un module de réception OneWeb destiné à être monté sur un véhicule.

Un module de réception OneWeb destiné à être monté sur un véhicule.

Placés en orbite basse (1200 km), les satellite conçus par Airbus pour OneWeb devraient présenter un temps de latence bien inférieur à celui des satellites géostationnaires. Le débit offert devrait atteindre 50 Mbit/s.  Le réseau OneWeb pourra être utilisé comme accès Internet haut-débit dans les zones dépourvues d’infrastructure télécom via une antenne circulaire placée sur le toit des maisons, mais aussi dans les véhicules et les avions. Le système sera opérationnel jusqu’à  30.000 pieds, l’altitude de vol des avions de ligne. Chaque satellite aura une capacité de 8 Gbit/s et la capacité totale théorique de la constellation atteindra 1 Tbit/s.

OneWeb et ses alliés européens arriveront-ils à battre Google et Elon Musk au poteau ? Les dés sont lancés !

Sources :

« Vingt-et-un Soyouz pour OneWeb », Air&Cosmos, 25 juin 2015

« Airbus Agrees to Make Hundreds of Satellites for OneWeb Internet Service », NBC News, 15 juin 2015

« How SpaceX Plans to Test Its Satellite Internet Service in 2016 », NBC News, 4 juin 2015

« Honeywell, OneWeb partner to offer satellite internet to aircraft », Reuters, 2 mars 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.