Internet of Things: Startups will shake up traditional businesses

Industrie50% of connected devices sold by 2017 will be performed by companies that have not more than three years. This is the disturbing trend that emerges from Gartner Symposium that just ended in Orlando.
The dynamism of startups will get ahead of the traditional businesses. The rise of the Open Hardware movement and 3D printers provide tools for startups to create connected objects much faster than the giants of consumer electronics R & D means nothing in common but the process much heavier design.

The Internet of object destabilizing factor for historic players

Steve Wozniak, co-founder of Apple was in Orlando for the 2014 edition of the Gartner symposium.

Steve Wozniak, co-founder of Apple was in Orlando for the 2014 edition of the Gartner symposium.

Startups that are innovating faster than the multinationals that are ultimately redeemed by industry leaders, just very natural. It’s a classic scenario in the world of computers, networks, and which sustains the Silicon Valley for decades. Except that with the explosion in the number and type of connected objects, they are many other areas that will be affected by this new wave of innovation, including areas where the existing players do not have pockets as full that Google, Apple and other Cisco. The existing brands of consumer electronics and electrical items will be seriously shaken by these startups and risk of major brands disappear in favor of new entrants or Web giants who can get their hands in their pockets to offer these innovative products.
These changes could happen much faster than you think. In their top 10 IT trends for 2015, analysts Gartner put the mobile in first place, ahead of the Internet of Things and 3D printing.

Source : “Gartner Says By 2017, 50 Percent of Internet of Things Solutions Will Originate in Startups That Are Less Than Three Years Old”, October 9, 2014

“Gartner: Top 10 Strategic IT Trends For 2015”, Forbes, October 7, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Internet des Objets : Les startups vont bousculer les entreprises traditionnelles

Industrie50% des objets connectés commercialisé d’ici 2017 le seront par des entreprises qui n’auront pas plus de trois ans. C’est le chiffre choc qui ressort du Gartner Symposium qui vient de s’achever à Orlando.

Le dynamisme des startups va prendre de vitesse les entreprises traditionnelles. L’essor du mouvement Open Hardware et des imprimantes 3D donnent les moyens aux startups de créer des objets connectés beaucoup plus rapidement que les géants de l’électronique grand public aux moyens R&D sans commune mesure mais aux process de conception bien plus lourds.

L’Internet des objet, facteur déstabilisant pour les acteurs historiques du marché

Steve Wozniak, le légendaire co-fondateur d'Apple était l'un des intervenants du symposium Gartner d'Orlando.

Steve Wozniak, le légendaire co-fondateur d’Apple était l’un des intervenants du symposium Gartner d’Orlando.

Des startups qui innovent plus vite que les multinationales qui se font racheter au final par les leaders du secteur, rien que de très naturel. C’est un scénario classique dans le monde de l’informatique, des réseaux et qui fait vivre la Silicon Valley depuis des dizaines d’années. Sauf qu’avec l’explosion du nombre  et du type d’objets connectés, ce sont bien d’autres secteurs qui vont être frappés par cette nouvelle vague d’innovation, notamment des secteurs où les acteurs existant n’ont pas les poches aussi pleines que les Google, Apple et autres Cisco. Les marques existantes de l’électronique grand public et de l’electro-ménager vont être sérieusement bousculées par ces startups et on risque de voir de grandes marques disparaître au profit de nouveaux entrants ou des géants du Web qui pourront mettre la main à la poche pour s’offrir ces produits innovants.

Ces bouleversements pourraient arriver bien plus rapidement qu’on ne le pense. Dans leur top 10 des tendances IT pour 2015, les analystes du Gartner placent le mobile en première place, devant l’internet des objets et l’impression 3D.

Source : « Gartner Says By 2017, 50 Percent of Internet of Things Solutions Will Originate in Startups That Are Less Than Three Years Old », 9 octobre 2014

« Gartner: Top 10 Strategic IT Trends For 2015 », Forbes, 7 octobre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.